We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
Reviewed 21 January 2014

What an awesome hostel. It's location is slightly far out from Surfers Paradise to walk to but there is a complimentary shuttle bus running fairly regularly in and out of town. It's located in pleasant Mariners Wharf which is actually a great escape from the crazy hustle and bustle of Surfers. It's a slightly strange layout with reception being in a separate place to the rooms but it's easy to get around and it's secure from none residents. There are pleanty of restaurants close by including a mcdonalds for the skint backpackers. Lovely views over the skyline and the harbour from the balcony and the rooms are fairly spacious. The only thing that was disappointing was that the room only had 1 small fan which only hit 2 of the beds, neither of which was mine. It forced us to have to sleep with the door wide open to get a breeze through which isn't always my first option. There were lockers in the room though so valuables were fine. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeypot101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

bit disappointing on first entering room. It really is drab. looked very unclean. It was, I don't mind the bathrooms being untidy because they are used a lot, but you can sort the shower curtains out, They don't fit. I do however like my beds clean (preferably without someone elses hair still on the mattress). They do need new bedding, Some (lots) paint work, new carpets Otherwise it would be great lol The lockers were fine :)
I liked where it was because I enjoy walking and it is a fair trek to Surfers.
put it this way if Brisbane YHA rooms are a 10 Surfers are a 1
Front desk staff a great, cleaners not so much. Didn't complain So maybe therein lies the problem

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANICEEH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Paid 6 dollars on the bus to get to the hostel from the centre of town. The hostel is far out from anywhere except McDonald's and a shopping centre no good for those on a budget. The beach is average and about a ten minute walk. The hostel itself is not well decorated or homely in the least. The bathrooms are a walk through a kitchen area which smells horrible and is not very clean. The staff don't seem very bothered with trying to help you. Thankfully only stayed one night. Find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyandgabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

stayed here saturday just gone til tuesday in a 4 bedded female dorm. on the positive side: staff are friendly and polite. helpful when it comes to tours etc. there is a free shuttle bus that runs approx 4 times a day (last one into surfers paradise at approx 4pm i think). it is in a nice location with a shopping centre next door and about 10 mins walk to seaworld.
kitchen was clean and had plenty of cooking utensils (clean pots and pans, plenty of cutlery etc)
negative points: not located in surfers paradise but main beach. too far to walk but bus stop right outside the door. plus the free yha shuttle bus.
no nearby supermarket if your a budget traveller, the nearest would be woolworths in surfers paradise. there is a couple of small convenience shops although limited in food and pricey. restaurants around can be pricey also as in an affluent part, on the monday i decided to take a trip to the supermarket. i wish i hadnt bothered as my food was stolen from the fridge overnight. when i informed yha staff the response was an automatic "unfortunately there is nothing we can do about that", take a bag that can be locked if your going to use the fridge.
the bathroom are cleaned once a day between 9.30-10.30am, they were not the cleanest. one of the 2 toilets in the bathroom near the communal area was out of order the whole time apart from half a day when it was open but leaked water all over the floor. yuk. the other toilet wouldnt lock, so it was a case of trying to keep it closed with one hand. this was fixed on the monday though.
the beds were extremely uncomfortable, to gain entry to the hostel you had to open a gate to go up the stairs. it was difficult to open the gate with the key, other travellers were complaining of this too. movie night on the sunday with free popcorn, although there was no popcorn provided. the whole yha was tired and shabby looking. im a frequent yha user and this is probably one of the worst, i doubt i will stay here again. shame really as it could be made so nice witha bit of an update

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melly29Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Melly29Ireland,

Thank you for your feedback and the comments complimenting our staff. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate the time you have taken to write to us.

SInce your stay I have spoken to the hostel manager, who was very disappointed to read about the experience you had while staying at Surfers Paradise YHA. The manager has spoken to the reception staff to make sure that all guests are made aware of the food tags that the hostel has available, to avoid food being taken by the wrong guest.

The manager would also like to apologize for the broken toilet. Unfortunately due to an incident that occured earlier, one on the toilets was out of order for 2 days. The housekeeping staff had placed a sign on the door to notify other guests, but unfortunately this was removed and caused further damage to the toilet, before the sign was replaced.

At Surfers Paradise the bathrooms gets cleaned twice a day, with a check in the early evening. The hostel manager has discussed your feedback with the cleaning staff to ensure the procedure is being followed. Thank you for your feedback regarding the front gate as a locksmith has ensured it is now easy to open. The manager was surprised to hear that there was no popocorn available during the movie night as advertised and has spoken to the staff in charge that night to ensure that this doesn't happen again.

Thank you again for your feedback, it is a valuable tool which assits us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,


Anouk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

First of all the hostel is so far away from the city centre that you either have to take their shuttle (which only leaves 3 times a day) or you have to take the bus, which is 5,70$. But the location unfortiunately wasn't the only bad thing about the hostel. The kitchen was beyond filthy, the sheets were dirty and the bathrooms were gross as well even if the hostel claimed that it was cleaned once a day. Another thing was that we payed for the internet but it did not work the whole night!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Nina,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We take all customer feedback very seriously.

At outset I would like to let you know how disappointed I was to read your comments about the cleanliness of the kitchen and the bathroom. Since your feedback I have spoken to the hostel manager, who has confirmed with me that the hostel bathrooms get cleaned twice a day and the kitchen 3 times a day. Due to the high usage of the kitchen the hostel also has placed signs around the kitchen to encourage guests to do their own dishes. The hostel manager has also discussed your feedback with the cleaning staff, to ensure procedures are being followed.

The hostel manager would also like to apologize for the problems you experienced with Global Gossip. There have been a few issues with Global Gossip they are trying to resolve. Next time you stay at a YHA please let some one know as your account can be credited if there are any issues with the network.

Thanks again for your feedback, as it is a valuable tool which assists us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,

Anouk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed three nights at the Surfers YHA and found a few problems with it. The hostel itself is too far away from Surfers Paradise so you cannot take full advantage of surfers without taking a bus into town. There is only four shuttles into tone and back a day and they finish at 4pm.

The hostels facilities are very tired and old compared to other YHA hostels I have stayed in. It is coming into summer now with average temps of 30*c and the mattress is covered in a rubber material which squeaks and rattles every time you move in the bed and they are not very comfortable. The bedroom & bathroom facilities are very tired and could both do with an update.

A massive positive for the hostel though is the staff. They are fantastic and always willing to help you out and made staying in the hostel acceptable.

The surrounding shops and restaurants are very high end establishments and are not suited to travellers wallets. There is a couple of bars on the wharf that do 5 dollars schooners for Carlton Draft which is a benefit.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank mjd6888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear mjd6888,
Thank you for your feedback and the praise you gave our staff. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate the time you have taken to write to us.

At outset I am disappointed to hear of the uncomfortable nights sleep you had due to the mattress protector, as this is not the usual feedback we received from our guests. Since your feedback I have spoken to the hostel manager and they have a covering around all mattresses for hygiene reasons. The hostel manager has discussed your feedback with housekeeping, who are in the process of checking all rooms to ensure the mattress covers are fitted correctly.

Thanks again for your feedback, it is a valuable tool, which assists us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,

Anouk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It is near the worlds which is why we decided to stay there. The hostel was fairly clean and not bad over all; the kitchen and bathrooms were ok. There was plenty of cutlery. However the walk to surfers is very long and not very well lit, so doesnt seem like the safest 45 min stroll. The internet was awful! bought an hour, only worked for 45 mins and wouldnt load internet pages. Skype was very sketchy, video didnt work at all. There were 3 computers but only 1 actually worked. It is kids friendly, so when there is a school trip (as there was when we stayed) it is a bit of a nightmare. Apart from the children it is very quiet in winter. We heard that surfers paradise hostels are much more lively.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariakoleva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Maria,

I am writing in response to your customer feedback received on trip advisor regarding your stay at our Surfers Paradise YHA. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write to us.

At the outset, I would like to let you know that I am disappointed to hear of the experience you had with our computers/internet connection at Surfers Paradise YHA, as this is not the usual feedback we receive. I have since spoken to the hostel manager, who has apologized for the inconvenience caused, as during your stay there were some issues with the internet and the routers which have since been fixed by Global Gossip.

Next time you stay at any YHA please make sure you let someone know during your stay if there are any issues with the computers/internet connection so we have the chance to try and fix the issue, ensuring you get full use of the internet.

Thanks again for your feedback, it is a valuable tool which assists us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,

Anouk
Operations Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
3.3 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#37 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
175 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#34 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
456 reviews
1.7 mi away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#65 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#110 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
360 reviews
2.4 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#18 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
506 reviews
2.4 mi away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#69 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach

Address: Mariners Cove, 70 Seaworld Drive, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £37 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something for every backpacker at Surfers Paradise YHA hostel; white sandy beaches, 24 hour shopping, theme parks (Seaworld down the road) and national parks, adrenalin kicks on the ground, in the air and underwater, city sights and rainforest hinterland. Surfers Paradise is all about action, excitement and adventure! The YHA Travel desk at reception offers a wide range of activities and tours. There is also a free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Yha At Main Beach Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise YHA At Main Beach Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing