We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for young family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakfree Peninsula
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great place for young family!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Had a lovely stay in apartment 28D. Beautiful views and plenty of living space for our 3 kids aged 3, 6 & 8. Kids loved the pools & tennis court. Although the apartment has not been fully renovated, recently renovated bathrooms were good. Great location, short walk to beach, shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to be the favorite and we would love to see you back in the future. We are working hard with owners to refurbish units which we hope to complete this financial year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    182
    59
    39
    31
See reviews for
355
94
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Bought a discount package 4 nights from Breakfree and spent hours to choose among many Breakfree along Surfer paradise, then finally we chose Peninsula. The location is perfect, close to the main shopping center with cheap good restaurants and Woolworth and bus stops. The two bedroom apartment was good and clean. The view to the beach is perfect. No complaint at all about the apartment. Only the swimming pool at the ground floor was very smelly and made us feel that the water was not changed for ages. The building, Penisula, is not new one and actually I guest Breakfree only own/ hire some apartments there for renting out to tourists.
In general, Breakfree Peninsula is highly recommended for whom could only afford a reasonable prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Tran L,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our spacious, clean and fully self contained apartment with expansive ocean views. Our location is very central and within walking distance to the beach, shopping, restaurants and other amenities.

I have noted your comments about the swimming pool and will inform the Caretaker to take remedial action.

All the apartments at Breakfree Peninsula are individually owned. Mantra Group has a letting agreement with the owners of Breakfree Peninsula to holiday let and manage their units.

I fully agree with your comments that Breakfree Peninsula offers very good value for money and is an ideal choice for families looking at reasonable prices.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family again at Breakfree Peninsula in the near future.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The location is perfect, I can not fault it at all. Near Cavill Avenue where food and shopping are abundant yet not too close to be bothered by noise and people traffic, the hotel's location is definite plus. I particularly loved mornings waking up to a breathtaking view from my apartment at 21C. I also enjoy walking along the beach going to and from Cavill at night for dinner. And commute was fairly easy with bus stops just a couple of blocks from the hotel. What more can i ask?

The apartment is huge and comfortable, though quite dated especially the rooms. It only has 2 aircons for the lounge area and the master's bedroom, so my sons felt stuffy and warm in the other room despite the cool autumn nights. I can just imagine how difficult sleep can be during summer. The 4 nights we stayed at Breakfree Peninsula, my sons slept just one night in the room and the remainder at the lounge area. Oh, and the washing machine was busted the whole time we were there. Someone came in to supposedly repair it but it was not resolved at all. Hot water was also fickle as it comes and goes. Imagine being splashed with really hot or really cold water in the middle of a morning shower. Ugh.

All that remained bearable though since the apartment view is truly quite exceptional. What irked me the most though is the level of customer service, or lack thereof. Bad, bad, bad. :( They weren't rude, just detached and unhelpful. Maybe it's because the place is a self-service apartment? No room cleaning during the duration of our stay after all. So we were all on our own.

It was an overall great holiday, and I would still recommend the hotel to friends. Just don't expect much service. But the independence did help. Everyone pitched in and we were able to keep the place relatively clean. :) That's a big improvement for my kiddos. :)

Room Tip: ask for higher floor apartments and make sure you request for units with aircons in ALL rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichLim_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear MichLim_1971,

Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at Breakfree Peninsula although you were not satisfied with some aspects. As clearly advertised on our website and also informed at the time of booking, all our apartments are not airconditioned. Airconditioning is on request basis and subject to availability. Our booking notes show that you requested an apartment on a higher floor with ocean views. There was no request for airconditioning. So, I am surprised by your comments about the lack of airconditioning although your apartment had two airconditioners.

I have checked our maintenance log about the washing machine. A technician did attend to your initial complaint and it was promptly fixed. After that, we did not receive any further complaints about the washing machine during your stay.

Breakfree Peninsula is a high-rise apartment building very centrally located in Surfers Paradise. It is not a hotel and we do not have daily cleaning service. We provide fully furnished self contained apartments with kitchen and laundry facilities at reasonable rates. We offer value for money.

I thank you for recommending us to your friends and look forward to welcoming you and your family on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed at Peninsula recently for the first time after coming to surfers paradise for many years. We had an apartment high up with fantastic views and plenty of space. Peninsula is very well located close to shops and beach and the room was well equipped and clean. Many thanks to Adil and the reception team for helping make our stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to returning.knoxdebra2

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Peter K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to the beach & local shops convenient. Our team is very focussed on guest satisfaction and I am pleased to hear your comments about the same.

I look forward to welcoming you and your partner again at Breakfree Peninsula in the near future.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapallo, Italy
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This was our second stay at the Peninsula and it was thoroughly enjoyable thanks to the Managing Director, Adil Fitter, who assured us that we would have a beautiful apartment with a spectacular view. And so it was was! The deluxe apartment was located on a high floor with ocean and beach views from the huge living/dining area and kitchen and was a treat to the eyes. Could not have been better. I should add that the staff, in addition to Mr. Fitter, were all pleasant, professional and helpful. We definitely plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Make your booking early to ensure you get the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Franc-Rapallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Franc-Rapallo,

Thank you for posting such a fabulous review for Breakfree Peninsula.

I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay again with us. Our spacious apartments have breathtaking views and our location is very central to all amenities.

It is pleasing to hear your comments about our friendly team who go the extra distance to ensure that guests are well looked after.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family again at Breakfree Peninsula on your next visit to the sunny Gold Coast.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We got a really good deal for 7 days to stay at one of the breakfree's in surfers paradise. We chose the peninsula and I must say, if we had paid full price I would've demanded my money back and changed hotels.
The first room we got put into was filthy, there was dust on everything and toothpaste on the back of the bedroom door and had only ceiling fans, no air conditioning. You must request it if you want it?!?!?!?!? We then asked to change to a different room as without air con the room was so stuffy and hot.
It was as though we were an inconvenience to the staff member behind the counter.
After she was all 'set up' she managed to find us another room. Again, the cleanliness was questionable.
As we have stayed at the Breakfree on George st in Sydney, our expectations were quite high. Needless to say we were extremely disappointed.
The location is great as you are in the heart of Surfers and the pools were quite nice but I would never return to this hotel.
I would recommend the cleaning staff be re-trained and the staff to be taught about customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Tash S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

At Breakfree Peninsula, we offer good value for money accommodation. Our website clearly mentions that airconditioning is subject to availability and cannot be guaranteed. However, all our 2 bedroom Deluxe apartments have full airconditioning.

I have noted your comments about the cleanliness of the apartment and have forwarded your comments to our housekeeping supervisor for corrective action.

I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay and would request you to contact me directly for your next booking. I assure you that you will definitely have a great stay with us next time.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Have stayed at peninsular 2 first time great 2nd not so good. Coming back in 3 weeks with d petch and hoping for a nice apartment high up and clean comfortable with views sure it will be and not an older one like previously

Room Tip: cnr unit above 7 with sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baab808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Hi baab808,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Breakfree Peninsula again.

I have noted your comments about your previous stay with us. Please contact me directly by e-mail: adil.fitter@breakfree.com.au and I will ensure that you will have a great stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Breakfree Peninsula soon.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
0.7 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Peninsula

Property: Breakfree Peninsula
Address: Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakfree Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Surfers Paradise Esplanade, BreakFree Peninsula offers sweeping views from the Gold Coast hinterland to the wide expanse of the Pacific Ocean. Just 100 metres to the beach and 600 meters to the retail and dining hub of Cavill Avenue, the resort offers quality, affordable accommodation ideal for a weekend getaway or family holiday. Accommodation options include One, Two and Three-bedroom Apartments, most with stunning ocean views. If you want to pay a small amount more you can live it up Surfers Paradise style in the Two Bedroom Deluxe Ocean Apartments that have been completely refurbished. All apartments feature their own balcony, ceiling fans, hair dryer, in-room safe, Foxtel, security access and intercom, wireless Internet access (at a charge) and full kitchen and laundry facilities. Onsite there are many facilities to choose from including three swimming pools, children's wading pool and playground, heated spa, sauna, gymnasium, tennis court, BBQ facilities and in-room massage. Located just down the road from Cavill Mall, the shopping and dining hub of Surfers Paradise, and close to all the action of Surfers Paradise. Directly opposite the beach, BreakFree Peninsula offers family friendly facilities and the perfect location for your Surfers Paradise escape. **PLEASE NOTE** Air-conditioning is available in some apartments only. Hence it is on request but subject to availability. For your convenience we cannot accept bookings for same day arrivals outside of reception hours. Please phone during normal business hours prior to arrival to arrange after hours check in. Once a booking has been made we accept NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS to that booking. Party Policy: • Parties are not permitted in apartments • Registered guests only are permitted in apartments after 10pm • Excessive noise will not be tolerated Failure to comply with the above will result in the eviction of the guest/from the property. The property reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakfree Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Peninsula Hotel Surfers Paradise
Peninsula Hotel Breakfree
Peninsula Apartments
Surfers Paradise Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing