We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reception was not friendly”
Review of Chateau Beachside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Beachside
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

I would nott stay again
Arrived at 10-45am and they would not me park the car in their near empty basement carpark until 2pm
Parking on the sgreet was limited and was paid meters
Not very accommodating in regards to guests who arrive early

The room had two single beds when i booked a queen they couldnt move me as they were fully booked - what a joke

The couch had two big tears in the covering and when i asked for management to come and see so i wouldnt be charged, they refused

Some of the drinking glasses were dirty

Curtains didnt come right up to the end of the windows, so they let light in

The guests next door were very noisy so rang manager to complain but they did nothing about stopping them as it continued to at least 3am

For $139 for the night i would rather pay more to get at least 3 star this place would rate only 1 stat

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,643 - 1,649 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

Chateau Beachside is not a 5 star modern property, so if that's what you're looking for, do not stay here! BUT it you are looking for great value, an awesome location and huge clean rooms, this is the place for you!
The location cannot be beaten. It is directly opposite the beach, an even in my 'no ocean view' room, I could still see the beach from our room. The room was massive, with a small dining table, kitchen sink and large bathroom.
For the price I paid ($89 for 1 night) I was expecting small and dirty - so I was very very pleasantly surprised!
It took about 2 minutes (if that) to walk to Cavill Avenue so finding somewhere to eat for dinner was a breeze.
Last but not least, one of the best things about Chateau Beachside is the buffet breakfast. $14.50 will get you everything from pancakes to potato gems, bacon and fruit. Being straight across from the beach it is a perfect way to start your day!
I will definitely be staying here again in the future, and as a travel agent I will be recommending to my clients!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadine_jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Huge studio apartment with great views. The rooms were clean on arrival, obviously self catering so you cleaned after yourself from then on. Good kitchen facilities. Lovely modern bathroom. Very friendly helpful staff. Good entertainment facilities, with new release DVD rental for free. Lovely big swimming pool with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi spa. The games room and surrounding area was a little out dated. Very good value for money, would definitely stay here again. No complaints from us!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cometravelwithme2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Yes this property is a little outdated,but we couldn't afford to pay top dollar.We did however receive top service.The views were just magic.The room was clean,everything we needed was there and the staff friendly and helpful.We couldn't fault anything.We had no troubles with air conditioning.We stayed in a 1bedroom studio for a romantic weekend,but we'll be returning with the kids next time.Here you can park the car for the weekend and walk everywhere,lots to do and see and plenty of food choices nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Very old hotel,it's very different from the pictures on Internet,in particular the rooms.It's very dirty,there aren't dishwasher and balcony.The service is the worst than ever.It reminds me an hotel 2 stars that I tried in Cuba.It is absolutely to expensive about the quality that it offers.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My husband & I stayed at Chateau Beachside for 8 days. The accomadation was excellent.Handy to everything and having the restaurant at ground level was a bonus. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The room rate was very reasonable . We will stay there every time we go to Surfers and we will tell our family and friends .

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We wanted a overnight break away from Bisbane and stayed in this location. The recptionist was very pleasent even though we turned up early and the room was not ready, we were offered secure parking which was great. We took a walk and turned back up to access our room. The room was reasonably clean and well set up with the sliding doors opening onto a magnificent pool and beach view. The new hot water system in the room was not working however this was quickly investigated and we were very offered another room by a very apologetic staff member and no pressure to move there and then, just when we were ready. The room we moved to was better set out than the one we left. We will ask for this room next time. The facilities were great and due to being a one night stay we were unable to take advantage of the gym, pool, spa, sauna or games room. Overall for the star rating, price, location and facilities we could not complain and will be returning. If you want a five star stay in this area, then double or triple the price and good luck. If you want value for money then this would be the place. (Check out the Sumarai Japanise Restaurant down the road. A must do)

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms on higher levels. Double sliding doors looking over beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bne-Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
629 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,949 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,789 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Beachside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Beachside

Address: Corner The Esplanade And Elkhorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £37 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Beachside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau Beachside Resort is the ideal location for your next relaxing getaway. Only one block North of Cavill Mall, The Chateau Beachside is located in the heart of the shopping, dining and entertainment precinct. Featuring 3.5 Star rated facilities and the world famous sandy shores of Surfers Paradise just metres away, you're sure to find what you are looking for right here!Situated in the heart of Surfers Paradise, all units have spectacular ocean views of the famous Surfers Paradise beach below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau Beachside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Beachside Hotel Surfers Paradise
Chateau Beachside Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing