We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect views”
Review of Chateau Beachside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Beachside
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed recently in a one bedroom beachfront apartment.. The apartment was great, had everything we needed for a 2 night stay, and for a great price.The views were amazing... everywhere you looked, you could see the ocean, even whilst on the toilet or in the shower... "the loo with a view"..
It was close to all the restaurants and bars and right across the road from the beach.
I didn't go in the pool, but it sure looked inviting, and so did the jacuzzis'.
Would definitely stay there again, and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Its definitely worth paying the little bit extra to stay in the beachfront apartments. And for $5 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,279 - 1,285 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

The room was big, nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Microwave, fridge and electric jug they all were clean and well functioned. There is no air-con but ceiling fans works well. We had beach front room with great beach and city view. The staff was friendly. We really enjoyed our stay there and we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed here for an extended period....and found the Chateau Beachside to be exceptional value for money,
The location is sensational...close to some amazing restaurants and shopping ( 1 block to Cavill Ave)....across the road from the beach .....but still quiet of a night.
The reception staff are fantastic and always welcoming and helpful.
The building itself is a bit dated but the facilities are up to date and well maintained.
I highly recommend staying here and will be back with my whole family as the Chateau is the ideal base for a Gold Coast Holiday!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mafman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I'm staying here with my hubby, we check out today and I have a few pros and cons of this place.

CON:
1: We then got keys to room 406 (lvl 4) AND MY GOSH IT WAS A DUMP. I refused to sleep on the bed, the mirrors were all dirty, the oven was filthy, the fridge stank, the lounge was wet, the floors were slippery and the metal bathroom vanity handles were rusted, it just felt dirty and I WAS NOT STAYING HERE. I cried and requested an upgrade to a higher level hoping to get something better. 1705 (lvl 17) is what they upgraded us to and this studio was so much better and less noisy.
2: There was only one form of ventilation which was the (balcony?) there was no windows and no fly screens, plus no air conditioning. Lucky for us it isn't summer.
The studio smelt a little old and dusty, could do with a paint and a little bit of a revamp.

PROS:
Lovely views of the ocean, nice and airy when the door is open (have to sleep with the door open other wise too stuffy) big tv with some foxtel channels, spacious shower, tidy apartment but just needs a little love.

We rate our stay a 6 out of 10.
I've added some photos titled (1705).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great position, older style room and no balcony, however, quick lifts and the facilities (ie pool, steam room, sauna, spas) were second to none. Would book this hotel for a couple of nights in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The room was getting pretty tired and in need of a revamp. We paid extra for an ocean view room and it really delivers on the view, but the carpets and fittings are all dated.
Service was really pretty poor, the receptionist at check in gave the clear impression she couldn't care less, and at check out it was only slightly better so I would say management have some issues to address here.
Having said that the tariff was pretty reasonable really, being opposite the beach, but for me there were too many boxes x'd on the negative side of the sheet. We tried to play pool in the recreation room but the table gobbled our $2 and then the coin reception replaced that with, too, so we gave up. Then we realised the balls had all been pinched. Same with the table tennis bats and balls. The spas were all cold. But the bed was pretty comfortable and the shower good once you adjusted the temp.
Anyway, if you're pressed for a bed and happy not to have ANY frills, this might do the trick, but for me, I'd like a little bit of friendly service or personality thrown in, and didn't get it here at all.

Room Tip: ocean view is worth the extra $10-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel has an opti location. The heated large pool is superb. The 3 jacuzzis clean and appealing. The restaurant in the building just fantastic . Food just tremendous for an affordable price. The room itself need and clean. The fridge good size and cold! The bed very comfortable and the 2 lounge chairs really comfortable. The only negative thing where the windows. So dirty from the salt you hardly could see outside. And no air conditioning. But overall I come back anytime it's to be recommended and value for money!

Room Tip: The city view could be a bit noisy due to garbage trucks or ongoing road/ building works . Maybe som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,611 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Beachside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Beachside

Address: Corner The Esplanade And Elkhorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £51 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Beachside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau Beachside Resort is the ideal location for your next relaxing getaway. Only one block North of Cavill Mall, The Chateau Beachside is located in the heart of the shopping, dining and entertainment precinct. Featuring 3.5 Star rated facilities and the world famous sandy shores of Surfers Paradise just metres away, you're sure to find what you are looking for right here!Situated in the heart of Surfers Paradise, all units have spectacular ocean views of the famous Surfers Paradise beach below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Beachside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Beachside Hotel Surfers Paradise
Chateau Beachside Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing