We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown, filthy, horrific apartment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakfree Peninsula
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rundown, filthy, horrific apartment.”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Talk about the most underwhelming hotel experience known to humanity.

We arrived with high hopes of the hotel after viewing several photos of this excuse for luxury.
Our room was on the 28th floor, and we did have a very good view of the beach. That was the only thing that was appealing about this place. The couches were a filthy disgrace as pictured. We attempted to clean a small portion of it, and it SHONE.
The kitchen was FAR from satisfactory; dishes were stained, chipped and lacking, tiles were tired, cracked and dirty, the dishwasher was rusted and outdated. Very disgusting.
The bathrooms were mouldy and looked like they needed some serious cleaning. The showerhead in one of our showers broke while we were showering. It was a nuisance to get it replaced by hotel management. All else was functional though.
The beds were uncomfortable due to the age and state of the sheets and mattress. One of the blankets provided smelt of urine and we noticed some pubic hair was present on the fabric. This implies that the Peninsula Resort has a poor cleaning regime.
We paid for a FOUR-STAR hotel and experience, what we got as far less than that. Many things were broken, ripped and scuffed, including mirrors, deckchairs, dining chairs, walls, etc. The pictures on the website when we were booking were very deceiving. We did NOT get what the pictures showed on the website.

For future travellers, stay as far away as possible from the Peninsula so-called-*Resort*.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from housekeeping and our Housekeeping Supervisor will certainly address this with her staff.

I am also disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the room that you were allocated. However, this was not brought to our attention until the day before departure. The apartments are currently scheduled for a refurbishment; this will enhance the overall presentation of the rooms and also the guest experience.

Once again my sincere apologies for your less than ideal stay with us.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    184
    60
    41
    32
See reviews for
358
98
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I was a bit hesitant after reading some reviews on the peninsula - but after checking in went straight to our apartment on the 32nd floor - opened the door , down the hallway to a fantastic 2 bedroom apartment with the most magnificent ocean view I have eva seen - 180 degree view of the ocean !! The apartment had been renovated and was fantastic with 2 large bedrooms and 2 large bathrooms . It was also very clean - we had a wonderful stay !!! Cant beat having a champers or two sitting on the balcony - was also a stone throw away from the mall and obviously right on the beach !! We also got a very good special that was shown on getaway so couldnt complain about the cost either !!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiDi41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 28 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy that we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed here last week in 12C and 12D.
These apartments are spacious and have good views. 12C is the worst of the two for cleanliness but has the best sea view.
The walls are dirty. The carpets are absolutely disgusting; there was blood on the wardrobe of bedroom 2 and some on the carpet. The curtains have hooks missing therefore look daggy.
The tiled area is fine, that is the kitchen and living area. The bathrooms are looking old and the taps drip although there are water saving stickers on the mirrors. The furniture in 12c was mismatched and looked like it was collected from various garage sales. There was a TV unit in the corner of the lounge room with no TV on it. There was a 3 level glass stand with only a Foxtel unit on it. There was a flat screen TV mounted on the wall for decoration just above an older working unit. The presentation was poor.
12D was a nicely recently decorated apartment, although it did have its shortcomings, it was presented well, but cleaned just as bad as 12C. My niece stood on a beer bottle cap on the first morning out of bed. I took it to reception to complain, all they said was ‘what room ......thank you”.!
The location is good and close to everything in Surfers Paradise. However....accommodation is usually one of the most expensive parts of your holiday and you pay for a good clean functional room and sometimes you pay for the view as well. The last thing you want is to arrive at a room that looks like it has just been rented by a football team. Your room is part of your holiday experience, so it needs to be good.
On my experience though, I would not stay here for the prices they charge.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 9 June 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. It disappoints me to learn that you encountered an instance of indifference in terms of attitude from a member within our team and sincerely apologize for any disappointment you experienced during your stay. The issue you raised has been addressed with the front of house manager and additional training implemented accordingly. I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from housekeeping and our Executive Housekeeper will certainly address this with her staff. I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the room that you were allocated. The apartments are currently scheduled for a refurbishment; this will enhance the overall presentation of the rooms and also the guest experience. Once again, my apologies for your less than ideal stay with us.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

peninsula gold coast was the worst apartment i have ever stayed in. it was very dirty, the glass was all smudged n the couches were dirty and about to break down. the bathroom looked like a haunted room from the 60s. we didnt get aircondition even after requesting it and no welcoming was shown by the staff. although the location was great it was not worth all the money. the Q1, australias tallest building right next to the peninsula is much betta n there is a price difference of only $500 so reeli would u rather pay $2500 for the peninsula with the pooorest of poorest facilities or $3000 for the Q1 for a penthouse overlooking the whole of gold coast with ensuites for every bedroom and a pool table inn the apartment u be the judge, all i can say is never fall for the penisula like i did as it will be a horrible experience

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ayoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We requested a room with sea views and air conditioning. Although there were no guarantees we would get such a room, we were lucky enough to have our request fulfilled (with Foxtel too!). This may have been helped by booking 5 months in advance. We were on level 21 facing the Esplanade and had the best views of Surfers Paradise one could hope for. We were lucky we got a room with A/C because the days were hot and the nights were warm, although on many afternoons there was a lovely sea breeze and there were big sliding doors that opened onto the balcony to let the breeze in. The balcony was sensational, giving an almost 270 degree view, and overlooking the pools and other highrises, as well as a long stretch of beach.
The room was spacious and well equipped. Although the bathrooms were dated, they were clean and functional, with the main one having a washing machine and drier. The kitchen was modern and could easily be used for cooking all meals if necessary, with a dishwasher to help clean up. The lounge/dining area was large and would easily cater for 6 people, with the only downside being the stained carpet, but with the amount of travellers it sees it was understandable. Perhaps a darker colour would be a better choice.
The pools were excellent (also an indoor pool and spa) and catered for everyone, with shallower pools for children and deeper ones for those who could swim. We spent many hours in the pools or lazing on the many banana lounges provided. The grounds surrounding the pools were lush and well maintained and included a playground, bbq area and tennis courts. Just outside the gate and across the road was a patrolled surf beach and it was a short walk to Cavill Ave and lots of dining/shopping. If that was too much trouble, just around the corner were several restaurants, bottle shops and convenience stores for those lazy evenings. Secure underground parking was also very handy, although we walked much of the time anyway.
I read all the reviews for the Peninsula before booking but could not say a bad word about our service or accommodation. It is certainly not the cheapest place to stay so I can see why people might complain about the 1980s bathroom styles or whatever else, but a lot has to do with the people who own the units and how they choose to maintain/renovate them. All the communal areas such as reception, lobby and grounds were in excellent condition. I would say as long as you had A/C and good views (strongly request a high floor with sea views) you can live with the rest. Having a fully self-contained unit can save a lot on dining out and the proximity to everything and unbelievable views certainly outweigh the brown bathroom tiles and stained carpet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeejayTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We had the pleasure of staying here in the June school holidays for 5 nights recently. Upon ringing the hotel and speaking with Margaret, we were given a beautiful apartment which had been renovated beautifully. The position of the hotel is fantastic, ensuring beautiful beach views in front and to the north. The layout and furnishings were excellent . Thankyou to Margaret and the team who have ensured a great holiday. The price was reasonable for the situation and quality.Can hardly wait to return. Jones Family, Townsville.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjones099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

While the room on 33rd floor was spacious, everything about it was either tired, dated, or simply broken. There was no air conditioner, no AUSTAR pay TV as promised, and no internet access available. In fact, the tiny TV was probably new when Noah stepped off the ark.

The carpet colour had changed over time from grey to pink, probably from excessive steam cleaning, and there were many bleach stains evident throughout. Numerous cigarette burns dotted the carpet, chairs and soft furnishings, and one of the stools had no screws holding the seat in place.

Kitchen cabinets were chipped and flaking under the sink - one drawer completely fell apart when opened. The laminated bench tops were chipped and missing in places. The wall oven and grill were probably new 25 years ago, but the enamel grill trays are now wrapped in aluminium foil to hide the grime. We didn't bother using them...

The shower in the ensuite bathroom to the main bedroom simply dribbled - there was no pressure. The shower cubicle tiling and grout in the main bathroom/laundry was mouldy, as was the ceiling, thanks to the lack of adequate ventilation. The lint filter in the tumble dryer was badly frayed.

All of the drawers, robes and closets through out the unit were dated, tired and had broken fittings. Most of them had items of rubbish or broken trim inside, including the main closet in the hallway which was largely full of rags, paint tins and carpet offcuts.

One only had to look up at any light fitting to find that it was full of dead insects. Not a good look, particularly when combined with a truly awful stucco ceiling. Cracked light switches and power points should have been fixed ages ago. Another annoyance was that only one or two windows were able to be opened, and the main glass door to the balcony would not shut properly. This left a gap, through which a draft whistled incessantly, as did the ever-present noise of surf on the beach below.

If one was brave enough to step onto the balcony, the railing wobbled disconcertingly. To be fair, work was on progress to replace railings on all the units, but this one hadn't been done yet, which begs the question of why the unit was actually available for rent at all.

Overall, a very poor effort. Absolutely unacceptable for a place which is advertised as 4 stars, at 4-star pricing. Don't believe the glossy pictures. Save your money and go elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,045 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Peninsula

Property: Breakfree Peninsula
Address: Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakfree Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Surfers Paradise Esplanade, BreakFree Peninsula offers sweeping views from the Gold Coast hinterland to the wide expanse of the Pacific Ocean. Just 100 metres to the beach and 600 meters to the retail and dining hub of Cavill Avenue, the resort offers quality, affordable accommodation ideal for a weekend getaway or family holiday. Accommodation options include One, Two and Three-bedroom Apartments, most with stunning ocean views. If you want to pay a small amount more you can live it up Surfers Paradise style in the Two Bedroom Deluxe Ocean Apartments that have been completely refurbished. All apartments feature their own balcony, ceiling fans, hair dryer, in-room safe, Foxtel, security access and intercom, wireless Internet access (at a charge) and full kitchen and laundry facilities. Onsite there are many facilities to choose from including three swimming pools, children's wading pool and playground, heated spa, sauna, gymnasium, tennis court, BBQ facilities and in-room massage. Located just down the road from Cavill Mall, the shopping and dining hub of Surfers Paradise, and close to all the action of Surfers Paradise. Directly opposite the beach, BreakFree Peninsula offers family friendly facilities and the perfect location for your Surfers Paradise escape. **PLEASE NOTE** Air-conditioning is available in some apartments only. Hence it is on request but subject to availability. For your convenience we cannot accept bookings for same day arrivals outside of reception hours. Please phone during normal business hours prior to arrival to arrange after hours check in. Once a booking has been made we accept NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS to that booking. Party Policy: • Parties are not permitted in apartments • Registered guests only are permitted in apartments after 10pm • Excessive noise will not be tolerated Failure to comply with the above will result in the eviction of the guest/from the property. The property reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Breakfree Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Peninsula Hotel Surfers Paradise
Peninsula Hotel Breakfree
Peninsula Apartments
Surfers Paradise Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing