We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel lifts are not a family ride!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2011

An impressive first impression. Staff were friendly on check in. We booked the King ocean view superior, room was certainly bigger than the standard hotel size. Excellent pool, perfect for end of day relaxing. Location not quite Surfers Paradise, more Broadbeach. If you're looking for the heart of Surfers this is just out of walking distance afte a night out. Problem with the bedding were the super hard pillows. Would have been nice if the spares in the cupboard provided some choice but they were just as hard. Not a problem if you like solid pillows I guess. The worst part were the incredibly slow lifts. One was not in service but it took an eternity for the others to arrive in the morning when waiting to check out, not helped by the happy family who filled up the lifts and thought riding them would pass some time before they checked out.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiny_Chablis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,533 - 1,539 of 1,722 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2011

We were meant to stay for one night but ended up changing our plans and we were glad as even after two nights we didn't want to leave. Imagine how hard it would have been after only one.

I had read previous reviews on this place suggesting that it was in need of some updating but I failed to see this fault. Everything looks rather comfy and modern. I'm glad to say that we were left alone by staff without being hassled to check out or having that knock on the door early morning by housekeeping staff. Although we did have a housekeeper check in on us on the morning of our check-out but they quickly apologised for disturbing us when I informed them of our actual intended check-out time (11am).

The only thing that lets this place down, and it can't be helped, is the location and the distance from all the attractions. We were fortunate enough to have hired a car upon our arrival at Brisbane airport. That was convenient as we went up to the center part of Surfers Paradise at night when public transport may have been a problem then Seaworld during the day which is quite a trip even by car.

We had a nice comfy room with a huge king bed and a balcony looking out towards the ocean. The bathroom was very nicely presented with marble everywhere. However, don't be fooled by the size of the spa, it's smaller than expected. It's meant to be a two person but they'd have to be two rather small people.

Food from room service was good especially the breakfast. That was huge.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TH_Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

stayed here at the end of my visit to Australia for some quality rest and sleep and i certainly enjoyed my short stay.The rooms and bathrooms are so clean and spacious with every amenity. The pools are lovely. it is on the border with surfers and Broadbeach which ,in my opinion, is more up market with lovely restaurants lining the street and doesn't attract the more boisterous tourists. It also has a beautiful beach with parks and greenery right down to the beach.i would have loved to stay here longer. the attached tavern has excellent quite cheap meals which are huge , recommend the roast .

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carriemcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed a couple nights and were fortunate to get lots of sunshine. Spacious 2 double bed room and bathroom with large bath and shower. Ocean view room so nice view of beach. With balcony which is great to dry of wet swimmers.
Our package came with buffet breakfast which was good quality (omelettes were especially tasty).
Room service was quite fast and good food.
Only used pool once as it got too cold. Only 1.1m deep so good for smaller kids.
It is about 10 minutes walk up from the beach - but street goes straight to beach access and patrol point. And about half hour walk up to Cavill Mall. But then its not in the noisy heart where you're likely to meet all the party goers. Noticed lots of families staying.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Small problem with our package was sorted out quickly and was given a replacement to a something it turned out we couldnt use - very happy about that. I didnt need to follow up and make noise about it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deux_fils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

one sentence says it all. very satisfying stay. room was on 21st floor, great view, lots of space in room, well stocked, everything worked fine, clean, staff very helpful, beachview. i cannot complain. would stay there next time through. hotel is about 4 blocks from beach which is the only drawback.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We stayed in an Executive Ocean Room,18th floor, the room was Modern & Very roomy, Huge bathroom, We had a great view of the Ocean. Nice balcony. Although close to the highway, the room was very quiet. The staff were very friendly & welcoming. Although the weather was not kind to us, the facilities were great, there is a Very Nice pool, Bar & Tavern.
We had a relaxing weekend, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caravangirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

The rooms are large and with balaconies having a great view be it of interior waterscapes or seascapes. Bathroom was large. Its true the rooms do not have a high luxury feel and some may say slightly dated but in fact they are well equipped with TV, bar, storage, desk etc. Food was fine and there is a smallish ppol and seating area. The hotel is some 4 blocks from the sea and one block from inland river. Convenient to airport (20 mins) Staff were all very helpful to me. Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
610 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,854 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,439 reviews
1 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £78 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing