We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet & very comfortable, but room internet is very expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Oztraylya
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Very quiet & very comfortable, but room internet is very expensive.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Check in was fast and efficient; the staff friendly. The Crowne has a je ne sais quoi, and is a favourite of mine.
We were part of a large group and they upgraded us to a King room with ocean view on the tenth. It was large and very comfortable. The Crowne is of a considerable age, formerly being the Parkroyal, but she seems to be weathering the years well, if our room was typical of the others. The organising of things for our convention was very satisfactory and the Crowne is well designed to this end. Sleep quality was great; parking is free; breakfast is only your average buffet type, and the hotel is bettered by others for location.
Sadly, I can’t let the issue of internet charges at the Crowne Plaza go unmentioned. It would seem that the management here is happy to be named as another member of the ‘Internet Hit Squad’. To be fair WiFi is free in the lobby but they gouge for the provision of cable in the rooms. Some top end hotels seem to be getting the message these days, but not here and not good enough I’m afraid.
Come on Crowne, you owe it to your customers to get fair dinkum with your internet charges.

Room Tip: A higher floor room on the ocean side has great views of Surfers Paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuckerFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello TuckerFiend,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. Glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to upgrade you on your stay.

Thank yu for your feedback in regards to the internet, I shall pass this along to the relevant department.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    701
    239
    53
    46
See reviews for
316
669
98
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked this hotel from a mystery deal online. We were pleasantly surprised with the room. It was very spacious, comfortable and clean. The bathroom is huge with a corner spa and separate shower. Great balcony with ocean views. We had a lovely romantic weekend away and would definitely recommend Crowne Plaza Gold Towers!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussiePos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Hello AussiePos,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review.

So glad that you enjoyed your time with us in the Gold tower.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza at Surfers Paradise with our whole team. From the check in process to the check out process, from breakfast until after dinner drinks, the whole stay was more than expected. The food was great, the service was great and the venue was in great condition.

Room Tip: Sign up to the membership for free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello Adam L,

Thank you for your review after your recent work conference here at the hotel. So glad that were were able to provide such a seamless stay for you whilst travelling for work.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review.

Kind regards,

Victoria
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

this is a great mid range hotel. staff were very professional and helpful and foyer is really nicely presented. the pool area looked great (I didnt get a chance to use it) there is also a gym etc. the room itself was really good. in fact the shower was AWESOME. huge and hot with such good pressure. we had two double beds and a great view. only tiny balcony but that didnt matter. we went and had a drink in the little bar which is attached to the hotel, it's just average, but still good to have that option there. we ended up driving to go out to dinner as there wasnt much in walking distance. but it wasnt far to get anywhere either. i would definantly stay here again.

Room Tip: get one facing the water not the highway :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazpotato78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello Kazpotato78,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us, as well as other travellers, with your review of our hotel.

Best wishes,

Victoria
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Wow it's true what they say people make the place the staff here at the crown are some of the most friendly helpful polite eager and well mannered staff i have ever come across fantastic customer service well done crown you have hired an extraordinary calibre of customer focused team members.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank saascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi saascha K,

Thank you for your kind words of our staff and our service, it is very much appreciated.

We are grateful of you taking the time to let other travelers know as well.

Thank you,

Victoria
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Crowne Plaza needs to keep up with what's happening all around the Gold Coast. There are lots of options, and frankly, many exceed what's on offer here. There's no "buzz" within the precinct, and it needs to be brought up to what Crowne Plaza offer in other countries. For a business conference, it provided the basics. Restaurant options are limited, and admittedly, I didn't get to visit the "world class seafood buffet" on offer in the revolving restaurant. Barely comfortable room, and I'm always disturbed by the ashtray on the balcony. Do we have to look after those who pollute other rooms by having a smoke nearby?

Room Tip: Book on a higher floor for possible ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear GeraldQ

Thank you for your review. I would like to confirm that we are in the process of identifying upgrade requirements for the property. The team and I hope that you can try one of our 3 restaurant & bar outlets at the hotel on your next visit - understand that whilst on conference, it can be hard to get away and enjoy a meal.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Ian Pirodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

In my 20 years of business and leisure travel in my adult life, I have never come across a hotel this appalling. Arriving early after a long haul red eye flight, I was told check in was 2 pm. No doubt the hotel is free to set its check in time, I did not expect the cold and sullen way I was treated. They are in the HOSPITALITY industry - didn't they know how to upsell or make guests feel welcome???!!!!! I was told they would ring me when my room is ready. Meanwhile, with 5 hours to wait, I asked where in the hotel I could have breakfast and rest. The prompt snap back:''your room rate does not include breakfast''. WHO is asking for free breakfast?! When I asked for wifi password, the reply was, ''you need to go to safari to do a few things, internet is free at the lobby''. How helfpul is that?! All this while the reception was not busy at all; in any case, busy or not, it was not the way to treat guests.

Later I'd asked for assistance to get me a room sooner than 2 pm and all they could repeat ad nauseum was, ''checkin is at 2pm''. It was then that I told them I don't mind a room that's not in the Gold Tower - any room would do. In fact, when I'd writen to book months ago, I was told that only Gold Tower rooms were avaialble. (I'd later found out this was not true - when I'd checked online, the main tower rooms were available and at much lower rate than the supposed ''marathoner's special rate''!!!!!!). I'd since written to the GM to complain about the rude, insulting and appalling treatment I received from their ironically named, ''loyalty champion'' at the front desk. As expected, to-date, I've yet to receive a reply.

For a 4 - 5 star hotel from IHG, I could not believe the housekeeping could be so slipshod and substandard. Even an average hotel in Myanmar and China could do better: there was no soap dish, no replacement of tissue paper, no replacement of amenities, unless I requested. The amenities were strewn all over the towel, rather than neatly laid out in a basket or tray. Likewise the minibar snacks - strewn all over the table, rathan placed in an attactive manner on a tray or basket. In-room dining options were pathetic and when I ordered a soup that was supposed to come with bread, the presentation was like that of a school canteen, or army barracks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuoCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria T, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear LuoCJ,

Warm greetings from Surfers Paradise.

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. It is vital to our continued success to know when we have fallen short of meeting our own high standards. I was very disappointed to read that your recent hotel arrival experience was not reflective of the warm, friendly service that we are so well known for.

LuoCJ please be assured that I have shared your comments with my Front Office team in addition to our Food and Beverage teams. I am pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate you with a early check-in. I do note that you were staying with us over the Gold Coast Airport Marathon Weekend, as the official accommodation provider for the marathon we did run at a high occupancy. Often during periods of high occupancy our ability to offer an early check-in is impacted, however I understand that the team were able to assist.

I do hope that when planning your travel for the 2015 Gold Coast Airport Marathon you will afford my team and I the opportunity to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. Please contact me directly here at the hotel (christopher.stokoe@ihg.com), it would be my pleasure to personally handle your next reservation with us. I will ensure that you are well looked after and that your stay is memorable for all the right reasons.


Warm regards,

Christopher Stokoe
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
436 reviews
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,686 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,257 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,704 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing