We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value great location but in need of some renos!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value great location but in need of some renos!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A little tired but in the process of renovations! Bed was shocking & a dimply mattress protector did nothing to help! Bath tap dripped continuously so bathroom door was kept closed while sleeping!! We got a great deal on apartment for 3 nights so can't complain too much and location was brilliant - quiet end of surfers but only a few minutes stroll to cavill ave! And apartment was clean and roomy and staff were helpful & friendly!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. we do appreciate you comments and for bringing them to our attention. I'm sorry that you did not report the dripping tap so that we could have had that repaired while you were staying with us.
Kind Regards BreakFree Longbeach Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    133
    42
    13
    19
See reviews for
165
101
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Arriving for a very late check in and a stuff up with the online booking which meant staff had no idea we were arriving, we found them to be very helpful even though we had roused them out of bed. The 2 bed unit was very clean and tidy (7th floor). There were a few small issues, heating did not work in bedroom and kitchen did not have what I would consider a few essentials (chopping board, platters, steak knives or oven trays). The unit was traditionally decorated, somewhat dated but spacious and well laid out. The only other issue was that we visited in the middle of winter and the apartment was very cold. The heating did not work and there was only 1 blanket for the 3 beds. We did request twice for some more blankets but to no avail. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful, the indoor pool, sauna and gym divine on cold wet windy days. All in all, we found it to be good value for money and would happily return again if they corrected the small problems we found during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marynolan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry that you were not given extra blankets and a heater during your stay. We hope to see you when you next visit the Gold Coast. Kind Regards BreakFree Longbeach Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This was not the first time we have stayed at the breakfree. The Front desk staff are always helpful, I can not thank Ben enough for helping us on check in and giving us two wonderful apartments. The apartments were very clean and both had excellent views of the surfers beach. The long beach is situated in a fantastic spot just one or two blocks from the main part of surfers, in the other direction there are lots of restaurants and surf club to dine at! Overall great location, value for money will be going back again! Thanks for the stay :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BekShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to BreakFree longbeach when you next return to the Gold Coast. Kind Regards BreakFree Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Great Location short walk to both the beach and the central shopping area. We were expecting to stay in a modern apartment, however ours was very traditional , on discussing this with reception we were advised that the apartments are owned individually and therefore decorated to the owners taste. Our apartment had the most stunning views which was the main attraction of our room . There was every utensil you could think of for self catering and there were some chairs provided that you could take and use on the beach which was appreciated. Overall the apartment was tired , needed refurbishment to freshen it up. This was also reflected in the general areas of the hotel -in my opinion the hotel needs refurbishment and modernisation .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSClarke10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feed back on your recent stay. The Resort is thirty years old and so is not as modern as the new ones, but overall has been well maintained. We are glad that you liked the location and views. Regards BreakFree Longbeach Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

great location as it is only short walk to beach and main shopping area. However, if you value your money then stay somewhere else. Upon arrival one staff member told us a $100 deposit was required which would be returned on checkout which was no dramas. But on check out another staff member told us it would be returned in 5 days and gave contradictory information about the deposit to first staff member.

Our room had grotty scuffed and stained walls. All the blind mechanisms were broken and when the blinds did come down, they were stained and dirty. The toilet seat was broken in one room and the utensils plastic tray was disgusting, dirty and had what looked like cigarette burns in it. All utensils felt furry. Plaster cracks all through apartment and 40cm of ceiling cornice was hanging down. Reception also had holes in ceiling plaster?????? We had no information book in our room and when I asked for one, was told it would be there shortly. After 40 min. I went downstairs to get it and the staff member obviously forgot but told me it was coming. He rang me ten minutes later to say he doesn't have one but one would come tomorrow. 4 days later it arrived after numerous asking on my behalf. All reception staff were rude, grumpy and unhelpful. Even buying tickets for attractions was a saga for them so just go direct. Cleaner/groundsman was friendly though.

Comes across as a place that has been resting on its past laurels or success for the past 10 years while newer and nicer places have opened. The room was practical but just disgusting with the nicer touches all missing. Even the sliding robe door tracks were just full of grime and mould. Tiles were filthy in bathroom too.

Keep your money as you can get better value elsewhere. It is over priced for what it is and I expected better for what we paid.

However, room was practical and location was good. But I wont be telling others to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
I apologise we didn't meet your expectations. We aim to make everyone's stay at BreakFree Longbeach a comfortable and enjoyable experience. We're committed to providing the best possible accommodation and service so I've taken your review on board to help us improve our day to day operations. In regard to the Security Bond taken on arrival, if it is in cash it is refunded once your room has been inspected on departure or if by credit card the bank automatically release the hold on this within seven working days. Regards Management and Staff BreakFree Longbeach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My best friend and I stayed at Breakfree Longbeach earlier this year, in the Summer season (which actually ended up being the rainiest week of summer!)
While our view was stunning and the location great (quick walk into town), our room was in SERIOUS need of some attention.
In our room one of the blinds was broken, and there was mould on the walls behind. In the bathroom there were dirty fingermarks on the sides of the sink cupboard and on the inside of the overhead cupboard. Also, the dishes in the kitchen cupboard were dirty and the dish brush was full of some strange smelling bright orange stuff (some type of curry maybe?). The outside light on our balcony was smashed and didn't work and our dryer didn't work? However, the worst part of it all is yet to come......there was a pair of WORN lace underwear in the side of the couch (I'm guessing from the previous guest). How did the cleaners not find this?? After this we found there were also chips, lollies, rubbish etc shoved down the side of the couch cushions. We called the reception to remove the underwear, a lady came up and removed it with a laugh and 'that's not what you want to find on holiday', not even a sincere apology? Disappointing, would stay somewhere else in future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AimzHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPMANAGER, Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your time in addressing your concerns on Trip Advisor. We apologise that you had an issue with some of the housekeeping in your apartment and the way in which this was dealt with. I have spoken to Housekeeping about your concerns and the need for them to keep the apartments to our required standard. Kind Regards BreakFree Longbeach Management & Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed here because of location and because it has a Pool and Gym. Back on the 28th March a guest mentioned that the controls were broken on all the Gym equipment. The General Manager of the hotel responded and thanked her for bringing it to his attention and claimed a maintenance contractor regularly repaired all the equipment. Well this is clearly not true and as the controls are missing altogether it is obvious the equipment will never be repaired. The gym is useless. Dont stay here if you want a gym. Otherwise a great property.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdpalmer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPMANAGER, Manager at Breakfree Longbeach Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. All the equipment in the Gym is working except with some of them the computerised componants that record the distance that you have gone of the calaries that you have used are not. We are currently waiting on new walkers and excercyle to arrive. We are pleased that otherwise you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Gold Coast. Kind Regards BreakFree Longbeach Management and Staff,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#5 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Longbeach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Longbeach Resort

Property: Breakfree Longbeach Resort
Address: 28 Northcliffe Tce, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfree Longbeach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, BreakFree Longbeach offers the perfect accommodation solution for an affordable Gold Coast getaway. Just 50 metres from Surfers Paradise Beach and a hop-skip-and-jump away from the bustling hub of Cavill Avenue, the resort offers convenience and comfort in a great location. Ideal for a fun family holiday, the resort offers spacious, one, two and three bedroom apartments. The fully self-contained apartments include kitchen and laundry facilities, cable TV and large balconies to make the most of the stunning views over the Pacific Ocean. The resort offers recreation facilities including an outdoor swimming pool and heated indoor swimming pool, children's wading pool, spa, sauna, tennis court and BBQ facilities. An easy walk will also have you on one of the best known stretches of beach in Australia. When you're not lazing on the beach or enjoying a hit of tennis onsite, the action of Surfers Paradise's main shopping and dining precinct Cavill Avenue is an easy walk away. Alternatively take advantage of our tour booking service and book a trip to one of the Gold Coast's theme parks. Located just 300 metres south of Cavill Avenue, the centre of Surfers Paradise, BreakFree Longbeach is in a great location to enjoy the best of Surfers Paradise. Please be advised that only one car space per unit is permitted. Under no circumstances are you allowed to park any type of recreational vehicle (eg: Jetskis/boats/trailers/caravans) at the Resort. Maintenance Notice: Please note maintenance work is being carried out on the Pool Decking area and Gardens from 6 June until 31 July 2017. The Pool and BBQ Area will be closed throughout this time. BreakFree Longbeach management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause and encourages you to take advantage of our heated Indoor Pool facilities and the beach only 200 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakfree Longbeach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Longbeach Hotel Surfers Paradise
Breakfree Longbeach Resort Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing