We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
US$120
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$335
US$153
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
US$87
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra on View Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Sun City(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$298
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Legends Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wyndham Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,752)
Filter reviews
1,752 results
Traveller rating
639
750
253
62
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
639
750
253
62
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold towerrevolving restaurantfour windsrelish restaurantmain towerspa bathflorida gardensroom servicecorner roomtram stopbuffet breakfastking roomlarge bathroomtop flooran upgradeocean viewbit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,070 - 1,075 of 1,752 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel is really beautiful and luxury, with clean, comfortable and spacious rooms. It's in a good location and the staff is friendly. It has a nice swimming pool and two good restaurants. The Four Winds 360 revolving restaurant has a wonderful view of Gold Coast and a nice buffet. I recommend the hotel, for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hello PatriciaBrisbane,

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to see that you had such a nice time with us. The revolving restaurant certainly is a must-do whilst on the coast as we do boast some spectacular views.

Thank you for taking the time to review and recommend us.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here early Jan for 3 days on the way to Cairns and after visiting family in Adelaide. The hotel is lovely and not too far from the fabulous beach - its on the edge of Broadbeach but the address is Surfers Paradise. Its a good walk into the restaurant area of Broadbeach which was much nicer than Surfers Paradise restaurant area. Every member of staff we dealt with at the hotel were really friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms and restaurant/public areas are clean but they need to pay more attention to the gym area which we didn't find too pleasant. The pool is lovely and the pool towels are freely available as is the sun cream which we felt were a very nice touch. We went on a boat trip from Mirage Marina (shops here are fab!!) it went to an island and was a good trip with a nice buffet lunch on the island. We moved on to the Holiday Inn at Cairns and 2 days into our Cairns stay I realised that I had mislaid a diamond ring which had sentimental value. I phoned this hotel and they had found it and put it in lost property and promptly sent it to me by registered post to my hotel in Cairns (I received it before we left for England) Thank you so much to all the staff at Crowne Plaza from housekeeper to head Concierge - you were fantastic!!!

Room Tip: high floor facing the sea - fab views
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verywelltravelled58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hello verywelltravelled58,

I am so glad to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to locate and send your ring on to you after it being misplaced. Thank you for your kind words of our staff, our service is certainly something that we pride ourselves on.
Thank you for your feedback in regards to the gym, I will most certainly pass that on to the relevant department to follow up on.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza and for taking the time to leave us with your feedback and review, we appreciate you doing so.

Warm regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Check-in was easy and efficient with good customer service from the check-in staff, although they forgot to tell me to go to the Gold Tower which does not have its own reception. Small point.

Room was spacious. Large bed. Tea and coffee making facilities, and mini bar. Had a great outlook to the beach.

My only gripe is the dirty windows. I understand that ocean facing windows, this close to the beach, will have spray. However, it was the obvious finger and hand marks, particularly on the inside which detracted from a worthwhile stay. Again, maybe a small point, but champions are often distinguished by just a millimetre or millisecond.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ericguy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hello Ericguy19,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to the windows and for your understand that being so close to the ocean can affect the windows with the ocean salt. However, you should not see marks on the windows as you have mentioned. Please rest assured that I have spoken with the relevant department and your feedback is appreciated.

I am glad to see, however, that the rest of your stay with us was a successful one and that you enjoyed the views that we have on offer.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise and for leaving us with your review.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here the 16th of Feb - 19th. My husband and I stayed with Crowne 2 years ago and wasn't particularly impressed. So when I booked this hotel through secret hotels on last minute.com I was very upset. I contacted last minute who contacted the hotel to see if I could get a refund and it was a flat out no. So I contacted the hotel via their website email. They never even responded. Upon booking they asked if I had any special requests or a specific check-in time and I said yes I'd like to check in at 12. When the conformation email from Crowne came back it said 2. So on the day of check-in I rang the hotel before arriving and they couldn't find our booking. So after hanging up and finding the conformation number and calling back eventually they found the booking. Going back to the original point of asking if we could check in early the person on the phone didn't know, said it was subject to availability. When we arrived to what seemed to be a very quiet hotel I was annoyed that we could probably have checked in early if the person on the phone knew what they were doing. We checked in and went to the room and it was filthy. First thing that you see is the great big dirty windows. You are paying for a view over looking the ocean yet you can't see it through dusty, dirty, sea salt and previous guests hand prints. The widows literally hadn't been cleaned in months. Much the same with the clear balcony railing in the same state. In the room there was sand over the black couch and there were crumbs and sultanas on the floor in the middle of the room and clumps of hair as if pulled from a hair brush. The bedside cabinets and tv cabinet had greasy smears on them like they hadn't been wiped. So I rang straight down to reception and the reception just sent up a key for another room. The second room seemed better at first. The windows were the same as the last. But little things through out the 3 night stay came up to show how run down the hotel is. The furniture is so old the tv cabinet is rotting away. The bedside cabinets are scratched up and battered. The blanket on the bed is not put into a quilt cover and simply placed between two sheets. After sleeping you are tangled up and the quilt doesn't stay in the sheets and ends up on you as it obviously has done to previous guest when the next morning I found a small circle of old brown blood on the quilt. Also the spare pillow out of the cupboard had a yellow stain on it like it had been used and just put back in the cupboard. The tv was so old it had 2 fuzzy lines that moved back and forth across the screen. Also they have very few tv channels 3 sports channels no movie channels and then very limited pay per view movies at $17.95 each. Other 5 star hotels I've stayed at don't charge for such a service and definitely not such an outrageous price. Also just the fact they have porn on offer on their 10 year old tv's just show how out dated and tacky this hotel is. The hotel in general needs a renovation. Even passing through the hotel it was quite eerie with no ambiance that makes you want to stick around. My husband and I were just so disappointed as we visit the Gold Coast regularly and stay in beautiful hotels and this place just does not meet expectations. We had visions of lazing around in beautiful 5 star quality accommodation to recoup for a few days. Instead we spent our days out and about the whole time to avoid the hotel, which wasn't the plan. And on the day of check out we left at 7:30am because returning home early was more enticing then spending more time here. This hotel would be fine for a place to sleep a night passing through but if you're looking for a holiday in a hotel this isn't the place to come. I made 2 compalints while staying in the hotel, first when i checked in and as i checked out and both were ignored and met with barely a sorry and a confused and annoyed expression. Not good enough. My only positive experience with Crowne Plaza was the first avenue restaurant and bar. The food and atmosphere was great. Over all a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samanthab24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Samantha24,

Thank you for your review and taking the time to complete a comprehensive review from your recent stay.

Firstly, please accept my personal apology for your sub-standard stay. I am new to the hotel and I would love the opportunity to connect with you and discuss the experience in more detail. Please do not hesitate to contact me via email ian.pirodon@ihg.com or telephone 07 5592 9900. I am delighted to advise that we have appointed a new Executive Housekeeper who has prioritized a number of the items you have listed to ensure no other guests experience similar outcomes with their stay.

Best Regards,

Ian Pirodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Gold Coast has two main hubs namely surfers paradise and broadbeach. The crown plaza is located in the center of these two hubs and is a 15 - 20 minute walk from either. No restraunts, cafes and convenience stores in the vicinity, the nearest were either at surfers paradise or broadbeach. The hotel rooms are old fashioned and hotel needs rennovation. However not bad for the price we paid for it. Dining options are a lot and the staff was friendly. Rooms have a balcony which face the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aditya772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hello Aditya772013,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review after your recent stay with us. We are located in between both Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach, which we find is the perfect fit for many guest whom are after some fantastic unobstructed views, as well as being slightly out of the hustle and bustle of the centres of these areas. I am sorry to see that you didn't find anything in the vicinity in regards to restaurants or cafes. Not only do we have three dining venues onsite, but just across the road there is a sushi restaurant, an Asian noodle restaurant, as well as a takeaway store and a Vietnamese restaurant. Another block down we have a Thai restaurant, and behind the hotel 2 blocks south you will find an Italian restaurant, a fish n chip and takeaway store, as well as a convenience store and just north of the hotel there is an Irish pub. We are also situated across the road from a Coles Express store.

If you join us again for accommodation, please do not hesitate to speak to our Concierge team who will gladly point you in the direction of some restaurants and cafes in the local area.

Thank you for your kinds words of our staff, I shall certainly pas that along.

Warm regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews