We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't believe all the doom and gloom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“don't believe all the doom and gloom”
Reviewed 13 December 2009

After booking an apartment I read reviews and thought I had made a gross mistake. To my delight, we found the opposite to all the many negative reviews posted. OK we had a one bedroom apartment, next to the spa pool. The apartment was huge. All kitchen facilities (incl a dishwasher) included, a bathroom you could have had a party in and a large lounge/dining room. Staff were friendly and the room very clean.It was very quiet as we were shielded by design from the late-night revellers. Hotel is 4 to 5 blocks from the action in Surfers so, being tired, we had in-room meal service which was very reasonably priced. Good 3 course set menu at restaurant for $28. A bottle shop is only a block away. Car parking is free but tight - don't arrive too late. Hotel is only accessed by back streets, not main street.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank independent50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    303
    176
    94
    71
See reviews for
216
348
45
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

I own Gold Crown Time Share with RCI. I booked 7 nights at this Hotel with my daughter & her husband. I was concerned about the reviews I had read, but there was no other RCI rooms left to offer. Yes this place smells. At first glance we thought the room was very basic but decided it would do. We then found that the TV did not work, The door to the bedroom did not close leaving a large gap in the middle giving no privacy to the couple using the bedroom or the couple using the pull out bed in the living room. We had 1 bath towel for the 7 days and told that there were washing machines in the hall to wash it. Also we had to clean out our bin and walk up the corridor to find the rubbish shoot. We had to pay 5 cents for a new bin liner and if we wanted a new toilet roll it was to be $1. The Resort sheet from RCI sent when the booking was made said that there was exercise equipment on site, but when asking where it was we were informed that we had to go next door to the Marriott Hotel and pay $15 for the day.
I do not pay out good money to be part of RCI and receive this service, I complained while I was at the hotel and they wanted £7 for the call. Please beware.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank withhickups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We expected "gold crown" timeshare accomodation (which is the best you can get and should be the same standard around the world)
- what we received was third class service.
we stayed for a week.

The Hotel:
We arrived and the pool and restaurant were shut off for a private function (wedding) for 3 hours, we felt uncomfortable wondering through the reception as the painters were in taking up the whole space - had to dodge around their scaffolding.

we complained to RCI and were told by reception that we didn't have to pay for the phone call. - we were then told we would - until we argued back.

We were told that there was on ON SITE gym in our paperwork - the gym was actually in another hotel down the road and cost $15 or 20 day for the privilege.

The rooms:
cheap furniture, strange citrus/ smokey smell, beds and towels were not changed the whole stay (we were told the timeshare places "classic rooms" were not meant to be changed.) We had a bedroom door that never shut - a big gap in the middle. dirty balcony,

The sundries:
toilet paper $1
refresh of towels $16
change of linen $30 something
bag for your rubbish 50 cents HOW PATHETIC - and you had to take your own rubbish to the chute.

try another hotel.....

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harperon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coffs harbour
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We booked our one night stay and then looked at the reviews. There were a lot of very negative ones and to be honest i was worried. But it was for only one night and we thought it can't be that bad. I must say we were very pleasantly suprised the staff at check-in were really nice and the room was huge. Yes the furniture was a ltlle dated but for $175 for 2 people breakfast and evening meal we were not complaining. The food also was very good and we had a great stay. Would definately come back and bring the kids so word of advice do not always believe what you read !!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We were disappointed with the poor state of the apartment room. The cheap Beds sag in the middle and the old bedspreads looked and felt unwashed and dirty. Inside door broken, wall paint peeled off in places. Light covers on the ceiling had appearance of 'mould' and one ceiling light was missing half its cover. We had to park on the road as there was insufficient car spaces. One star rating would be too generous and we paid over $250 per night ! No refunds or anything when we complained. If we had seen this site earlier we would have saved money and an unpleasant experience!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank webserve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

I had some pretty horrendous weather when I was on the Gold Coast, so spent quite a bit of time around this hotel, and it met my expectations.
Rooms were spacious but the decor was tired and the cleanliness pretty average. The pool area looked inviting, despite the weather and the spa was very welcome.
There were ads in the lift for meals in the restaurant which couldn't be ordered as room service, which seemed ridiculous, so I gave it a miss and dined at Surfers Paradise restaurants, which are about 4 or 5 blocks away.
Staff were courteous but I doubt would go out of their way for you.
A decent enough place, but it's no stand-out.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripVisorAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Well - I read some of the reviews on here before we went....and wouldn't you believe it, arrived, walked in the room only to see iron burns on the carpet! My heart sank. Other than that the room seemed OK - a bit on the small side for a 4 and a half star joint, and I had to ask reception for chairs for the balcony but, twas OK.

Woke up next morning to the delightful stench of cigarette smoke - yep, sign as you get off the lift says its a non-smoking floor. A word with reception and they claimed all evidence to the contrary it was a smoking floor and we should have specified non-smoking when we booked (when and where that was an option I don't know) I asked why they didn't have ashtrays in the rooms then if it was smoking and she laughed. They did offer to move us but the wife was settled and we had a good view etc - besides surely smokers should be relocated to a smoking floor? Or told to sod off. This might also explain the two false fire alarms we had over our stay.
Bottom line if they sort out the smokers, and get a realistic star rating it's an OK place. Four and a half stars suggests some standards they just don't seem to be interested in maintaining and facilities they don't have (waste bins in rooms, soap trays in showers, unburnt carpets, drawers for clothes etc) so expectations are higher and dashed leaving a much worse impression

In general there are plenty of other options in Surfers, why go here?

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sweatyorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,546 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,992 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Property: Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing