We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed for two nights, our huge one bedroom room was clean and the staff were friendly. Was cheap and comfortable and very close to the shops and clubs. Overall great hotel

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimBugden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, General Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2010

Dear Guest,

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Australis Sovereign Hotel, we pride ourselves on providing great value for money and excellent customer service, and it always puts smiles on our faces to hear we have delivered on those aims.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Australis Sovereign next time you visit the sunny Gold Coast.

Warm Regards,
Vincent Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2010

This hotel wasn't that bad. The room were nice with a balcony. The food was good. There's a arcade and computers for entertainment. The pool was great, but we couldn't find the hot tub. We knew there was one because we could see it from our room. The beach, stores, mini golf and restaurants are in walking distance.

Stayed: July 2010
1  Thank AussieGirl725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, General Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. At Australis Sovereign Hotel we pride ourselves on providing excellent value for money and great customer service. It is wonderful to hear that we delivered on these promises during your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Australis Sovereign on your next Gold Coast stay.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Wilson
General Manager
Australis Sovereign Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel while on the Gold Coast a couple of weeks ago for a function. In terms of location it's pretty good... 3 minute walk to the beach, and 10 minute walk to the center of Surfers Paradise.

On the exterior, the hotel looks fine, and appears modern enough in the lobby. The room itself though was very dated. The room smelt like car diodoriser, while the carpet and bed looked as though they had been installed in the 1970s. The shower was awkward, and the shower curtain was grimey. The bed was very uncomfortable, and the sleep wasn't great.

I had a room on the lower floors, so didn't get a view whatsoever. Somewhat disappointing, as you would like to overlook the water or the hinterland. The room was quite dark, and felt closed in.

The staff were pleasant and helpful, the pool and spa were nice... but unfortunately the "datedness" of this hotel was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shane_aus84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

The first things that hit us is the size of the room..We had booked a family room. I was traveling with my son and this was a huge room. the service is very friendly and the location is absolutely great. we were walking distance from the beach, from bus stops to theme parks. and although i wanted to sample outside restaurants, my child was so tired at the end of each day that we had all our meals in the hotel. That was not disappointing either..and breakfast is absolutely filling and wholesome

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachman2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Stayed at the Australis Sovereign overnight while visiting Dreamworld. This was our third stay at the Australis. Have tried elsewhere on the Coast but keep coming back as rooms a big and the beds are comfy. Also there is no noise from the highway as we have experience at other hotels. The rooms could do with a bit of a make over, but they are big and roomy. Food at the restaurant is good and so is room service. The only negative is that they don’t have enough car parks underneath for all the rooms, so you have to park out on the street.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beerwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Found that this was a great location for attending the Gold Coast Marathon. Room Large with good views. Room was clean. Front Reception Staff were helpfull with requests. Only thing was that there was only one thin blanket in room for the bed when it was winter, however I did not contact reception for an extra one. Easy walk to Surfers Paradise Restaurants and Cafes and Shopping. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 76JUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We have just enjoyed a one night stay on the Gold Coast at the Australis Sovereign Hotel - we booked a one bedroom apartment and it was huge!!!
Perfectly clean and comfortable accommodation with a separate master bedroom, large bathroom and lounge area which was at least twice the size of a standard apartment! Basic kitchette with everything required, and private balcony with nice views. Even though we only had one night here I would definately return and recommend to friends & family if they are visiting the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travel4me23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,479 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,669 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £71 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing