We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5Star in the 80s perhaps” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5Star in the 80s perhaps”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I booked a wotif.com mystery deal labeled 5 star hotel in surfers. This property is very dated. The wallpaper in my room is pealing. There were abandoned drinks in the hallway when I checked in, the same drinks I passed this morning. Rust on door locks and fittings compliment the stale air in the corridores. To claim this is five star because it has a mini bar is an abuse to the star rating system.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MasonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear MasonF

Thank you for sharing your personal views on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Gold Tower. As discussed on your checkout, we are reviewing the room issues you encountered during your recent stay. We abide by strict standards to meet the 5 star criteria attained for the Gold Tower and I am disappointed that on this occasion, whilst booking the very accessible secret hotel rate deal, that your experience was not to your perceived standards.

Best regards,

Ian Pirodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    486
    157
    41
    26
See reviews for
221
444
71
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Recent conference at the Gold Coast. Hotel slightly dated re decor , but clean with large rooms. I had a spa room in the 'gold tower' with a great view of the ocean. Room had huge king bed, kitchenette and laundry facilities.

Breakfast in 'relish' had heaps of choice. The function / conference areas were great and the food and beverage excellent. Great service all round with easy check in and check out. Would highly recommend for business travellers to the GC.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello Dean D,

So glad to read that you had a successful stay with us on your recent business trip and that you had such a fantastic food and beverage experience with us.

Thank you very much for your recommendation, in particular for business travelers.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I really liked the room was really big with modern furniture, ocean view balcony and amazing bathroom. There is a large cafe and bar on the ground floor by the swimming pool, they are over praced. The location is not close to the towns of Surfers or Broadbeach so it is very inconvenient. The reception staff are very helpful to organise taxi, airport shuttles, booking restaurant but not friendly at all.
Overall I was happy to stay with them but not the perfect hotel to meet great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kody11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hello kody11,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review. Your feedback is appreciated.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here some years ago and we were very impressed with the staff and premises in general. Spacious rooms, king bed, clean and modern. 4 suites and 8 double rooms on the 22nd floor. Great views of the hinterland and the coast from Southport to the Tweed. Breakfast buffet was terrific with fresh produce and an assortment to select from. Revolving restaurant on the top floor has a buffet with enough variety to satisfy the more fastidious. From the concierge to the reception staff and the restaurant, all the staff were pleasant and helpful. Out of the main hustle and bustle of Surfers, it is more sedate here but a relatively short and pleasant walk to Broadbeach or Surfers. 10 minute walk to the beach, I can't recommend this Hotel enough. Thank you to Lou and Laura for making are stay more memorable.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get a King suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTP-BCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hello LTP-BCC,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave us and other travelers with your review, as well as your complimentary words of our staff.

So very glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us so much.

Thank you fro recommending the hotel.

Warm regards,

Victoria
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed in a king corner room. Great big room and massive bathroom. These rooms would of been the bees knees in their day.

Fantastic views.

Unfortunately on entering room found the fridge cupboard door hanging off by one hinge. Fridge was open with a towel inside mopping up water?

Fridge was warn and unusable.

Pretty average guys.

Room marked and in an overall knocked around condition.

However the bed was really comfortable and other than old noisy AC we had a good sleep.

I believe that this hotel is soon to be revamped with a new 238 room wing??

Anyway with this on the horizon and the new tram stop opposite don't count them out just yet.

The tavern downstairs were excellent, they unfortunately dropped our lunch out Bach and so while we waited for them to re cook they gave us two free rounds of drinks! Thanks guys.

Overall we'll locate and pretty good considering.

Room Tip: Get a corner king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gas000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Gas000

Thank you for posting a review and disappointed to read that you had a sub standard experience when checking into your room - I have debriefed the housekeeping team to review their minibar defrosting procedure and have also shared your comment about the minibar door with our maintenance team. As mentioned by yourself and many other reviewers, we are blessed with a fantastic service team. I can confirm we are reviewing potential product improvements over the course of the next 18 months.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next weekend getaway.

Ian Pirodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kippa-Ring, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

When we stay on the Gold Coast we always choose the Crowne Plaza. The last occasion was our 30th wedding anniversary. We were in a corner ocean view king size spa suite. MAGNIFICENT. We received complimentary champagne and a little treasure chest of chokkies. Also a hand written card from management congratulating us.
The staff are amazing, polite, helpful and always smiling. The food is amazing - we dined in the revolving restaurant for the seafood buffet, and breakfast downstairs. All were really good. No complaints here. It's clean, the view is amazing - we were lucky to have ocean & hinterland views. There is under cover secure parking. Nothing more to want!

Room Tip: We were spoilt in the corner KS suite ocean view (& hinterland) in the Gold Tower. We usually st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stubbsdata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hello Stubbsdata,

Firstly, a BIG congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary! Very honoured that you decided to spend your time with us to celebrate. So very glad that you had such a lovely time with us.

Thank you for your kind words of our staff and hotel, we very much appreciate it.

Warm regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Friendly and professional service, lovely public areas and facilities. Great room. Didn't dine in house so unable to comment. Great to have an on site bottle store and tavern offering prices about 30% of mini bar and room service. Bed was wonderfully comfortable, and great views. Real shame the pool closes at sunset ... that's before 6pm at this time of year so no option for an after work swim. Location close to beach so handy for swimming, although several blocks walk to either Broadbeach or Surfers for other dining or shopping/attractions - no problem walking there in good weather though!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelcums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hello Nelcums,

Lovely to see that you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed so many aspects. Just in regards to the pool closing early, it is actually open until 9pm, so I am sorry if you were unable to enjoy the pool because of the confusion, we do hope that you will visit us again and take full advantage of the both pools that we have onsite.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing