We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything + Views”
Review of Chateau Beachside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Beachside
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Close to everything + Views”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Wife decided to go for Chateau Beachside after I showed her few hotels on Internet for our trip to Gold Coast and she picked this one just for views. Our room was beach facing and the view was lovely. View of the city from side windows was beautiful as well.
I, on the other hand was amazed how close it was to everything. Shops, beach and restaurants at door step. 3-4 min walk to Cavill Ave.
Pool, steam room and spa were clean and served their purpose. Did not get time to play pool, table tennis and other stuff. Buffet breakfast was better then expected.
Not sure if the hotel had room service. No one came to clean our room for 5 days. We were not too bothered about it but by the 5th day the room looked a bit dirty. Free 200 MB Internet for 2 days was better then nothing. $200 deposit at check-in was promptly returned at check-out. I have paid less deposit at better hotels.
Over all good and memorable experience at Chateau.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pak316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    732
    258
    86
    84
See reviews for
417
740
122
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Good value. reasonable place for short stay. Place looks a bit dated in decor, however it was comfortable stay. All facilities was great and maintained well.

The location was absolutely great, right in the center of Surfers Paradise.couldn't ask for a better location..

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, great sea views and less noise from the road in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pushparaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The setting is fantastic. It's right in the centre of Surfers Paradise and you can walk across the Esplanade to the beach.
The rooms are starting to show their age and it's time for a bit of TLC but that's probably part of the reason they're significantly better value than other accommodation close by. However, they are well set up and very clean. We had one of the "back rooms" but still had a fantastic view of the beach as far as Coolangata.
The area is noisy. There is no air conditioning so we preferred to have the windows ajar all the time. We were on the 13th floor but the surf was still very loud and during the night there was traffic noise and occasional "yahooing" from the revellers.
Queensland does not have daylight saving time, so it's quite light at 5:30am. The curtains are very light so you need a sleeping mask if you intend sleeping in.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend Chateau Beachside.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Elk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Brilliant location.The view from room was great .Balcony was opening towards pacific ocean.Once we returned from there it was difficult to adjust to our house:-)
The best thing is that you can chose ocean view room while booking online.Room was good not great though but worth the money .Had good facilities-swimming pool,Spa ,gymnaseum,laundry,Tennis court .Staff was courtetous.Once you include view and location then it is much more than value for money.Had a great time.Would certainly recommend to others and if get a chance to go again , I will certainly go blindly to Chateau beach resort only.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dheeraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

First couple of hours was a nightmare, the room we were given was on the 5th floor back corner, which was like a hot box, no fresh air and no aircon, full set of windows even in the bathroom, had to keep all the curtains closed. Lucky my daughter went and complained and paid $10 to get us moved to another room on the 14th floor, then wow it changed everything, the sea breeze, view, the room etc. was sooo much better, so yes one's experience would all depend on which room you get lumped with. We would return as long as the room we were given was not like 508, yuck. My rating is based on the 2nd room.

One or 2 of the reception staff could do with going on a customer care course, or if they hate their job that much instead of being rude to the clientele find another job.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Location is excellent with walk distance to beach, shops & restaurants.
Room cleanliness is not really good. Hairdryer is not working with bad smell. Light in bathroom is too weak. Cutleries are not clean.
Staff are very unhelpful and rude with discrimination against Asian.
The receptionist lady with lipring was the worst staff ever I came across as a frequent traveller.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau2012, Manager at Chateau Beachside, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Regarding your trip advisor review. We do not have any front office personnel who has a lipring so I think this review is not for our hotel.

Also we do not discriminate against Asians - we have an Asian front desk receptionist so I am of the belief that this review is not actually about our hotel.

Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Yes, what you read was all true, the location can't be beaten, opposite the hotel is the beach, shops, cafes, convenience shop. Short walk to the cavill avenue but not in the middle of the bustle.

We got the corner ocean view studio on top level 18. The views unbeatable - catch the sunrise in your bed. It's worth the extra dollars.

The place is not five star, and if your expectation is as such then you won't be disappointed. The value is excellent and service efficient.

Would definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HeMan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#17 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,045 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Beachside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Beachside

Property: Chateau Beachside
Address: Corner The Esplanade And Elkhorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Beachside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau Beachside Resort is the ideal location for your next relaxing getaway. Only one block North of Cavill Mall, The Chateau Beachside is located in the heart of the shopping, dining and entertainment precinct. Featuring 3.5 Star rated facilities and the world famous sandy shores of Surfers Paradise just metres away, you're sure to find what you are looking for right here!Situated in the heart of Surfers Paradise, all units have spectacular ocean views of the famous Surfers Paradise beach below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Beachside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Beachside Hotel Surfers Paradise
Chateau Beachside Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing