We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2010

close to beach 3 restaurants great view great staff

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bearhibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,514 - 1,520 of 1,686 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2010

I stayed at Crowne Plaza Gold Tower for one week to attend a conference at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre and managed to squeeze in a couple of days for sight-seeing afterward.

I was extremely impressed with the hotel. I was only up on level 4 in a standard room, but it seemed anything but standard. The room was huge and separated in to 2 main areas. The bedroom was large with lots of wardrobe space and it's own balcony. The bed was extremely comfortable and I had a good nights sleep every night (being at the edge of the hotel I did get a little bit of street noise from the highway below, but it was hardly noticeable at night). Off the bedroom was the bathroom which was very well fitted out and spotless with a separate spa bath and large shower.

Outside the bedroom was a full kitchen complete with oven, microwave and a full size fridge/freezer (and any kitchen accessories you might need). Past the kitchen was the main sitting/lounge area. In there was a 4-seater dining table, lounge seating for 4 and another LCD/Plasma television. There was also another balcony which could open the entire room up to the ocean views and breeze.

The breakfast buffet every morning is fantastic. Quite reasonably priced considering the huge amount of food to choose from. There's pretty much every kind of breakfast you could think of there and you get to enjoy it with a nice view looking out over the fountains and pool area outside.

I had a few drinks at the Relish Bar most nights and found the staff and setting to be extremely pleasant. I dined one night at Relish and the food was very nice and reasonably priced. For 3 courses and a few drinks I only paid $160 (for 2 people).

The hotels location is fairly central. In most cases I had to travel by taxi, but it was a very short walk to the beach (couple of minutes), and maybe 15/20 minutes to Surfers or the Convention Centre/Jupiters Casino. There were plenty of different routes to walk and lots of nice scenery along the way.

Everytime I needed to book a taxi, or enquire about attractions or locations around the Gold Coast, the staff at the concierge desk were extremely helpful.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Crowne Plaza Gold Tower and would stay there again without hesitation the next time I'm on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terrorcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Stayed in the CP for 2 nights in a double room on floor 21 (got upgraded as a Platinum member). Nice stay, the room was spacious, clean and reasonably modern. Location is in the middle of the Gold Coast, easy to get to Surfers as well as to Convention Centre or various malls. Parking is free btw.

I had stayed here before (in a non-upgraded room on a lower floor) and wasn't too impressed with the furnishing and the room was extremely outdated - so I'm sure the quality of the rooms varies quite a bit - be mindful of that.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grmblzmpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza Gold Tower for a couple of nights after a few days travelling in Brisbane for Business.

Upon arriving the building does look a bit tired but we were met by extremely friendly staff to take our bags and the Valet to take away our car.

Check in took only a couple of minutes and within minutes of arriving to our room our bags had arrived.

Room was extremely large and had a lovely view of the beach.. The Spa Bath which was the main reason why my partner wanted to stay at this hotel was large enough for two and certainly put a smile on her face. There was a full sized kitchen /fridge so you could easily stock up and cook your own meals.

The hotel itself is a bit out of surfers and i wouldn't recommend a walk into town its at least a 15 min stroll. If you're after a quieter area away from the hustle and bustle of the Surfers nightlife then this is perfect. it is about a 2min walk down to the beach and me and my partner were the only ones on the beach at about 3pm. It had lifeguards on duty but was pretty rough on this particular day.

Whilst we didnt dine in at the restaurant, any encounter we had with staff was first class. The valet always had our car ready within a few minutes notice and when running late for check out we didnt feel pressured to get out instead we were offered wiht a personal visit to see if we needed help with our bags or more time or to stay another night.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TysonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This hotel was our 3rd stop in Australia; Hotel located on highway … bit far from action however, u can use the bus service to go to surfer paradise, Movie world, Sea World in which the concierge team were so helpful to show how to use the bus services.

I recommend to book the hotel with breakfast service as restaurants and café’s are bit far …

The rooms are wide, clean and the bathroom big with windows over magnificent scenes of the area… Was bit noisy of traffic .. but over all I have great experience.. The recipients and all the staff are helpful and have no issue …

Nice hotel … but my concerns it’s far from action..

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrchiBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Wunderschönes,grosses Zimmer, 2 King-Betten,tolle Aussicht auf den Strand.
Badewanne und Dusche,LCD-Flatscreen.Free-Parking
Topqualität, wie von Crown Plaza gewöhnt.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anholy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Stayed 2 nights for business
Room 2212
Large room with 180 degree views
Large bathroom with spa bath
Great bed
Room was very clean
Booked breakfast which arrived on time, was hot and very tasty. Best hotel room-service breakfast I've every had.
Free parking
Fast check-in and check-out
Overall a great hotel and I will stay again

Now for the areas that could use improving:
Internet service was confusing and expensive
$28 for 100Mb in 24hrs, but once you logged off and then log back on, in that 24 hour period, its asks you to pay another $0.10 per Mb for full speed service or it will slow it down until the 100Mb are used.
I was working and needed full speed for Skype and VPN to my office
It should be a daily flat fee for full speed, like every other business friendly hotel

Went to the hotel's Four Winds Revolving Restaurant on the top floor, great views but very average food. I wouldn't bother again

The room next to mine had couples that liked a drink and they had their high volume drinking voices on all night. Even worse was the hallway noise that travelled unrestricted into my room. So every room service delivery and every door knock was noticed. It all stopped by midnight each night, so was bearable.

I still don't understand why hotels are built with such crap sound proofing. Seems like I can hear every noise in a hotel hallway, in 90% of the places I stay around the world

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,759 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,777 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,982 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £80 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing