We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant very average”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Had dinner tonight with 15 others. Whilst there was plenty of food and no one went hungry the quality was not very good. If you're after a lovely meal don't bother. Go elsewhere. I would suggest the Bavarian beer cafe in Broadbeach or better still the Black Lyric coffee in Surfers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hi Cath P,

Sorry to hear that your recent visit to our restaurant wasn't of satisfaction to you. We do have three different outlets on site so I am not sure which one you visited? We have Four Winds 360, Queenslands only Revolving Restaurant, which has an international and seafood buffet, Relish Restaurant and First Avenue Tavern, that serves pub-style food and is our sports bar.
Your feedback is noted, thank you for taking the time to review on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    493
    161
    41
    27
See reviews for
225
450
73
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have just come back from a virgin mystery flight package which was to surfers paradise. Would I do it again. "No" You find out way too late to enjoy where you are going too. The hotel Crown Plaza was nice, clean and staff really friendly. The thing that I am annoyed about is, we were told breakfast with our voucher was $22 each so we had buffet breakfast on the Friday and it was okay. Did not want to pay $22 each for the other two days. We ate out one morning and then this morning did not eat as we thought we would do that at the airport only to find out that our breakfast was included in the package. They did not tell us that and wondered why they told us $22 each.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorryAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Hello lorryAustralia,

I am sorry to hear about the confusion in regards to your breakfast, if you would like to email directly with the details and dates of your stay I can look into this matter for you?
Happy to hear you were satisfied with the hotel and our staff otherwise

We thank you for taking the time to review us and for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Victoria
victoria.thornton@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I decided to take my daughters and granddaughter away for a night away at the Crowne Plaza again. This time we were placed in the actual Crowne Plaza rather than the Gold tower.

I have to honestly say, I preferred the room in the gold tower over the room we got in the Crowne Plaza tower. Now there was nothing really wrong with the room, however for a double ocean view room I would have expected a little more and a little larger rather than the other way around.

The beds were smallish but nicely appointed with pillows and cushions. The Mattress was comfortable and the sheets were lovely and fresh. Plenty of towels and the normal essential items. TV was a good height and have all the good channels and coffee and tea enough for 3 adults.

Staff, as always, excel at their job. Nice and friendly and very helpful.

We had a nice night away, no room service this time but lovely restaurants, cafe's and more are walking distance away.

Room Tip: If you are looking for more space, less cramp, ask for the the gold tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Hi Natalie A,

Thank you for reviewing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise again after your recent stay.

We appreciate you trying what our Main Tower has to offer and are happy to hear everything was to your satisfaction but you prefer the space of our Gold Tower rooms.

Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff, it is lovely to hear.

Kind regards,

VIctoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Car park is easy and under hotel, and no charge, which is a plus.
The standard room is two x double beds, both average comfort, both with very uncomfortable pillows.
Window opens, which is good.
Shower okay, bath tub okay.
Overall decor, boring 80's style.
View of water, mostly blocked by other apartment buildings,
Traffic noise is fairly continuous and even on the 17th floor there was no escaping it.
Breakfast: rubbish.
Food not cooked with love. Oily, bland, typical buffet fare - yuk - and $30 for my guest to experience such a poor effort. Avoid at all costs!
Only stay here if you have to, otherwise you'll do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. Or get a Junior suite in the other tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaRealEstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Hello AustraliaHouses,

I am sorry to hear that your stay wasn't to your satisfaction and that you found you had uncomfortable pillows. We do have a pillow menu, should you find a pillow in your room is not to your liking, with three different options for you to choose from.
I understand that the traffic and the noise has increased due to the construction of the Light Rail on the Gold Coast Highway, however once completed it will be an absolute benefit to the City, and the hotel with a top being just metres from our door for guests to take advantage of to access other parts of the Gold Coast.

Thank you for your feedback on the buffet breakfast, it is surprising as we consistently receive a high volume of comments and compliments specifically on our buffet breakfast, however all feedback is taken very seriously and yours will be looked into.

I'm glad to hear that our complimentary parking pleased you and you took advantage of that during your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to review us after your recent stay with us here at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I had a very good experience last weekend at the Crowne plaza Surfers paradise, the hotel has great amenities and very friendly staff. Location wise it is a little out of the way ( about 2kms from the centre of surfers paradise ) however it is a nice stroll or less than 5 mins in a cab. There is also a hotel car that can take you anywhere you need with a very nice driver.
The rooms are a great size and the Spa bath in the deluxe spa rooms is definately worth a soak in. I would definately stay here again for both business and leisure stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi Christina S,

Happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities during your recent stay on the Gold Coast and you took advantage of the walk and driver.
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us with a review of the hotel and for your positive feedback.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just completed three nights here on our lions trip for hubby's 40th. Well appointed hotel lovely pool and jacuzzi - gym not great but beach made up for that ! Lovely spacious room and breakfast and great location for a wander into surfers . Would definitely come back !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmcjaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hello lmcjaxx,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review after your recent stay with us. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming back on your next visit.


Kind regards,

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The hotel is nearer Broadbeach even though its name is tagged ''surfers paradise''. It's quite a walk to Broadbeach or to any places for shops and eating places, so be prepared - there's no buzz around it at all.

Having said that, it's a pleasant and comfortable hotel. The staff are helpful and friendly. The concierge will happily help you get a cab to nearby places, or even offer their hotel limo (price is very comparable to cab fares).

I stayed during the Gold Coast Marathon period and it was a nice touch for them to offer a special pasta menu (their pesto penne was delicious!), have a welcome banner for atheletes and guests and even have some frontline staff don the marathon/ event T.

The night before the marathon I'd misplaced the safety pins for my race bib and rang the housekeeping. The person who answered my call was really helpful when she found out I needed as many as 4 of them, and without even asking if it was for the race, said, ''I'll see what I can do''. Quite promptly, someone sent me 4 boxes of their ''sewing kit'', with one more already opened to show me that ''there is a tiny pin in each of these, hope these work''. I was really relieved and touched.

What I find too calculating of the hotel was their daily limit of 30-minute free wifi at the lobby. Most hotels I stay in Asia would not limit it to 30-minutes, if it was at the lobby. I don't think it's a big cost to them if they remove the limit.

The hotel made an effort to serve breakfast at 5 am on the day of the marathon. However the half marathon started at 6 am. What I would suggest is for the hotel to offer some kind of ''marathon breakfast kit/ pack'' of say, muesli, yogurt, energy bars, juice, etc and have it delivered at a designated time to guests. I am sure runners would greatly appreciate that!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuoCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Hello LuoCJ,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise during the Gold Coast Airport marathon race weekend. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our pasta special that we put in place especially for the marathon weekend, I will pass your compliments onto the kitchen. Additionally, your suggestion of a marathon kit/breakfast is a very valid one and we will look into that for coming years for marathon entrants.

Currently we offer free WIFI for Platinum and Elite members and as of January 2014, we will have free WIFI for all members of IHG Rewards (formerly Priority Club Rewards) to utilise.

I am pleased the Housekeeping were able to assist you so quickly and efficiently with your safety pins and you were happy with our service at the hotel overall.

I hope you reached your goal time at the marathon and that you choose to stay at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise on your next stay to the Gold Coast. Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback and suggestions, it is really appreciated.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,404 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
271 reviews
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,369 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,130 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing