We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Nearby Hotels
QT Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra on View Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Q1 Resort and Spa(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Legends Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (905)
Filter reviews
906 results
Traveller rating
214
320
192
103
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
320
192
103
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet servicethe gold coastseparate bedroomgames roomcooking facilitieswould stay againspacious roomnorth towerper nightreception staffbuffet breakfastgreat poolmain beachspa bathtram stopcavill avenuesurfers
Filter
Updating list...
684 - 689 of 906 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

A nice clean hotel a short walk from the main shopping area.
Big rooms and views on higher floors.
Great service from staff, very friendly and helpful.
A 5 minute walk from the gold coasts beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of Australis Sovereign Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay!

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Booked a 2 bed apartment level 2 and a 1 bed apartment also level 2, both lovely and clean with balconies, although there are no cooking facilities in the apartment the Hotel is located so close to the city reasonably priced meals are just a walk away, you can order room service from the restaurant at the hotel as well as eat in, we had our first dinner there, for 7 adults and one child the cost was about $200, not bad really. The staff were very kind and helpful. Would have no hesitation in going back again or recommending it to other. Thanks to all

Room Tip: The 2 bed apartment had a queen in one room, two singles in another and a bed settee in the lounge. The one bed had a queen and the bed settee.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toddys91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great family holiday!

We look forward to welcoming back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We experienced the hotel over a pleasant stay on a Friday/Saturday night.

The first thing that you notice when checking in at the hotel is that the staff seem to be very friendly and accommodating. This experience was similar at check out and mid way through the stay when we requested a taxi. We had checked in early on the Friday and our room understandably was not ready. We were promised by the check-in staff that we would get a call when our room was ready. So off we went into Surfers to find a coffee shop and to look around. We decided at 1pm (check-in was at 2pm) to return to the hotel and check the room availability (even though we had not received a call). Upon arrival, Reception said that they had just earlier checked if the room was available (and it wasn't) but would check agin now. Yes, the room had just become available. This seemed to us as if the promise of being called when the room was ready was a false promise.

The room was extremely spacious. It consisted of three rooms; large lounge room/kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. Previous reviews mentioned iron scorch marks on the carpet. To my amazement they were there on the carpet in the bedroom in our room. How many rooms have this scorching on the carpet!!!!

The hotel was advertised to us as a 4.5 star hotel. In its day I would agree with that but today I would say it is a 3.5 star. Housekeeping does a good job but it is the minimum that is required of them. Maintenance is not up to scratch. Examples of this:
- multiple scorch marks on the carpet (refer picture)
- paint peeling off the ceiling fan (refer picture)
- of the 3 lights in the bathroom (one on ceiling and two on the wall), one of the wall lights did not work (blown bulb?)
- cracked toilet bowl
- cracked vanity in bathroom
- finger marks on inside bedroom door
- iron needed retiring and did not do a good job

Not wishing to detract from the hotel itself, it was very comfortable. It is located a good 15 minute walk to Cavill Avenue (the heart of Surfers) and on a hot Summers day this could feel a lot longer. The bed was reasonably comfortable. Pickup for buses to and from the airport was around the corner and very convenient. Main buses to tourist destinations were on the main street (a bus to Pacific Fair shopping centre was $4.50 single per adult or by taxi $20), a two minute walk, again very convenient. We did not dine at the hotel so can't comment. The choices available to you for dining at Surfers are endless so we didn't feel the need to dine in at the hotel. We went to the RSL club on Beach Road for breakfast and for $12 had a good cooked Australian breakfast (bacon, eggs, sausage, potato gems, fried tomatoe), with buffet toast, juice, cereal, buns, coffee/tea.

There were snacks (chips, biscuits, noodles, ice cream) and soft drinks available for purchase at reception.

The hotel sent out via email a customer satisfaction survey the next day. Always a good sign of management that want to listen to the consumer!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FPA208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service along with great value for money and we apologise that you feel that we did not meet some of those aims.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself, at the hotel should you wish to personally discuss your concerns further.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

we stayed in 2 rooms which were kind of joined (hard to explain) which was ideal!!
main master room was huge with a great living area, huge bathroom and kitchen and big bedroom, twin room was smaller but still great with a nice big bathroom.
brilliant location, walking distance to the centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Myself and the team are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews