We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cool Pool”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Having had many stays for many years, I have been remiss in not writing sooner.
From the moment you receive your warm welcome as you walk through the door, things just keep getting better. The staff could not be more delightful, the attention to detail could not be greater and the property as a whole could not be more inviting.
The food is always of a high standard and the Relish Restaurant has an airy and open feel.
Should you wish for a traditional 'pub' feel, the First Avenue Tavern has poker machines and cold beer at good old fashioned 'pub' prices.
Whilst the property is technically in Surfers Paradise, it is about a healthy one (1) kilometre stroll from the centre of Surfers Paradise and a little less from Broadbeach.
The Northcliffe Surf Life Saving Club right on the beach is a short walk and also has good food and wine.
My final remark is that the pool is cool, as in chilly.

Room Tip: If you able to request a room that ends in '11', you will be very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozzie747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Fozzie 747,
Many thanks for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community at large - but more importantly thank you for your regular patronage of the hotel.
I must also compliment you on the accuracy of your review with regard to the hotels location and facilities - funnily enough many other reviewers don't quite get this right and a three minute walk to the beach suddenly becomes ten or fifteen!!
With regard to the "cool pool" - I appreciate it's not quite so warm in April as it is in the summer months, but our Gold Tower pool is heated to 29 degrees year round, so next time you stay with us try this pool.
Once again, many thanks for continuing to choose us when you visit the Gold Coast.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    694
    237
    53
    45
See reviews for
313
663
98
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Recently started an interstate holiday at the Crown Plaza. After a friendly personal welcome, we went to an excellent 12 room where we were very comfortable. One thing I enjoy about this hotel, apart from its location, is the way the staff remember our names and seek to meet all our needs. We will be returning soon to this favorite Australian hotel knowing that a good vacation is assured.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Check in was slow with only 2 F/D staff,rooms are nice an spacious however was disappointed with the cleanliness of the bathroom looked liked a rushed clean.Breakfast was great even the coffee was good,so yes i may stay there again but what really peeves me about these big chains is the surcharge on using credit cards,minor $$ i know an this is not the forum to discuss this matter

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmac705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Hi bmac705,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on your recent stay, your comments have been noted and I will pass them on for you.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise.
Kind regards,

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Only stayed here for one night on the 18th floor in an executive one bedroom room. Amazing views from the main living / bedroom and the bathroom.
The room was clean, the bed was really comfy as was the all of the linen supplied. We arranged for a portacot for our little boy, there was no extra charge and it was all setup and waiting for us when we got to the room.
It was a quiet and comfortable room, the service was excellent and the outside lifts were just an added bonus to an already great stay. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 18th floor - amazing views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I was expecting more for that price and way too expensive food. Not that I mind going downstairs three nights in a row asking for Equal for my coffee (as there was none left in my room), but it just gets annoying, And not that I cannot put the decorative pillows back onto my bed (or that I need them in general), but for a hotel that charges $30 for buffet breakfast and over $60 for dinner at the restaurant, you would expect more.

The amenities are nice, but seem to be a bit dated and should have some work done on them.At least the staff is really nice and always very helpful.

All in all nothing special and I would try out other hotels for sure, before going back to this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DijanaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear DijanaD,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff always goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to the guests and I am glad that you enjoyed their hospitality. Please accept our apologies for your disappointment with the food served and the condition of our amenities. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peregian Beach
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Nothing spectacular about this hotel, the staff are fine and the coffee isn't bad but what I really like is that all the rooms are nice and big. They all have balconies with a couple of chairs and a side table and if you get a higher room the views are fantastic. The whole property is in need of a refurbishment but the size of the rooms and the nice big beds makes up for it. Also, if you are staying here you probably need a car as its a bit of a walk for food or drinks and parking is free. Overall good value and easy.

Room Tip: Something high so you get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Terri S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am delighted you were satisfied with the rooms, service you received from our staff and the parking. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations with the condition of our property. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Return visitor. Got a room with 2 double beds which accomodated myself, husband a 5 year old daughter nicely. Rooms are spacious, clean, relatively modern, good bathroom with nice triangle/corner bath tub. Room was services daily to an excellent standard. Gym well equipped, with slightly dated equipment but still good to use. Smooth check in process with friendly staff. Concierge happy to help in any way he could. Will return!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shang80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Hello Shang80,

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel, we're happy to have welcomed you back.
I will pass on your kind comments to Front Office and Concierge. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise to stay at again on your recent visit to the Gold Coast, and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,647 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing