We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality, what you expect. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality, what you expect. ”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Good quality hotel, what you would expect from a Crowne Plaza.

However the location is not Surfers Paradise as advertised and about at 25 minute walk from there. It is much closer to Broadbeach which is actually much nicer than Surfers Paradise.

We made the mistake of visiting during "schoolies", the Australian version of Spring Break for 17 and 18 year olds. All of Surfers Paradise had effectively shut down to accommodate for this event and the local area was over run with drunk teenagers - a number of which we're staying at our hotel. Definitely avoid Surfers Paradise during this time!

Self serve laundry facilities available which are cheap and easy to use.

Wifi is ridiculously expensive charged at around $9 for two hours. You can have access to half an hour free in the lobby, however beware you can't use this at separate intervals throughout the day, for the price of this hotel I'd expect wifi at a cheaper rate or free of charge.

On arrival we had to request for the bed sheets on one of the beds in our room to be changed as the bed had crumbs in it and didn't appear to be clean. Our safe wasn't working and we had to call 5 times for someone to fix this.

While overall the hotel amenities were great, we had stayed in cheaper more hostel like accommodation where the service of the staff was much better and more friendly. This hotel is fine if you want a reliable standard of hotel but aren't bothered about friendly staff.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nosha1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hello Nosha1986,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza on your recent stay on the Gold Coast and for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you found the staff not to be as friendly as you had hoped. It is actually something that we pride ourselves on so I am sorry to hear that.
Schoolies is something that does happen every year on the Gold Coast and we're not actually a hotel that participates as a schoolies hotel, however we do get the occasional bookings of school leavers wanting to stay at the hotel. We do our best to monitor them as there are strict guidelines on noise after 10pm that is to be adhered to by all guests.

I hope that you will visit us again, to experience the Gold Coast when Schoolies is not on.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    505
    164
    42
    29
See reviews for
231
457
75
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Our 30+ group of golfers chose to stay at this hotel for our annual golf trip. All of the staff from the front desk to the dining area and the restaurant were very quick to establish a rapport with our group which made us feel very welcome. The rooms were great. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I've experienced and the food in the restaurant upstairs was divine. All of our players enjoyed the hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marto65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello Marto65,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback from your recent group booking. So glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and were fans of the rooms, outlets and in particular the breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed last new years for 4 days. Room was in need of makeover/repair, wallpaper missing and mold , curtains had spots of mold on, Glass door to patio dirty. From the replies to reviews of this place it seems as I was meant to complain an something would've been done. Good business sense would be to give customers what they pay for. Heading back to coast this new years though not to Crown Plaza. Finally point, if they hadn't put us in that cruddy room they would've got a return customer as overall the place was okay.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank billbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Billbury,
I was very sorry to hear of your disappointment when you stayed with us in December last year. I do apologize for the poor standard of housekeeping which you experienced and it is a great pity you did not bring this to our attention during your stay.
I do agree our customers should get what they have paid for and I am most sorry we let you down on this occasion.
Once again, thank you for bringing this matter to my attention and i wish you a most enjoyable stay on the Gold Coast this year
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night in a king spa with ocean views in the gold tower. We were very happy with the entire experience from check in through to check out. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and, as others have said, it was huge. The view from the balcony was beautiful - we loved sitting out there and listening to the crashing waves. We left the big sliding doors open while we slept - such a lovely view to wake up to. We will be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimandNatalie1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hello TimandNatalie1113,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback, so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the large comfortable beds we have in the hotel!
It sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us, which I am so glad to hear, we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

nice place to stay, service was good too. the rooms were clean and modern and was a good central base as it was within walking distance of most things. i forgot my toothbrush, and they were happy to supply one for free. would stay again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovekaikouranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Hello NinsBin,

Thank you for leaving us with your review after your stay at the hotel. So glad to hear that we were able to assist and fulfill your requests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was up for the travel conferance and stayed here. Loved the pool and teh spa, it was a great way to relax.
The staff are very frendly and welcoming. Close walk to the beach. $10 cab ride to all the resturants in Broadbeach, and around the same for Surfers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hello David N,

Thanks so much for your feedback and positive comments on our staff and pool and spa area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We recently stayed here in order to attend the Gold Coast International Rugby 7’s tournament.
On arrival we were pleased to see that all of the competing teams were there too.
After check-in we were even more pleased to find our room was on the Aussie floor.
The room had great views to the north, east & south.
We were perplexed to discover that by opening the balcony door (even momentarily) caused the air-con to shut down & could not be restarted for about half an hour!
We used Relish lounge for bar snacks & the restaurant for one dinner – all of which were fine.
We used the 4 Winds restaurant for 1 dinner & 1 breakfast -wonderful views.
The hotel was obviously very busy due to the 7’s teams & entourages. However there was no degradation of service to us lesser mortals!

Room Tip: We were on 22nd floor facing the beach - nice & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Hello MarieG60,

Thanks for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise on your recent trip to the Gold Coast whilst the Rugby 7's tournament was on. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during a very busy time.
Our air-conditioning does turn off in the rooms in the Main Tower once the balcony door is opened as part of our environmental sustainable practice. However, half an hour doesn't seem correct for the air-conditioning unit to start up again, so if you're able to send us the details and room number of your stay I will most certainly have someone look into that in that particular room and timing.

Glad to hear you were with the Aussie team during your stay!

Kind regards,

Victoria
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive
victoria.thornton@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
384 reviews
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,634 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,552 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing