We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amazing views!”
Review of Chateau Beachside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Beachside
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights for my birthday and had a great time. This building is very old and tired, so if your looking for a modern building with modern features this is not the place for you.

Whilst this building could do with a lick of paint and new furniture we really loved it. The view from our room on the 15th floor was sensational! There are so many windows all with a great view I didn't know where to look! We had some beautiful sunrises at 5am! Worth waking up for. We loved that we could hear the waves crashing from our bed.

I would have given it 5 out of 5 if the decor/furniture was a little better. It was clean, had everything we needed, no fancy extras but that's ok. Only thing was I would have liked a towel change as by the end if the three days it didn't really ever dry out.

Great place to stay if you don't want all the fancy extras but you want the best views ever!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deirdre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

I'm pleased to read that we were able to play a part in making your getaway an enjoyable one. Its great that the location and facilities suited you and that your room was comfortable. The views are pretty amazing I must admit. Our aim is to cater for a variety of travellers and we do manage to keep the prices low and we have found most guests would prefer to "look after themselves" and save a little money for their entertainment etc.

We hope to welcome you back to Chateau on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Had a great stay here for a week in an ocean view studio, from the moment I arrived, much earlier than check in, the staff made me very welcome and went out of their way to accommodate me. room was clean and tidy with good facilities to make a longer stay very comfortable.
you cant really get a better location, right on the beach front with cafes and restaurants everywher within 5mins walk. Pool and spas were well used and nice. Would totally recommend this place to families and couples alike. Thanks chateau beachside

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Wow - thank you for your great review and we are very happy to know that we managed to fulfil your expectations for a great holiday.

The views are fantastic and the facilities are great. I am also pleased to see you have us full marks for cleanliness and I will definitely be passing your feedback to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chateau on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

i thouroughly enjoyed my stay in chateau beachside. great price for the quality of accomodation . rooms are good not to cramped. the bathroom and the living room where very clean and well presented upon arrival. i will definatley be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Chateau Beachside.

I will definitely be passing on your comments to our staff and we strive to make everyone stays enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chateau on your next visit to the Coast.

Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

only had a chance for a couple of nights away...was great value for money...ideal location... walking distance to everything you would possibly need...awesome view from room of the ocean....lovely young girl in reception on check in....would definitely go back again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the resort. We definitely have one of the best locations in town.

Our rooms are compact but well provided and definitely a great option for budget conscious travellers.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back at Chateau next time you are in town.

Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My family (2A&3K) recently stayed here for 5 nights. It's easily the best value for money resort/hotel we've stayed in and we've been to quite a few here and o/s over the years. Didn't plan on coming up here for a break but given dirt cheap flights and accomadation we thought why not. The location is excellent, everything is literally on your doorstep and the views from our room were stunning. We had the sea on one side and the Surfers skyline on 2 other sides. Was just awesome esp at dusk. Although not 'modern' or anything really fancy it was more than adequate for our needs. The room/hotel was generally neat, clean and tidy throughout, the kids loved the pool, wifi worked well in the public areas, staff were helpfull and responsive and parking was easy. The cafe/bar downstairs was also very good value. Only neg was the fold out couch was a bit uncomfortable for the kids to sleep on. Oh well, it's a bit of character building for them!!!
Will definately stay here again when visiting the Gold Coast. Hopefully the never ending roadworks around Surfers will have finished by then.

Room Tip: Avoid lower floors, can get noisy from revellers and yobs on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback and great comments.

We do try to offer a great holiday at great prices and I am pleased we managed to achieve this for you and your family. The facilities are great and of course the close proximity to all that Surfers has to offer with the beach directly across the road makes it a perfect holiday destination for families.

I do apologise for the sofa bed - some are due to replacement and we are working our way around the resort on our refurbishment program.

We hope that you choose to stay at Chateau next time you come to the Gold Coast.

Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Pros:
Location: I don't think you can get nearer to the beach than here. It's just literally across it and the centre is just 2 blocks away. Everything is just a walk away - restaurants, bus stops to everywhere, and there's a coles down the street should you need anything. We can't stress enough how awesome the location is.

Room View: We stayed in one of their Hotel Beachfront rooms. The view is AMAZING! We were on the 15th floor. We have the ocean view, beach view and the city view all at the same time. The loo even had a view! It was awesome waking up to that view everyday.

Free Wi-fi: We thought initially the 50MB free wifi access per day was not enough for us as we're always online but it turned out to be just enough. But then again, we were always out most of the day and was only in the hotel late at nights.

TV: The room has a large LCD tv.


Cons:
Room cleanliness: The room we stayed in wasn't cleaned that well. There were nail clippings on the couch (eeewwww). You can see handprints on the windows and
accumulated dusts on the window corners. The tap has water marks on it. But nothing horrible though.

Room decor: It's really dated. Our shower door didn't fully close.

All in all, if you want a good view and superb location and don't really mind a room not immaculately clean, in an affordable price, then chateau beachside is perfect for you. We'd come back but will specify the next time we book whether the room can be cleaned well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W3L0v3_2Tr4v3L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. I'm glad to hear that you did have some positive comments but I do apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. I will definitely be speaking to the cleaners and our supervisor to ensure that our high standards of cleanliness are met at all times.

We do hope you do visit us again and I please make sure you contact me direct next time you would like to book.

Regards
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

What a great place to stay and take your family. Everyrthing you could possibly need is at your disposal and the facilities at the Chateau Beachside and the relaxing environment make it quite difficult to tear yourself away and ventire out of the resort!! The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful and were extremely accommodating. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on the Gold Coast, and am looking nforward to returning. Chateau Baechside was the best holiday experience ever!!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room at the Chateau Beachside is a good room due to its location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your very positive comments and feedback regarding your stay at the Chateau Beachside and I am pleased to hear that we met your expectations of a great holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chateau on your next visit to Surfers.

Regards

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,815 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,616 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Beachside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Beachside

Address: Corner The Esplanade And Elkhorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £51 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Beachside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau Beachside Resort is the ideal location for your next relaxing getaway. Only one block North of Cavill Mall, The Chateau Beachside is located in the heart of the shopping, dining and entertainment precinct. Featuring 3.5 Star rated facilities and the world famous sandy shores of Surfers Paradise just metres away, you're sure to find what you are looking for right here!Situated in the heart of Surfers Paradise, all units have spectacular ocean views of the famous Surfers Paradise beach below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Beachside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Beachside Hotel Surfers Paradise
Chateau Beachside Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing