We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from 3 nights staying in a 1 bedroom apartment, which was spacious & well appointed as we were to attending the Pan Pacific games we found it most convenient & very handy to the tram, the staff were great - allowing us to check in early when we arrived dripping wet & showing an interest in what we were doing & very helpful with directions - all our needs were met & I would definately visit again.

Room Tip: Our apartment was ground floor & perfect for us as an older couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Guest,

Lovely to hear that you found Australis Sovereign Hotel to be your home away from home.

We'd be pleased to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Australis Sovereign Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed 7 nights and the whole experience was positive.
The one bedroom apartment was huge - very spacious.
The staff were all friendly and professional.
The location is convenient, just 1km to central Surfers and a block from the beach.

For those that book through Classic Holidays (as we did) if you want more amenities you have to purchase these (ie toilet paper, soap etc).

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeanenekke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear you had such a positive stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. Thank you for comments.

Kind regards,
Australis Sovereign Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is our second time we haved stay here, stayed here with the family a couple of weeks ago for one night, booked two rooms for a group of five as it was cheaper getting two rooms than one to fit us all in. Apartments were clean, beds weren't really that comfortable and we found the temperature in the apartments and hallways was a little to warm, unfortunately the apartment was not as big as the last one we stayed at here oh well it was only one night, the kids had a sofa bed to share this time last time they had their own beds, but a bonus buffet breakfast was included for all and everyone was pleased with the selection on offer, including beverages (coffee, tea and a great selection of juices) and we had lovely views from our balcony looking out at the ocean and a lovely view from our bedroom window of the hinterland and canals.

The Australis Sovereign hotel is only a short walk to the beach, Cavill Avenue is a pleasant stroll and not to far a distance to walk, tram stop and bus stop are very close by.

Overall we had a pleasant stay here and found it good value for the price we paid especially with the bonus buffet breakfast we received, just make sure you are aware that there is a Valet parking fee of $15 Fri and Sat and $10 Sun to Thurs.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and less noise from the street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DarcyGiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding staying at Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the views from your room.

Kind regards,
Australis Sovereign Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The stay was very pleasant. The staff was very helpful (especially Wendy). The only thing I didn't like was that the sauna and spa was outside and we visited in July which was winter. Would of used it more if it had been inside the building.
Was walking distance to everything....Surfers, shops, tram, beach and restruants.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Melton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

So lovely to hear that you had a great stay. Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and highly recommend it for the budget conscious traveler. Firstly to address some of the other reviews - yes the furniture is dated and some rooms have iron marks on the floors. But for $91 per night (wotif mystery deal) WHO CARES!! The rooms I have stayed in have always been exceptionally clean and well presented. I have always had a room with separate bedroom, kitchen facilities (sometimes full, sometimes just a microwave), crockery and cutlery etc. AND a balcony!! One of my favourite things about Australis is the water pressure and temperature in the shower is always fantastic!
Also the 4 star is self rated - it is probably more like 3/3.5. Check in and out has always been friendly and efficient. If you are paying $100 or less a night and expecting the Hilton then don't stay here otherwise I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: corner rooms are quieter - some rooms are dual doorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Assistant Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoy staying at the Australis Sovereign Hotel. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I really enjoyed the stay at this hotel. When we got there (I was with my aunty) we were greeted by friendly staff who gave us our keys, and even recut mine for the arcade after they realised that they hadn't put it in. They put our hire car in valet and took good care of it and got it out straight away when we asked. We arrived around 4:00 and came in with luggage. They didn't help us or even give us a trolley, but that's ok. We got up and the room was clean, although, I must admit the furniture was quite old. We went down, the arcade wasn't that great, but hey, most hotels don't even have an arcade. The pool was good and the service was ok. The TVs have foxtel and channel 10,9 and 'NBN' whatever that is. They have ABC. NO NOISE FROM THE ROAD! Great hotel. Recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the north tower Choose either 11, 1, 2, 12 e.g(612, 101)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very happy that you found Australis Sovereign to be a great hotel.

We hope to see you in the future.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed one night at this establishment arriving late on a Friday leaving Saturday morning. The room we had was a one bedroom suite, very clean and spacious and had a semi self contained kitchen. It was more than adequate for our needs with us being bale to cook toast and make coffee and tea as required. There is also a small fridge in the room . Our room had a very large lounge. There is a restaurant on site and swimming pool. For those without the basic essentials for food and toiletries, these can be obtained from the small shop on the foyer, which to our surprise was very well stocked.
Parking around the hotel can be at a premium and the hotel offers valet parking at accost of $10 week days and $15 on weekends. Parking is however done on a care and no responsibility basis which in mu view is no acceptable. If valet parking is charged for the hotel should have adequate insurance for the vehicles whilst in their care. This aside we were very satisfied with our short stay. The road noise considering we were on the main drag in Surfers Paradise was remarkably low.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room or a back room away from road noise on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beanb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review in relation to your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are glad you very satisfied with your stay.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
529 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#15 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £69 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing