We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Potential to be Awesome” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakfree Peninsula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breakfree Peninsula
Kiwi Kid, Auckland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Potential to be Awesome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Arrived a few hours before check-in and the delightful Margaret on reception not only allowed us access but upgraded us to an ocean view. She escorted us to our 2 bedroom unit & first impressions were "wow". Views to die for, spacious and well appointed. Unfortunately first impressions can be deceptive .

The apartment we stayed in had the potential to be 5 star except for the cleanliness and basic maintenance. First night we spilled red wine on the kitchen tiles so used (our own) paper towels to clean it up. The floor was just disgusting. Then the bathroom - looking into the shower over the bath it looked clean BUT once inside, the black mould and gunge when you closed the door was just nasty. We had to move lugs in cupboards to ensure we had shelves that weren't lopsided and even rehung part of the curtain in the lounge which was falling down. As for the worn pair of knickers & socks in one of the drawers - just how long had they been there?

Then there's the security chain on the front door - how unfortunate there's nothing to secure it to! So you snib the door and hope for the best. And of course the jug - obviously had been leaking for some time given the discolouration on the base and wetness on the bench. Surely housekeeping should have noticed this and replaced it?. (Wasn't a problem at all to get replaced). Having organised an additional hour for checkout, we got a (very polite) call at 10.20am to ask if we'd organised one - surely they are operating on a computerised system where this can be recorded? It negates the goodwill generated by the additional hour.

Lighting in the bathroom was poor - so poor during the day you couldn't tell if it was on or not. Luckily there's a huge mirror in the dining area where one could do their makeup. Bedside lamp in the second room had a faulty switch and kept flickering - which of course you didn't recall until bedtime when it was too late to do anything about it. There was more - but all so avoidable and inexpensive to fix.

In all fairness, every single member of staff we came into contact with was lovely - which, coupled with the central location is the reason I don't score this as poor. Better inspections need to bee made of units to ensure housekeeping are doing their job properly and basic maintenance is undertaken. Am presuming units were being upgraded by the noise (always during daytime hours and didn't start too early, so not an issue at all) so worth another shot.

Hint - if you're on a budget, don't hesitate to use the bus from the airport. Get off at Markham Ave stop, walk about 250m to Clifford St on your right - you can't miss it. $8.50 per adult.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank small-Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are improving our processes within housekeeping and maintenance and will continue to do so. We are working hard with the owners of each unit to improve the standard. I am happy to inform you that we are getting more owners to do full refurbishments so if you come back next year, make sure to book a deluxe apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    171
    55
    38
    31
See reviews for
339
90
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Absolutely amazing resort with all the facilities we could ever have wanted. Had a bedroom apartment with a lovely view, we spent virtually the whole stay sitting on the balcony enjoying the scenery. The views can simply not be beaten. Main pool wonderfully deep and the resort is situated close to bus routes and central Surfers. Room was very nice with everything that you'd need while on holiday but it was really the views that made the trip. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Enjoyed our stay here. Good location 2 mins from beach few mins from centre of surfers paradise. Close to restaurants, bars and supermarkets. We stayed in spacious 2 and 2 bath. Amazing view of ocean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anotherjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here last year around May 2012. The views were breathtaking, and the area is very convenient - close to lots of shopping. I felt like I was at home.

I took a nearby bus and train all the way to Brisbane even - that is how convenient Breakfree's area is. My only negative (that had nothing to do with my stay) was that the airline lost my luggage. Coming from New York, losing clothes is a very big inconvenience, but the staff at the front desk was very helpful with helping me get around to find stores where I can find a few replacement items. In fact, I felt like I was annoying to the three people there by constantly asking if they've heard if my luggage came in, but they didn't give me any grief at all, until one day it appeared at the front desk and they called me to let me know. I was so happy then...

One more thing - don't make any phone calls to other territories - I made a 1/2 hour call to Melbourne that cost me about $100.

Other than the above, I really loved the place and hope to visit again and very soon! Thanks to the man and the two women at the front desk for your professional service :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stormgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

stayed at the Peninsula for 1 week with the family. i have been to the gold coast a lot of time and this is probably the best value apartment we ever got.
the view is excellent, close to everything that you need at surfers paradise without being to close to the noise.

Room Tip: request anything higher than lv10 for better view and B Style apartment will have the most ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to meet expectations and I am glad that we provided you the best holiday after visiting the gold coast so many times. I will pass on your comments to my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I recently stayed at the Peninsula with some friends.
I was appalled at the horrible level of service that the old woman behind the reception desk gives. She is most rude and acts as though she cannot be bothered with anyone. Most of the time whenever myself of my friends asked for any assistance she would speak so rudely to us. We are not from the Gold Coast and have no idea of getting around, or of any of the attractions there. She did not want to help us to find our way around. She however seemed to be nice to some people and very rude to others... This was very upsetting.
Staying there and having this woman treat us like dirt ruined our holiday.

There were a few positives,

- We had great views of the ocean.
- The facilities were really good.
- There was a young girl at reception that was very lovely that seemed to go above and beyond for people. But we only had her once. She was delightful.

Room Tip: If you must stay at the Peninsula, be sure to stay away from the horrible old women behind the recep...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I is dissappointing how one interaction by a staff member to a guest put such a downer on what was a great stay. I have held a meeting with our front office team who were shocked by your comments. I expect all of my team to be professional at all times. Please accept my appologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Our stay at breakfree peninsula was dismal at best. If not for the fantastic view we would most likely be disgusted.
Negatives:
- Our crockery and cutlery were revolting (I mean chunks of food stuck in them and looked like they had never been washed)
- The service! We were told we could only have one extra roll of toilet paper during our week long stay with 6 people because 'that is really something you need to supply yourself!' Also very rude and overheard the ladies at reception making nasty remarks about residents and even their own employees on more than one occasion
- The rooms. We stayed during winter and the lack of airconditioning left us stinking hot during the nights. The rooms are dirty and outdated. The showers are all damaged which caused our water to not only come out of the shower head but also out of the wall and the roof. Also splashing between hot and cold throughout the duration of the shower and running out of hot water made for a very uncomfortable experience.
- There were no blockout curtains in the lounge room so whoever got stuck with the rollaway bed was up at the crack of dawn with the sun glaring in their eyes!
Positives:
- The view
- The location

Unfortunately very dissatisfied with our stay and will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rarelyleavereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback. There are some areas of your comments that don't make sense but obviously you felt strongly enough to be a first time reviewer and post feedback. I would love you to give me a call and discuss your stay further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Peninsula

Property: Breakfree Peninsula
Address: Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakfree Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Surfers Paradise Esplanade, BreakFree Peninsula offers sweeping views from the Gold Coast hinterland to the wide expanse of the Pacific Ocean. Just 100 metres to the beach and close to the retail and dining hub of Cavill Avenue, the resort offers quality, affordable accommodation ideal for a weekend getaway or family holiday. Accommodation options include One, Two and Three-bedroom Apartments, most with stunning ocean views. If you want to pay a small amount more you can live it up Surfers Paradise style in the Two Bedroom Deluxe Ocean Apartments that have been completely refurbished. All apartments feature their own balcony, ceiling fans, hair dryer, in-room safe, Foxtel, security access and intercom, wireless Internet access (at a charge) and full kitchen and laundry facilities. Onsite there are many facilities to choose from including three swimming pools, children's wading pool and playground, heated spa, sauna, gymnasium, tennis court, BBQ facilities and in-room massage. Located just down the road from Cavill Mall, the shopping and dining hub of Surfers Paradise, and close to all the action of Surfers Paradise. Directly opposite the beach, BreakFree Peninsula offers family friendly facilities and the perfect location for your Surfers Paradise escape. **PLEASE NOTE** Air-conditioning is available in some apartments only. Hence it is on request but subject to availability. For your convenience we cannot accept bookings for same day arrivals outside of reception hours. Please phone during normal business hours prior to arrival to arrange after hours check in. Once a booking has been made we accept NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS to that booking. Party Policy: • Parties are not permitted in apartments • Registered guests only are permitted in apartments after 10pm • Excessive noise will not be tolerated Failure to comply with the above will result in the eviction of the guest/from the property. The property reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Breakfree Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Peninsula Hotel Surfers Paradise
Peninsula Hotel Breakfree
Peninsula Apartments
Surfers Paradise Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing