We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GETTING A BIT PRICEY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“GETTING A BIT PRICEY”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel was on our favourites list until the prices were jacked up in recent times. We love the quiet location a short distance from the action, the buffet breakfast is wonderful and the pool area is very appealing. The rooms are very spacious and well kept the beds a bit hard but comfortable and the staff have always been helpful. If the prices hadn't been raised we would still be going there. There are too many other good options in the price range now, so we go elsewhere.

Room Tip: request a room on the west side of the hotel if you like a quiet space or the east if you like to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keiron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We have so happy to hear you enjoy staying here at the hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel direct on 07 5579 3888 to find out about our best rates available.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    303
    176
    94
    71
See reviews for
216
348
45
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our daughter was traveling abroad with People to People and unfortunately left her glasses and back up contacts at home. We contacted the hotel since it was the next stop on their journey to find out what we needed to do to insure that she would receive her package. I can not begin to tell you how nice Craig was in helping us with our concerns. We must have called the hotel 4 times that week to make sure the package not only arrived but that she would receive it when she checked in. He was very sweet and understanding with us being almost 10,000 miles away. He made sure she had everything she needed and was very sweet and patient every time we called. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Shawna,

Thank you for your comments. We are so happy to hear that we were able to assist and that your daughter received her glasses.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

What can i say. On check in internet banking was down so we couldnt pay the bond . The duty manager was no help and when i said we will have to sleep in the car and thanks for nothing she shrugged and walked off. Three hours later we were able to access money from family they let us in the room. When we got there the room stank and the aircon didnt work. The smelled stayed for 2 days before it improved. Today we asked if we can eat in the resturant and pay tomorrow we were told yes. We got him to triple check and he typed into the computer and said its all set up. A couple of hours later he left a voice message and said sorry we were given wrong info and we have to pay tonight. When we rang back duty manager looked into it and told us no one said we could pay tomorrow as its hotel policy you pay at time of eating. So he lied to cover himself.And we have proof of what was said.
We will never stay here again nor recommend this place to anyone. All they did was totally wreck our holiday and dont care that they did.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gyro1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Feedback.

In regards to the bond it is a standard part of your check out in which is required of every guest, this is a policy that we enforce, I am apologetic that you were not satisfied with this.

I am currently discussing these issues with relevant departments; we take all feedback very seriously as we hold a very high standard of customer service here at the Australis Sovereign Hotel, therefore I am unhappy to see you have not enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Andrea Mengersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived to check in. We were at that time unable due to an issue with banking. We asked what we could do and was told it was their problem. No deposit no check in! No assistance was given and no empathy shown. We said thanks for nothing we now have to sleep in the car, the lady just shrugged her shoulders and then turned away. After several phone calls made we received assistance from family. I understand hotel policy but the attitude sucked big time and I'm still incredibly angry!!!! After we managed to check in we were advised of a smaller room, I had to tell them we were upgraded and got 'oh sorry' along with a glare. Getting up to the room, opening the door, the room stank like microwaved sausage rolls. Absolutely disgusting & sickening. Even after we aired the room for a couple of days the smell has dulled. Air conditioner wasn't working, only upside maintenance was very swift in locating the problem, it's getting fixed tomorrow. We are stuck here for the rest of this week (til 04/07) due to further cost involved with airline change. But all we want to do is go home. We had absolute awesome service at the place we stayed prior to here. We will not be staying here again nor recommending it

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladydee1au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I will be discussing all of your comments with all departments and we will be thoroughly investigating your concerns.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously and we are constantly working to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

valet damaged the passenger side of my hire car on the rocks on the side of the driveway then denied they did it they have camera survelience but can not provide evidence that they did not do it.when confronted with issue i was told the valet damage waiver i signed voided any damage valet drivers did to vehicles .choice of parking in valet or risking fine on road.thrifty car hire charged $517.00 for damage they did.iwill never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rebecca0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. It is guest participation such as yours that enormously assists the hotel in controlling service standards to ensure all our guests experience our very high standards.

I was most disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked you to. I have discussed all of your comments with all departments and have thoroughly investigated your concerns. We note that all of our valet drivers are experienced drivers and that no damage was caused to your car whilst in the valet service. We do have CCTV footage of our hotel and a part of our investigation was to review this footage. I do confirm that it is against hotel policy to provide copies of our CCTV footage to guests.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I can assure you all feedback is taken very seriously.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Thank you Australis Sovereign for a very special weekend in May 2014. Having booked the hotel as as an online special we were delighted to be upgraded on arrival to a one bedroom apartment with sweeping views of breathtaking sunsets over the hinterland, from the balcony. The apartment was spacious with mod cons and with a sofa bed included we accommodated an unexpected guest. Then there was the warm, sparkling clean spa and sauna, resort cafe with a delicious menu and friendly, efficient service. With an excellent bus service at the door step, I effortlessly travelled to Harbourtown for discount shopping, Marina Mirage for breakfast and the theme parks with ease. We enjoyed dinner at the nearby Chiang Mai Thai at Mantra Crown Towers and drinks at the Marriott, while enjoying the very reasonably priced accommodation at Australis Sovereign. Great tariffs, helpful service and excellent facilities made for a fantastic weekend, thank you Australis Sovereign.

Room Tip: Rooms on the hinterland side were quiet and our room on level seven came with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazznhanoi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Assistant Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your review of your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are so happy to hear you had a great stay. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The good points - The rooms are large and spacious, The staff were extra helpful and it is technically in Surfers Paradise.
The negatives - The distance to Cavill Ave is a hike and would deter older guests and families with small children. The construction noise was 24/7 but within too long the light rail will be finished and make getting around heaps easier.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Assistant Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We delighted to hear you enjoyed the spacious room and found our staff to be helpful. We are looking forward to the Light Rail Works being completed next month as it is sure to be a convenient service for our guests.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,545 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,992 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Property: Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing