We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Our room was of a high standard, comfortable enough beds and really enjoyed the fact that we didn't need to step into a bath to have a shower - they were seperate. The room had a decent view and was spacious. The pool was pleasant and we also made use of the tennis courts. The staff were always helpful and always smiling - this is great to see and makes one feel much more welcome. The added bonus of free car parking is great.

The only gripes would be the fact the air conditioning stops when you open the balcony door and the location. .The AC resets to a default temperature everytime you open/close the door meaning you have to go back adjust it - not much fun when the unit falls off the wall everytime you touch it, with only the wires keeping it suspended. And the location, although known at booking maybe inconvenient for some. It is walking distance to broadbeach but isn't surrounded by much.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engineerJ87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear engineerJ87,
Many thanks for posting your review and I am sorry you encountered issues with the air conditioning controls in your room. I would be most grateful if you could email me details of the room which you stayed in so that I can address this accordingly.
Otherwise, I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise when you visit the Gold Coast.
David Brown
General Manager
david.brown@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    494
    162
    41
    27
See reviews for
226
451
74
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

Great hotel and service but just an awkward distance from the convention centre - too far to walk but a short taxi ride. Would recommend otherwise. Breakfast is great and revolving restaurant is a must!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukaszZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear LucaszZ,
Many thanks for sharing your comments and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are 800 metres from the Gold Coast Exhibition and Convention Centre, so it is about a ten minute walk or a very short taxi ride - and when the Gold Coast Rapid Transit system comes on line (in 2014) we will be connected by light rail in less than five minutes!
In the meantime, thank you for choosing to stay with us.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We have stayed at many hotels in this chain and as usual we were no disappointed.

The hotel is not new but is maintained to a high standard and being older the rooms are of a very generous size. It had all the usual amenities you expect with a large hotel, 2 pools, tennis court, bars etc.

We stayed 2 nights and found all the staff to be very good, the buffet breakfast was in line with the top hotels with plenty of choice but we found the seafood buffet in the evening to be rather disappointing. The revolving restaurant and views were stunning and if you only wanted seafood and desserts you would be happy but everything else was very average at best with limited choice. Certainly I wouldn't be rushing back to this buffet.

As other reviewers have commented the hotel is a bit of a walk to Surfers or Broadbeach but there is public transport at the door. I would stay again.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Grant196,
Many thanks for staying with us recently and for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community at large. I was very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and that you are also a regular guest at our network of Crowne Plaza hotels.
Rest assured I will be following up with the Four Winds 360 Restaurant team to share your comments and I am very sorry to hear we missed the mark on this occasion, however we do have a new menu about to be launched at the end of November which I hope will address your feedback.
Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope we have the pleasure of your company once again in the not too distant future.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADELAIDE
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Early in September my husband and I plus another couple stayed at this hotel in the Eldorado section. Whilst we had stayed there a number of times it was new to our friends. It was a special occasion for my girlfriend who was celebrating her 70th birthday. From the moment they walked into their lovely King room with its great space, delightful bathroom and wonderful views they were in awe. We had a suite and were equally happy. The hotel just has something special. We have found that apart from one occasion the staff and management are fantastic, present with a friendly manner and ready to help. The outdoor section of the hotel is also delightful has two really nice swimming pools and has the cutest chapel set in beautiful gardens, to me a wonderful place for a wedding. We found the food a little disappointing. It used to have two excellent restaurants when we first visited in 1996 however there is now only the one restaurant in the hotel plus the revolving restaurant on the top of the hotel. This I believe is a separately run place, whilst the views are great the food in the opinion of our friends and ourselves was not up to standard for the price. The hotel is halfway between Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise which presents some limitations without a car although the bus is directly out the front of the hotel. We found that with four of us it was just as cheap to get taxis. The suites have a micro wave but no toaster which means that you either need to pay for a hotel breakfast or go into Broadbeach or Surfers Paradise , a slight nuisance if you are staying for several days or have children and do not want the expense of paying for breakfast although I am of the belief that in the Gold Tower there are rooms with kitchens something to keep in mind if you do not wish to have to purchase breakfast each day. If you are a member of the Priority Privilege Club this is a great hotel to make use of your vouchers to gain a much better room price and have 50% deducted of the food account when two people eat, only in the restaurant.
A very pleasant hotel to stay.

Room Tip: KING room high up on the Broadbeach end as they are on a corner with great views from balcony also f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear TashAdelaide,
Many thanks for your extensive review of both your recent and past stays with us - and thank you for continuing to stay with us when you visit the Gold Coast.
I very much appreciate your constructive comments and these will be shared with my team in the hotel as this forms part of our ongoing commitment to meet and exceed our customers expectations.
Once again, many thanks.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a nice time at Crown Plaze. The room, beds and bathroom were clean. The Staff was really nice with checkin and checkout. The undercover parking was also nice. Although we didnt use, the pool and tennis court looked great. Thanks Qucikbeds for findinging us a great place to stay....

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Quckbeds traveller,
Many thanks for selecting Crowne Plaza for your recent visit to the Gold Coast. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope we have the opportunity to look after you again sometime soon.
Thank you for sharing your feedback.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

As a regular of buffet breakfast over the last 15 years (priority privilege) it is disappointing to see the standard of service and friendliness of staff slip so much over the past 12 months. The food and range is still excellent, as are the chefs but floor staff would do well to look as if they don't mind being there, a smile never goes astray.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Felicity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear FelicityW,
Many thanks for posting your review, and, more importantly for the 15 years of patronage of the hotel. Your custom is very much appreciated.
I was sorry to hear you have found the service in Relish Restaurant to have slipped over the past twelve months but please rest assured I have followed up with the restaurant team accordingly.
in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you personally at any time.
David Brown
General Manager
david.brown@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Have stayed here a few times and quality is always consistent. This time I stayed in one of the spa rooms which are on the corners of the hotel. The room is large with a huge bathroom and great views out to sea. Breakfast is very good, with a large selection of cold and hot food. Room service meal on the other hand was very average.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear Barry L,
Many thanks for your feedback on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments. However I am most sorry you had issues with room service and I would be very grateful if you could email me with some detail so that I can follow up with my team accordingly.
Once again, many thanks.
David Brown
General Manager
david.brown@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing