We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spontaneous weekend away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect spontaneous weekend away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We payed $200 for two nights including breakfast for two. We booked only 24 hours before arrival so it was a great price. My partner loved the many sports channels and we had fun in the heated pool, hot spa and sauna. It was great that breakfast was available until 11am on weekends. Breakfast included everything you'd want the only thing that wasn't perfect was the fact that there was no egg or waffle/pancake station. We are fortunate enough to have been to some amazing buffet breakfasts with staff who cook eggs and pancakes and waffles in front of youth order, the hot food could have been a little fresher but when you only pay $100 a night that doesn't pay a load of staff to stand around and cook for you. The coffee was good and a great tea selection, yogurt was natural and surrounded by fruit to add sweetness. We ate so much that we didn't need to snack again until 3pm, staff were attentive at breakfast and throughout the resort.

Pool area was open until 10pm which was great it usually closes around 8pm at places i have stayed in the past. We didn't get room service but it was reasonably priced and had a good amount of choices. We met up with some friends we hadn't seen in a couple of months and had a great weekend. We plan on returning to this hotel.

A side note….. the rooms are in need of a of maintenance they are probably more 3 star quality than 4, the outdoor facilities are clearly where the money is going right now and room renovations will probably take place next. Personally I would rather pay $100 a night for it how it is now than pay more for a perfect room. As for the smell other people have talked about in their reviews we did not notice any smell at all of cleaning products or anything else. we stayed in room 432.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Assistant Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. At Australis Sovereign Hotel we pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service, and great value for money. I have passed on your feedback to the staff involved and it is a great motivator for us all to hear our guests are enjoying their stay.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    295
    172
    92
    68
See reviews for
208
339
45
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

They rooms are very spacious. The WiFi is spotty and is an extra charge. There was construction going on on the pool deck so a constant jack hammer did make for a quite noisy room during the day. All in all a good hotel for the price. In walking distance to the beach and the very pleasant promenade at Surfers paradise. Location is great. Rooms are spacious. Rooms could use some new furniture and a little bit of a facelift. I would stay here again. I'd give it ***1/2 stars

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We very happy to hear that you found our hotel to be a good solid hotel. See you again soon.

Kind regards,
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We got a special deal through our timeshare but I am reviewing this as if i paid full tariff. The room we stayed in was room 402 and it was 1 bedroom with a large living area and small kitchenette with microwave, sink and dishwasher. It also had a sofa bed. The room was in need of a facelift but it was clean. There was a balcony and expansive glass doors which made the room nice and light and airy. The view wasn't the best but that wasn't a problem as were out most of the time. It was only about 100 meters to the new light rail which we used a few times to get down to Broadbeach. It was couple of blocks away from Cahill Avenue which is considered the centre of Surfers. There was a restaurant onsite but we didn't use it. The hotel is very busy so the reception staff earned their money but remained very pleasant and helpful. We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mackasx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel.

We are so glad that you will stay here again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitakere, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from 3 nights staying in a 1 bedroom apartment, which was spacious & well appointed as we were to attending the Pan Pacific games we found it most convenient & very handy to the tram, the staff were great - allowing us to check in early when we arrived dripping wet & showing an interest in what we were doing & very helpful with directions - all our needs were met & I would definately visit again.

Room Tip: Our apartment was ground floor & perfect for us as an older couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Lovely to hear that you found Australis Sovereign Hotel to be your home away from home.

We'd be pleased to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights and the whole experience was positive.
The one bedroom apartment was huge - very spacious.
The staff were all friendly and professional.
The location is convenient, just 1km to central Surfers and a block from the beach.

For those that book through Classic Holidays (as we did) if you want more amenities you have to purchase these (ie toilet paper, soap etc).

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanenekke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear you had such a positive stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. Thank you for comments.

Kind regards,
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is our second time we haved stay here, stayed here with the family a couple of weeks ago for one night, booked two rooms for a group of five as it was cheaper getting two rooms than one to fit us all in. Apartments were clean, beds weren't really that comfortable and we found the temperature in the apartments and hallways was a little to warm, unfortunately the apartment was not as big as the last one we stayed at here oh well it was only one night, the kids had a sofa bed to share this time last time they had their own beds, but a bonus buffet breakfast was included for all and everyone was pleased with the selection on offer, including beverages (coffee, tea and a great selection of juices) and we had lovely views from our balcony looking out at the ocean and a lovely view from our bedroom window of the hinterland and canals.

The Australis Sovereign hotel is only a short walk to the beach, Cavill Avenue is a pleasant stroll and not to far a distance to walk, tram stop and bus stop are very close by.

Overall we had a pleasant stay here and found it good value for the price we paid especially with the bonus buffet breakfast we received, just make sure you are aware that there is a Valet parking fee of $15 Fri and Sat and $10 Sun to Thurs.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and less noise from the street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarcyGiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Front Office Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding staying at Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the views from your room.

Kind regards,
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The stay was very pleasant. The staff was very helpful (especially Wendy). The only thing I didn't like was that the sauna and spa was outside and we visited in July which was winter. Would of used it more if it had been inside the building.
Was walking distance to everything....Surfers, shops, tram, beach and restruants.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

So lovely to hear that you had a great stay. Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Property: Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing