We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good.”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We were really surprised by the quality of these apartments! Living space was large enough for 6, and the rooms and bathrooms were really modern. The kitchen was well equipped at allowed us to cook for meals to save some cash. The view we had of the main beach was amazing through the large windows; the beach was only across a small road so the apartments aren't situated directly on the beach. Reception staff were really nice and accommodating to our needs. The walk to cavil avenue is about 10-15 minutes.

Room Tip: 2301 was a great room with really nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katrina0026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakfreeLongbeach, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Hi Katrina 0026
Thank you for your review, our team here are always looking to provide the best experience possible for our guests and we are pleased that this has been recognised.
We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.
Kind Regards
Mark Powell
General Manager
Breakfree Longbeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    138
    44
    13
    19
See reviews for
169
104
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This place is really value for money, especially if you can get a deal. The location is perfect, easy walking distance to the beach and cavill Mall, but far enough away that its not noisy. It's a little bit run down, but it'll only bother you if youre a bit pedantic, little things like dents in the walls, peeling paint etc, nothing that faults its livability but it really looks as though it could do with an upgrade.

The staff were very welcoming and friendly and let us up early, easily the best thing about this place, that or the perfect views of the beach, bliss!

There were a couple of things that let the place down, the biggest one for me was the fact that the shower ran out of hot water after 10 minutes, not sure if there was a problem with the heating system, but it happened more than once so its definitely something that needs looking into. Possibly connected to the water issue was the fact that the spa pool was luke warm at best, which was a let down. We also found our apartment had a bit of a dust issue, not the best for an asthmatic.

I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mellygator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakfreeLongbeach, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Dear Mellygator

Thank you for the time in providing feedback on your stay. I will pass your comments on to the team, as a "pat on the back" is encouraging.

The spa heater was struggling at your time of stay as one of the three heating elements had blown, this was replaced in June 2011. The hot water running cold after 10 minutes had no bearing on any other outside influence. With all units individually owned and having different interior fitouts we constantly try to provide a suitable level of comfort and decor' in rooms for guests. We have several rooms currently undergoing tidy ups and refurbishments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Mark Powell
General Manager Longbeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We found this place by chance - we hadn't booked anywhere before we arrived and as luck would have it we found ourslevs a little gem! It's only a 5 minute walk to the main strip and we were lucky enough to get a ocean view room. As we were walk-ins we also got a little bit of a discount and the girl on the main desk was exetremely helpful. Other people have commented that this place was a little dirty and old - we didn't think that at all. All rooms were clean and in very good condition - and the bathrooms were immaculate. We got an excellent deal for 3 people in a 2 bed apartment waking up to views of the ocean every morning. To compare that to what we paid for we felt extremely lucky. Being a group in our 30s we were also far enough away from the main strip not to be distrurbed by teenage parties. I would definitely recommend this place and will be staying there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caz_uk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Stayed at Breakfree Longbeach for 12 days, the views were fantastic, the staff very friendly and helpful, I had asked for an airconditioned room on the upper levels and they accommodated me without trouble. The hotel is a little old and could do with a little touch up but I found everything quite suitable. The pool area is great and so is the BBQ. Close to shops and beach and walking distance to Cavill Mall. I would highly recommend Longbeach to everyone. Thanks for a great couple of weeks.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelbourneDeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Stayed at this hotel with a couple of friends for a weekend. This hotel has been around on the Gold Coast for a long time and its pretty clear that it could do with a bit of a renovation. The bathrooms are a little old and drab.

Location: The hotel is located very close to Cavill Avenue - right across the road from the glorious Gold Coast beach. Close to restaurants and taverns.

Rooms: Stayed in a 2 bedroom room - plenty of space, 2 bathrooms - good sized lounge room and dining area. Great size kitchen.

Probably a few things that need to be improved - firstly the bathrooms are very dated, the taps were a little leaky, plus the rooms were in need of a good paint job.

The Breakfree group own a large number of hotels on the Gold Coast but they all seem to have competent staff who are quite attentive and helpful.

The other thing is that the hotel also has a large number of privately owned rooms - which means the occupants are not as 'friendly' as some holiday makers, woke up on Sunday morning to a room blaring music quite loud (and very poor singing!). In the rooms however it is quiet so you barely notice anyone else staying there.

All in all good place to stay for a weekend - whilst the quality isn't that of some 5-Star hotels the rooms are comfortable enough and spacious enough for you to enjoy a nice weekend away with friends or family.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaverickRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

My friends & I stayed at Breakfree Longbeach Resort for 7 days.We arrived at the Resort early & thought we could go & grab a cuppa, but we were told we could go straight up as the room was ready.
We stayed in room 605 on the 6th level, the rooms was very clean & the views were Fantastic. I was very worried at first to stay here because of some of the reviews I read, but I emailed my concern to the Resorts Rev Manager Kylie Slatter & she reassured me that every thing would be fine, & it was, it was perfect , no complaints at all.
We even had coffee,tea, sugar & milk ready n waiting for us to just make & enjoy a cuppa while we waited for our other friend to arrive.
We went into the inside heated pool, so relaxing.
Our holiday was the best from the minute we got off the plane & grabbed our luggage, our driver John from GCDC Premium Service was great.
The Resort fantastic.
We went on the Australian Day tour to: O'Reilly's & Lamington National Park & Mt Tamborine Fantastic tour & great driver Mick but weather was'nt the best , it rained for half of the time but when the sun came out it was beautiful..... The views were the best...
We went to Seaworld to see the dolphins up close......fantastic......
& the shops at Pacific Fair very huge, lots of shops & friendly..............
Great all round so sad to leave......................

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue000SouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

We stayed for a week with family and it was very convenient. Note as with many apartments on the Gold Coast, there are various owners within one building with different ideas on grades of furnishings, and we were perhaps lucky with ours. The unit we had was spacious, elegant and clean. There were balconies and beautiful views. Car parking is underneath but you don't really need a car in this position as long as you're prepared to take a bus occasionally. You can walk across the street to the surf - but please if you're swimming go left or right a couple of hundres metres to either of the flagged areas for safety. We swam in the pools (the indoor one is very warm) and just made sandcastles, paddled, played and walked on the beach. Apart from the nearby restaurants, takeaway etc - on the beach road to the right go to the Northcliffe Surf Club; maybe 300 metres. It has everything you are likely to want in food and drinks, plus a great ocean view from its bistro/bar on the first floor, with windows opening wide in good weather. Going in the opposite direction towards Cavill Ave. there is a fairly open air bistro with a comfy bar inside. Nice meals here too at reasonable prices and in here they are particularly tolerant of young kids. We had to take one of the kids to a Dr and reception was helpful. The clinic was nearby and bulk-bills all children which was good. I can also say there are so many hotels, apartments etc here in Surfers you can just arrive and find a room at this time of year.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venusbathstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,171 reviews
0.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#5 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Longbeach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Longbeach Resort

Property: Breakfree Longbeach Resort
Address: 28 Northcliffe Tce, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Longbeach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, BreakFree Longbeach offers the perfect accommodation solution for an affordable Gold Coast getaway. Just 50 metres from Surfers Paradise Beach and a hop-skip-and-jump away from the bustling hub of Cavill Avenue, the resort offers convenience and comfort in a great location. Ideal for a fun family holiday, the resort offers spacious, one, two and three bedroom apartments. The fully self-contained apartments include kitchen and laundry facilities, cable TV and large balconies to make the most of the stunning views over the Pacific Ocean. The resort offers recreation facilities including an outdoor swimming pool and heated indoor swimming pool, children's wading pool, spa, sauna, tennis court and BBQ facilities. An easy walk will also have you on one of the best known stretches of beach in Australia. When you're not lazing on the beach or enjoying a hit of tennis onsite, the action of Surfers Paradise's main shopping and dining precinct Cavill Avenue is an easy walk away. Alternatively take advantage of our tour booking service and book a trip to one of the Gold Coast's theme parks. Located just 300 metres south of Cavill Avenue, the centre of Surfers Paradise, BreakFree Longbeach is in a great location to enjoy the best of Surfers Paradise. Please be advised that only one car space per unit is permitted. Under no circumstances are you allowed to park any type of recreational vehicle (eg: Jetskis/boats/trailers/caravans) at the Resort. Maintenance Notice: Please note maintenance work is being carried out on the Pool Decking area and Gardens from 6 June until 31 July 2017. The Pool and BBQ Area will be closed throughout this time. BreakFree Longbeach management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause and encourages you to take advantage of our heated Indoor Pool facilities and the beach only 200 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Breakfree Longbeach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Longbeach Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakfree Longbeach Resort Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing