We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here for a week in february and we found it to be a nice little base for what we needed. The beds were so comfy and we loved our little balcony (partial sea view, obscured by a few other hotel block buildings.) The pool and jacuzzi were small, but adequate for the size of the hotel, they were never too crowded when we went in (tip, go in later in the evening if you prefer it when it's quiet, and if you have kids, the morning and afternoon is a good time to take them, as thats when there will be other kids around for them to make friends with). We also made use of the sauna and although we didn't use the gym, it had most of the machines you would find in a regular gym. We didn't eat any meals there, but the restaurant looked like it had a nice atmosphere to it.
The staff were helpful and were able to give us advice on transport, as we hadn't hired a car. It was also in good walking distance to most of the facilities in Surfer's itself, and there was a bus stop right outside it that took you to all the theme parks and beyond.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortbutsweet91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel's location to be convenient.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    299
    174
    94
    68
See reviews for
214
340
45
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My family of 6 with three adults and three children age 8, 6 & 5 stayed for a week in a two bedroom apartment as part of holiday club membership. Location is close to the beach and a decent 10-15 minute walk to main city centre. It was also next to Paradise Resort which has an ice skating rink for kids but we didn't get to try it but worth a look. The front desk service was friendly and helpful. The valet parking was a great luxury and complimentary for our room, although this wasn't the case for all guests. The apartment was reasonably comfortable with wooden floors and aircon in the main area, although unbearably hot in the bedrooms with use of the wall fans. The beds were okay although my husband complained of the bed was too soft and uncomfortable. My children enjoyed the pool and the spa and sauna was nice enough. The gym was a decent size with basic equipment, but no aircon. We had breakfast in the restaurant which was average and best to go to cavill ave for something more appetising. My main gripe was no oven which was removed from the apartments last year due to smoke alarms. As we didn't pay for any cleaning during our stay, we were surprised there was no broom, dustpan or vacuum to clean the room and had to call the service desk to borrow a vacuum everyday as you can appreciate with kids how messy it can get. All in all, a pleasant stay but not great enough to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JETTWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you did in enjoy some aspects of your stay including our friendly staff.

We apologise that you were under the impression that the room would have an oven and cleaning equipment. As our rooms are not self contained we have never had these facilities. Should you wish to book again, we would be very happy to arrange for your room to be serviced throughout your stay.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I was at Australis Sovereign for business and found it to be very convenient for my business needs. Also, the relaxed atmosphere of the bar area and the pool was a great way to unwind after a hard day on the road.
The room had a kitchenette and there was a door that separated the bedroom and the living area. The spa bath was a great finishing touch to the room and totally relaxing.
The location was great but it may be a bit of a walk to the main restaurants if you don't have your own transportation. Bt all is still within walking distance.

Room Tip: Try and get the spa room. Very nice indeed and really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller0968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your valuable review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are delighted to hear that your requirements during your stay for business were meet and that you found your Spa Suite to be spacious and relaxing.

We look forward to seeing you at Australis Sovereign Hotel again.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My partner and I had an amazing stay at australis, it was a pleasure to actually have good service for once. The room was so nice with a great view. Everything was in walking distance from the hotel. Would recommend australis to every

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed for a 2 night weekend. The entrance is very nice and pool/spa area is also beautiful. No view of the beach but very easy walking distance to the beach and heart of surfers. Facilities were 4.5 star and restaurant buffet breakfast was nice. Room was 1 bedroom on 5th floor. Room was very big however smelled musty due to age of carpet. Room was very clean. The carpet in our room had burn marks everywhere from the iron. Lounge wasn't comfortable due to age and foam losing firmness. If carpet and lounge were replaced it would be worth the self 4.5 rating. Weekend was on a deal so didn't pay full price and I'm glad we did that. Would recommend but would find more modern accommodation for better price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhiannonBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your valuable feedback of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are very happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Further, we are pleased to advise that we are in the process of having the carpet and some furniture replaced to lift the standard of our rooms.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you again at the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Worst hotel stay in my life in Australia.
Room smells, Cockroaches in the bedroom, in the bed and bathroom. Cockroach eggs along the skirting board, long pieces of hair from previous gests on the bathroom floor. Sliding door broken with thick dust all over it. Fridge door inside missing the bottle holding bars etc. Balcony full of rubbish. After complaining at reception, they sent up a bottle of surface spray for me to spray at the cockroaches !!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and great value for money and we apologise that you felt we did not deliver on those aims.

I will be personally investigating the issues you have raised.

Please not do hesitate to contact myself at the hotel should you wish to discuss this matter further.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2013

my room stank the minute I walked in. being there on a work event I didnt want to complain. The carpet was soaked due to a leaking aircon drain, there were burn marks on the carpet and when I went to use the bathroom I could literally scrape the mould from the tiles and door. I also noticed it was dripping and a used bandaid was on the floor. I asked for this to be rectified and the bandaid was removed however the mould remained, the floor tiles were dirty and we had cockroaches in the living area in the adjoining apartment where my colleague was staying around the litchen area, as this was directly above the restuarant, it was a bit disconcerting! The BBQ area can only be booked for an hour and it is too small and dark to enjoy, there is plenty space why not add more?
On the website it advertises a free bottle of wine on arrival, however this was not the case. Pick up your act guys you really are deserving of one star at this point in time and the excuse you are refurbishing rooms does not wash, if so we would have seen some evidence across the suites booked. All in all I would say book in to the local backpackers it is a better choice.

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and great value for money and we apologise that you felt we did not deliver on those aims.

We take on-board all feedback, both positive and negative and we will be fully investigating the issues you raised.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself, should you wish to discuss personally.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
271 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,369 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,573 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Property: Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing