We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Ticket !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane
Level Contributor
170 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Just the Ticket !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We now always stay here at the Sovereign, because for the price, there is little to compete with it anywhere around Surfers Paradise.

For the same price as a small hotel room, here we get a one bed-roomed suite, which comprises, a Queen size bed bedroom with a huge en-suite bathroom, a massive lounge room with 3 piece lounge furniture, a dining table for 4, and a studio style kitchen area. Utterly amazing!!

The breakfast buffet is superb and the pool area is great.

Location is great, nicely on the edge of the lively streets, so nice and quiet with the 10 minute walking time being no problem, to join in activities in the lively, noisy areas.

Parking is in the basement, so no worries there.

It does have an atmosphere of being a bit "back-packery", it not being as sophisticated as the larger, more salubrious hotel chains, but it ticks all the boxes and some!

Overall .... Our go-to place to stay on the Goldie, offering astounding value and amazingly spacious accommodation.

Room Tip: Suites are great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you fpr your positive review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

King regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    295
    172
    92
    68
See reviews for
208
339
45
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Perfect location especially if your traveling by bus to theme parks as the bus departs right around the corner. 5 minute walk to the beach, 10 minute walk to Cavill Ave along the esplanade. Has an awesome pool area and a nice spa. BBQ area for all the fun and cooking. Only downside if you staying longer than 2 days a self contained accommodation is more suitable as there is no plates or cutlery. Just the basic tea and coffee in room. Internet was available to use in lobby or a plan to purchase.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay, and I am delighted that you enjoyed being close to everything. Once again thank you for you kind comments.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We spent a couple of nights here last week on our way down to Sydney from Brisbane. Easy to access and a short walk from the beach area. There were three of us and the suite was perfectly suitable for our needs

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Val509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Long day - flew in and arrived at this hotel at 9:30pm - 3 adults, two tired little kids.
Get to room and find the room had not been serviced - two of the beds had been slept in - dirty towels on bathroom floor.
It took the third family member's visit and threat of us all sleeping in the lobby to move the male receptionist past "it has been cleaned - it is ticked off here on the computer" and "its not my problem talk to the manager in the morning" to get another room - cleaned, but this time two beds short - more trips to the lobby and we eventually got one trundle bed delivered at midnight - but no sheets - another trip to the lobby and sheets get delivered at 12:30am - we gave up and two shared a bed.
The next day we found the staff so unapproachable we just doubled up again that night.
Our travel agent at Flight Centre is getting advice on our experience here.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamadicHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The rooms are nice but not good value for money. The service was ok. Valet parking is unnecessary and inconvenient/annoying. This was also told to us to be complimentary on arrival but was not. It's $15 per night, and there is no other parking option at or near the hotel. Not a good location either. It's a fair walk to restaurants/beach/shopping. You could easily drive (2 mins max) but then you have to find parking which is very difficult at surfers paradise. Overall it's an ok hotel with average amenities and customer service. Would be a good option if you got cheap vouchers.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJGoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

At Australis Sovereign Hotel we pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service, and great value for money and we are disappointed that you did not feel this was the case.

Further, we find that the majority of guests enjoy the convenience of our valet service and we are disappointed you did not find it to be beneficial service to you.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback. We value all feedback as a way of controlling our service standards.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Great location for conference at the Marriott and easy stroll to the beach. Room is huge, very comfortable bed. Booked in for 3 days, on night 1 asked reception to fix tv still not fixed on check out I was told that the cord had been pulled out of wall? I love to get home from a conference and wind down with the telly. Very poor service.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CeeJay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Initially booked this reservation through secret hotels. Was a little skeptical after reading reviews. But that's was the chance I took. Very VERY spacious, clean well maintained rooms, comfortable beds and excellent service from the check in staff. Prompt valet parking. Staff happy to organise taxis to cavil ave and give advise on where to go. Great view from the balcony. Will definately return again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Teniele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear guest,

We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay here at Australis Sovereign Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Property: Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing