We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed and friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
“Well placed and friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at the Australis Sovereign for a week as part of The Holiday Club and then for another 2 days in the hotel.From the moment I booked in (early) the staff were friendly and happy to be of service.The room,which was a 2 bedroom suite was comfortable and clean.Room service was quick and easy and the valet parking (included as part of the Holiday Club) just a phone call away.My son and myself were both upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite for our 2 day stay.The rooms were big and clean.but are showing their age.Overall more than happy and will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. I will be sure to pass on the positive comments to my team.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    299
    174
    94
    68
See reviews for
215
340
45
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Dauphin, Madagascar
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

When I booked this hotel for around $90 a night as a wotif.com mystery deal, I expected to be put into one of those run down old apartment blocks that are being demolished one by one in Surfers Paradise. Instead I found a spotlessly clean nice bright reception, a friendly welcome, nice public areas with a restaurant, and heaps of vending machines and even a mini grocery store with all of the things that one might need. The room again was a surprise. Not the tiny hotel room I expected, but a one bedroom apartment with two balconies, facing the ocean. It was great. All of the things that I needed were there: fridge, microwave, adequate crockery and cutlery, iron & ironing board, milk in the fridge and tea & bickies. Really it was a very good room for the price and I could complain about nothing, except, the grout in the shower could do with refreshing. Apart from that, it was a great stay and the staff were all perfect. I ordered room service, and they offered me the option of paying for it to be delivered to the room or going down to collect it... I chose to pop down in the lift because I wanted to buy some things from the little store, and I was offered a properly hot meal on a tray with everything I needed. It was cheap, the salad was really good (for anywhere) and it might have been the best room service meal I have had.

Room Tip: I was on the 8th floor in 805, a corner room with a balcony facing east and another off the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadamanga_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of Australis Sovereign Hotel.

At Australis Sovereign Hotel we pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service, and great value for money. We are very happy that you have found this to be your experience of the hotel.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed at the Australis Sovereign while attending a conference held next door at the Marriott; my three night stay was uneventful. An older hotel, my room was large with a separated living/bedroom area and large balcony. Friendly staff even going so far as to procure an apple for my collegue and a good location make this hotel is very suited to a family holiday or business trip. A buffet breakfast is available downstairs which was of fair quality.

A good, clean basic hotel with large rooms doesn't have the ambience of the nearby Marriott but nor does it have the price tag.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Australis Sovereign Hotel. With you valuable feedback we are able to improve the hotel.

At Australis Sovereign Hotel we pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service, and great value for money and we are delighted to hear that you found your stay to be clean and comfortable.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

After reading some previous reviews I was slightly apprehensive about our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a one bedroom unit with fold out sofa sleeper in the lounge. We were in the North wing and faced west, which was away from the street noise and sheltered from the strong easterly wind. There are a lot of roadworks on Ferny Avenue near the complex. We dined one night at the hotel restaurant and the food was reasonably priced and staff very friendly. We stayed for three nights and had a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: North wing facing west is away from the street noise of Ferny Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sh0na55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are so glad you had positive experience at the hotel. Fortunately, the road works on Ferny Avenue are nearly complete and upon their completion will provide the infrastructure for the light rail service.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here for a week in february and we found it to be a nice little base for what we needed. The beds were so comfy and we loved our little balcony (partial sea view, obscured by a few other hotel block buildings.) The pool and jacuzzi were small, but adequate for the size of the hotel, they were never too crowded when we went in (tip, go in later in the evening if you prefer it when it's quiet, and if you have kids, the morning and afternoon is a good time to take them, as thats when there will be other kids around for them to make friends with). We also made use of the sauna and although we didn't use the gym, it had most of the machines you would find in a regular gym. We didn't eat any meals there, but the restaurant looked like it had a nice atmosphere to it.
The staff were helpful and were able to give us advice on transport, as we hadn't hired a car. It was also in good walking distance to most of the facilities in Surfer's itself, and there was a bus stop right outside it that took you to all the theme parks and beyond.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortbutsweet91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel's location to be convenient.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My family of 6 with three adults and three children age 8, 6 & 5 stayed for a week in a two bedroom apartment as part of holiday club membership. Location is close to the beach and a decent 10-15 minute walk to main city centre. It was also next to Paradise Resort which has an ice skating rink for kids but we didn't get to try it but worth a look. The front desk service was friendly and helpful. The valet parking was a great luxury and complimentary for our room, although this wasn't the case for all guests. The apartment was reasonably comfortable with wooden floors and aircon in the main area, although unbearably hot in the bedrooms with use of the wall fans. The beds were okay although my husband complained of the bed was too soft and uncomfortable. My children enjoyed the pool and the spa and sauna was nice enough. The gym was a decent size with basic equipment, but no aircon. We had breakfast in the restaurant which was average and best to go to cavill ave for something more appetising. My main gripe was no oven which was removed from the apartments last year due to smoke alarms. As we didn't pay for any cleaning during our stay, we were surprised there was no broom, dustpan or vacuum to clean the room and had to call the service desk to borrow a vacuum everyday as you can appreciate with kids how messy it can get. All in all, a pleasant stay but not great enough to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JETTWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you did in enjoy some aspects of your stay including our friendly staff.

We apologise that you were under the impression that the room would have an oven and cleaning equipment. As our rooms are not self contained we have never had these facilities. Should you wish to book again, we would be very happy to arrange for your room to be serviced throughout your stay.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I was at Australis Sovereign for business and found it to be very convenient for my business needs. Also, the relaxed atmosphere of the bar area and the pool was a great way to unwind after a hard day on the road.
The room had a kitchenette and there was a door that separated the bedroom and the living area. The spa bath was a great finishing touch to the room and totally relaxing.
The location was great but it may be a bit of a walk to the main restaurants if you don't have your own transportation. Bt all is still within walking distance.

Room Tip: Try and get the spa room. Very nice indeed and really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller0968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your valuable review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are delighted to hear that your requirements during your stay for business were meet and that you found your Spa Suite to be spacious and relaxing.

We look forward to seeing you at Australis Sovereign Hotel again.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
273 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,573 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Property: Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing