We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Spacious rooms if you don't mind a walk."”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The good points - The rooms are large and spacious, The staff were extra helpful and it is technically in Surfers Paradise.
The negatives - The distance to Cavill Ave is a hike and would deter older guests and families with small children. The construction noise was 24/7 but within too long the light rail will be finished and make getting around heaps easier.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddy4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Assistant Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We delighted to hear you enjoyed the spacious room and found our staff to be helpful. We are looking forward to the Light Rail Works being completed next month as it is sure to be a convenient service for our guests.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Firstly getting to the location is difficult because of one way roads.
Secondly not near anything it's in no mans land between surfers and main beach, it has an extremely busy road in front of it.
I booked my accom on the net and purchased a 1 bed apartment with sofa bed. Get there then told I need to pay 30 per child so 60 for two of them, to make up sofa bed so my 155 dollar booking was now turning into 215. I said it mentioned up to 4 using existing bedding.
I kicked up a stink and then the receptionist said ok just 30 then.
I just said yes as I was tired.

When we got to the room it was absolutely disgusting for a 4 star rating. The carpet had iron burns everywhere lounge and bed room. The sofa bed was filthy.
I rang up straight away and said this was not acceptable. My two girls were saying mum this is soooooo bad.
In the young receptionist defense she really was good and offered to move me and I said no way. So I got a refund and stayed somewhere else.
I would never ever recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tantan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Assistant Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Blakeysgirls from july 2013 we just left the same room as you stayed in. Carpet still has iron burns all over it in both the lounge and bedroom. Comfortable beds restaurant absolutely shocking over priced and not much 'flavor'

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseIreland63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Assistant Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel, in fact we have now replace 75% off the rooms with new carpet with the remaining rooms due to be completed in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel over Easter, our one bedroom apartment faced north west, we have a couple of complaints, you have to pay $1.00 each for a pool towel (although we had just spent close to $100 in the restaurant for lunch around the pool) then asked for 2 new dry room towels, to be told that they would also be $1.00 each..... We dined in the restaurant on 2 of the evenings, and the food & service was fantastic,our compliments to the czech chef, the food was very good quality... after dinner on the first night, I asked for a cup of ice to take back to our room, to be told I could buy a small bag for $2.00. We were very dissapointed in all the little added extras the hotel tried to charge us for.... little things that one would think would automatically come with the room. We would stay here again... in the hope that management would get rid of all the little extra fees.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cp835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Assistant Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the guest’s survey in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards and we take onboard your comments regarding extra fees.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Firstly let me start by saying we booked on the Thursday night before staying on Easter Saturday so it is possible we booked the last available room on the Gold Coast and so maybe we shouldn't have expected too much.

Well the room was Level 1 in the north "tower" with scenic views of the waste disposal units and loading docks of of the Marriott next door. The air conditioning was loud, think having a small tractor in your room and you have some idea of the noise.

Three of us were using the room - Queen size and two singles - why only two towels? It was no surprise we were coming so why not have the correct number of towels. Linen on the queen size didn't fit which was an unusual problem, having never seen that before.

The plasterboard/drywall at the head of the bed was shattered but given how easily the bed moved around that should not be a surprise.

Bathroom - water damage to vanity, mould in between tiles, broken plasterboard and the shower over spray saturated the toilet roll. Fortunately this was evident before we showered so we knew to move it aside - though the roll was damp.

Understanding that it was Easter and rates go up, I cannot reconcile the $250 we paid for this with the <$200 per night I spend on business travel at superior hotels.

I'm hopeful there are better rooms but this is only a hope

Room Tip: There is plenty of accomodation on the Gold Coast - this one seemed to cater for package tours ex As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Assistant Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the guest’s survey in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards.

We are very pleased that you found our staff to be nice. However, I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed all of your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Booked a twin room and was upgraded to a one bedroom unit with a queen bed. We got a deal online for free valet parking - it was great and no hassal. the car was there waiting when we checked out. The apartment was spacious - a little dark in the kitchen. Bathroom was HUGE. Clean, tidy and very comfortable. it was not the flashiest place I have ever stayed in but it was perfect for our needs. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: He had a north tower it which faced east. Whilst it is right on the highway the glass is pretty nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel.

We are so glad we meet your needs and that you had a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Just had an enjoyable week in this hotel . I found the reception staff very helpful offering advice and booking transfers for us. The room wa spacious, tastfully furnished. We didnt have our room serviced and would have liked more than one towel for the week, although im sure if I'd asked I could have had one.
Only used the restaurant once as had cooking facilities, but found the meal really nice and staff friendly. Rooms very soundproof. Once the door to deck closed, no road noise at all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aucklandsteff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel.

We are happy to read that you found our reception staff very helpful. Please do not hesitate to request additional linen on your next stay.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,693 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,496 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £71 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing