We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights at the end of december 2013 what a wonderful holiday my husband and I had the staff were very friendly and helpful as was the valet parking and service .We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite very spacious rooms with awesome views of the beach . The pool was nice to swim in after a long days sight seeing and the spa was relaxing. We had the buffet breakfast every morning which was delicious we would definitely recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoani and Erena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so happy you had such a great holiday here at Sovereign! We look forward to you having your holiday here again in the future!

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
There are newer reviews for Alpha Sovereign Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for the price! Nice big and clean rooms with spacious balconies, lovely reception and cleaning staff, great breakfast, great pool, spa and sauna facilities!! Good location. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KRussell86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We eventually arrived at the Australis Sovereign Hotel a lot later than planned due to incorrect information supplied by one of their staff regarding public transfer from Brisbane, and it went dramatically downhill from there. Upon checking into our room, which was nice, I discovered the air conditioning was not working. As we have two children, one 19 months the other 5 yo, I was not prepared to put their health at risk given that it was the middle summer and very high humidity. First off I was told it was working, when I again pointed out it was not , they said they would try to find another fan as they were fully booked. I then had to let them in on the fact that I am an air-conditioning mechanic, and also a maintenance supervisor for a very large hospital and fobbing me off was not about to work, especially the "fully booked" line, no business runs without a contingency lest they invite commercial suicide. We were then moved to another room with working air-con, a broken door, and rather fetching Iron burns in the carpet were some other cretin had not bothered to look in a cupboard for the ironing board. To re-postion the port-a-cot in the new room I moved one of the beds to find what one can only hope was apple juice in a water bottle, amongst a forest of fluff. After another heart to heart with the staff the next day we were moved to a brilliant room with an awesome view, though we had our overall experience ruined by the unnecessary hassle at the start. Overall, the rooms need updating and proper repair work, the staff were pleasant ( the on-duty manager Jason did his best for us- cheers), the restaurant food was average save the breakfast which was very good, and the facilities were nice. The staff are NOT to fault at this hotel, the structure behind it is errant. For schoolies it would be no problem, definitely not for families. Did not even have the wit to comp one meal for the hassle and the fact that I had correctly diagnosed the ac unit-upon leaving, a service tech walked in with the replacement condenser fan Shame, as it could be so, so much better. Ironic that the room we spent the most time in had an air conditioning unit that would not switch off, by then we were beyond caring. Avoid until it sorts it sh1t out.

Room Tip: If you must stay, insist on the more modern North Tower.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveoftheDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the guest’s survey in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

would never stay here again,from the start of booking through silver needle till the checkout
was stuffed around,and rung by the hotel a month after we booked it,that there was a mistake with computer system and they didn't have a room for us. after us booking 2 months in advance and booking flights, we then rang the manager peter sweeney who also told us that there was no room for us, but a couple of days later had a 2 brm suite (what we originally booked) available the dates we requested. and offered us a breakfast for 4 for the hassle. woo hoo! how does a room all of sudden become available? it was the worst experience we have had booking a hotel, then on checkout they said they hadn't charged my credit card and it should have been done at checkin by them, well y wasn't it. very unprofessional. I still haven't pd as not home to check bank etc. unhappy customers. ps.the pool was the only nice thing about this hotel
the cleaners wouldn't no how to clean a room, beds made pjs down bottom of bed under sheets. hair all in bathroom not ours
rooms were spacious, just need a good clean and updated

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Rooms where not cleaned, pathetic excuse for daily cleaned rooms. Beds only half made, didn't clean bathroom or change towels. Didn't clean coffee cups or top up milk/coffee/soap. Cleaner extremely rude when I asked politely for another soap. Will not ever stay here again worst accomidation at surfers I have ever had. Extremely unhappy with room cleanliness and rude customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roxyholidayfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. We will be fully investigating the issues you have raised to ensure that this does not occur again in the future.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here previously and didn't enjoy it at all. The hotel offered me a nights free accommodation incl breakfast if I ever wanted to return. 2 years later I have come back and they honoured their promise. We had a wonderful night there and everything was spot on. I will return there again. Totally changed my mind about the place. Its nice and central, the rooms are big, new carpet laid, and friendly service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josephine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so trilled to hear that you enjoyed a positive experience for your last stay. See you again soon.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We now always stay here at the Sovereign, because for the price, there is little to compete with it anywhere around Surfers Paradise.

For the same price as a small hotel room, here we get a one bed-roomed suite, which comprises, a Queen size bed bedroom with a huge en-suite bathroom, a massive lounge room with 3 piece lounge furniture, a dining table for 4, and a studio style kitchen area. Utterly amazing!!

The breakfast buffet is superb and the pool area is great.

Location is great, nicely on the edge of the lively streets, so nice and quiet with the 10 minute walking time being no problem, to join in activities in the lively, noisy areas.

Parking is in the basement, so no worries there.

It does have an atmosphere of being a bit "back-packery", it not being as sophisticated as the larger, more salubrious hotel chains, but it ticks all the boxes and some!

Overall .... Our go-to place to stay on the Goldie, offering astounding value and amazingly spacious accommodation.

Room Tip: Suites are great value.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you fpr your positive review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

King regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,185 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £68 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing