We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Canberra
Level Contributor
124 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The apartments are dated, the furniture old and cleaning needs to be improved. The buffet breakfast was great and good value.

We had free access to the games room as part of our package. This gave us access to a room where we had to then pay for the games.

The car parking is tight and cramped. For two nights of our stay I had to park on the road.
There was a large stain on the lounge room floor and the bathroom floor water drained into the lounge room.

This could be great accommodation with some updating.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, General Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, certainly like any quality organisation we are engaged in a constant pursuit of improvement and I thank you for your feedback. With regards to any specific issues, I would be delighted to discuss these with you personally.

Regards,
Vincent Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    303
    176
    94
    71
See reviews for
216
348
45
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here on Xmas Eve and our two boys loved it! The pool area is relaxed with waterfall and beach.They loved the spa and sauna and running back to jump into the pool again.
We had a one bedroom studio, which gave us all plenty of space for pressy opening.With a comp buffet breakfast on Xmas day it was the best value stay we have ever had!
I think this will be a firm family fav on the goldie for us!

Room Tip: One bedroom studio - great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empiresweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, General Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to have you with us for Christmas and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Vincent Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed here September 2010 and have planned a trip back Jan 2012.

The hotel is situated on the main road but I was not bothered by any road noise; it's far enough away from the hubub of Surfers not to have the drunken louts passing by and disturbing sleep. There is no parking but we found parking on the road easy and you can pull in to the front of the hotel to unload your car whithout a problem.

The room was a 1 bedroomed suite and we were traveling as a family with 10 year old twins and my husband and I.
The room was a little dated however the furniture was in good condition, a quality fit out which had lasted well. The twins slept on the sofabed in the lounge while my husband and I shared the masterbedroom which also had a single bed as well as the double.

The kitchen area was clean and even had a dishwasher! no toaster, however one could be requested but we were cautioned about setting off the smoke detectors and the resulting fine so we decided not to bother as we had bought a package which included breakfast for the family.
Lets talk about the restaurant; top notch service and the breakfast was amazingly good value and high quality. The meals at lunch time and evening were also very well done however the menu was a little limited in choice BUT there was a kids range which unlike the usual rubbish served for kids was really yummy and healthy. Room service menu was strangely more expansive than the eat in menu. While the Gold Coast restaurants are a 15-20 minute stroll away we often ate in the hotel instead.

The pool was delightful, the spa awesome and the sauna too great for words. Kids were allowed in all amenities as long as supervised by an adult. The gym was modern and functional and next door the the kids play arcade area which had enough stuff for kids to waste half an hour or so (providing they had enough change).
There were pool tables outside but due to the weather being very wet we didn't get to use them.
There are washing machines and dryers on several floors which are coin operated and were great value for those needing clean clothes as we did.
Friendly staff who were very helpful (I had a key issue with my key not opening the gym but they patiently sorted it out for me) and there is a small assortment of food items toiletries etc can be purchased from reception.
All in all I highly recommend this property for anyone who isnt too fussy about not having the most up to date modern furnishings.
To get a place which is spacious and includes a fantastic breakfast meal for well under $200 has made the Australis a new favourite destination. We have even paid for my parents in law to stay for 3 days as a wedding anniversary gift.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mannyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, General Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service along with great value for money and I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Myself and the team are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Vince Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maiing Valley, NSW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We have stayed here of 3 occasions and loved it every time. The rooms are comfortable and the service friendly and feel right at home. The bed are comfy and clean. The location is excellent and views beautiful. We will be staying here again without dubt.

Room Tip: We have been on the top floor and bottom floor and in between all rooms are great and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaMayWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, General Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our lovely hotel, myself and the team are truly thrilled that you continue to enjoy the experience each time you stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Vincent Wilson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

While many new holiday properties are now available in Surfers/Main Beach/Broadbeach - like the Hilton at Surfers, several Mantra properties and a couple of new Meriton properties - the approx 15 year old Australis Sovereign remains great value in Surfers and feels newer than it is.

PROS: Exceptionally beautiful pool, with adjacent poolside restaurant and bar. Extremely keen pricing (Approx $130 for 1 bdrm and a special $99 rate for solo travellers). Panel TVs with at least 15 Austar cable channels, microwaves and fridges and air con. Full buffet breakfast included in most rates. Cheap internet terminals in lobby and food/toiletries/liquor available for sale in lobby as a guest convenience. Room service prices reasonable.

CONS: Carpets showing age in some suites. At least four or five blocks north of central Surfers action (a plus in my opinion), two blocks back from beach and no beach views.Not many restaurants in the immediate vicinity (but the Marriott is next door), but the dinner menu at the hotel itself is good. Recommend the grilled barramundi.
.

Room Tip: The $99 solo traveller rate is exceptional value for a 1 bdrm apartment of this calibre, incl full b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, General Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about and share your experience of Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the great value for money which we pride ourselves on and also enjoyed many aspects of the hotel. I look forward to personally welcoming you back on your next stay.

Warm Regards,
Vincent Wilson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

An older hotel by Surfers standards (more than 10 years old) but very comfortable and reasonably priced. It is also low rise at around 10 stories high rather than the 80 or 90 that is more common in the area. It is next to the Gold Coast Highway which can be a bit noisy but not overly so. The rooms are comfortable and well laid out with a air conditioning, fridge and a nice balcony. The rooms do not have a safe but there are lockers available from reception that were free when we visited. There is a small shop where you can buy essentials but this is on the pricy side. The restaurant was adequate without being exciting. The promenade is 5 minutes walk in one direction and the canal 5 minutes in the other. The beach is fantastic and the Cavil Centre, shops and restaurants are about 15 minutes walk away. Our only gripe was that they didn't make up our room.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollyjambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, General Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback on Australis Sovereign Hotel and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to the servicing of your room, we do offer non-serviced rates for our best value packages in order to keep our prices as low as possible for our guests, fully serviced rates are also available. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Vincent Wilson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Nice spacious i bedroom apartment with roomy balcony. Room service and restaurant is delicious and so are the cocktails. Pool area nice even though i didnt use it. there were a couple of cockies in our room and the halls smelt like cigarette smoke but other than that, lovely.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandaqld81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, General Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed the excellent value for money we strive to provide. I was sorry to hear that the hallway had a smell, we are a 100% non-smoking hotel and we certainly enforce those rules. I look forward to welcoming you back personally on your next stay.

Warm Regards,
Vincent Wilson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,991 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Property: Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing