We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most terrible ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“the most terrible ever”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

one of the managers / reception staff was rude (I greeted him in the morning but he just walked away). one of my friends asked about transportation to the airport, what she got in response was "see there. see there" (pointing at a map). No fan in the bathroom, so never got a nice shower and stream went direct to the bedroom... nowhere for hanging a single piece of clothes... oh i even couldn't hang my towel in the bathroom. toilet in my room wasn't cleaned for at least 3 days. Public areas were clean and well maintained though. wifi free for 2 days and only accessible on the G/F. the only things I appreciated were 1. balcony 2. free pool table and 3. cupcakes made by a lady (probably a cleaner who worked there). stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    14
    8
    26
See reviews for
4
15
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed at the International Backpackers for one night on the V8 Car Racing weekend. We booked quite late and this was one of the few places available in Surfers. We knew we wouldn’t spend too much time at the hostel, so we didn’t care too much about the quality, what was more important for us was the location. The location is really great, about 10 minutes of walk from the very centre of Surfers, and a minute walk from the beach. Overall, we liked the other aspects of the hostel too – it has a licensed bar with very reasonable prices, which is a good thing as it keeps away the heaviest partying crowd on a budget (no BYO is allowed). We were also surprised that we got a room with a private bathroom (somehow we expected to be sharing). The negative things included lack of any furniture in the room (apart from a chair), the fact that the room wasn’t as clean as it could be (sand on the floor) and – most importantly – very thin walls, which means that you hear everybody coming back from their parties. Even though you probably don’t get the worst crowd there, we were still woken up several times at night, with people shouting, banging on other people’s doors etc. Considering that we paid $90 for a double (mind you – the price was higher given the special event weekend), you can probably get a better deal for a very similar price. All in all, OK for one or two nights but definitely worth having a look at other options in a similar price bracket.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julita_i_Wojtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed at GCIB 4 nights. Location was the best. 5 mins walk to the beach. 5mins away for food and another 7 mins to Cavill Ave where shopping was awesome. Room size was fine as we spent most of our time outside so it doesnt matter. Bed was good but try checking out under the bed as you might find hidden treasure left by the previous guest :) Toilet needed more cleaning but its alright. Water heater working perfectly fine especially it was winter at that time. Lounge area is nice. Lots of couch and outdoor seats with pool table, bbq area and kitchen. Best of all.. FREE WIFI. The only downside about GCIB, if only the younger male staff who was there most of the time could be more helpful. We are quite afraid to ask much question to him cos he make it look like we are being annoying. Other than that, we enjoy our stay and definately come back to GC!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dayah-ayiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I have been there for 3 weeks, and i realized that it is one of the best backpackers that i ever been!!

It's clean!!

FREE INTERNET !!!

the kitchen is well organized.

It's located close to everything.

The management it's very friendly, and if you need something they help you.

I recommend it to everyone !!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tambol911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Okay price, but I'd agree with everyone posting here.
Space isn't important as the room is basically going to be an overnight stay anyway.
Get into the room, the bathroom floor is wet.
Only source of getting cool is a wall mounted fan that was broken.
What seemed to be a towel rack which had been removed from the wall and left under one of the beds, screws still hanging out of the wall.

Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Some rooms seem to have a larger balcony (double the size), if that's important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristine C, Manager at Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Hi Jazza,

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and appreciate the feedback, we are always looking for ways to improve our hostel. Please bear in mind we can't fix these kinds of problems unless someone tells us about them. Had you spoken to reception about these problems during your stay, we would have done our best to rectify them straight away or moved you to a different room. These issues with your room have now been fixed and should not cause any further problems. We wish you all the best.

Kind Regards
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

When we arrived we were dubious due to the bad reviews... BUT is this the same hostel? The hostel was extremely clean, very spacious and the staff were so friendly. The wifi was free and everyroom has a balcony and ensuite! Its right opposite the Q1 and a minute walk to the beach and shops... Seriously this has to be the best hostel we have stayed in!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HimandHer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I Live close to Surfers Paradise and wanted a cheap night out without the hassle of finding a ride home in the morning. We had a double room which was ok. Bed was fairy clean and comfortable, shower was clean but toilet still hard marks in its previous occupants.

I didn't expect too much but it was an extremely hot as there were no fans and the windows did not have a fly screen so keep mossies out. I happened to stay on the hottest day of the summer so that probably didn' t help. I'm sure it would be fine in winter. No alcohol allowed in rooms although there is a bar with reasonable priced drinks, bit of a bummer really when your trying to keep funds in order.

Overall not a bad location

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameshil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#64 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#18 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#39 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#56 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
248 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers
Aquarius Backpackers
#46 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#59 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort

Property: Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort
Address: 28 Hamilton Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, have a beer and play a friendly game of pool, watch the game on our large plasma TV or party it up with other backpackers in our fully licensed bar. Our friendly and fun staff will make sure you enjoy your stay on the Gold Coast with special activity nights, such as bbq's, pool competitions, drink specials and more. At Gold Coast International Backpackers it's Happy Hour every night so you can make new friends and save some money before going out to the clubs!!On site we have a fully licensed bar, secure underground parking, a fully equipped self-serve kitchen,self serve laundry facilities, a large bbq area, free pool, a comfy lounge area, darts, cheap internet, free Wi-Fi, and a free booking service for all the major theme parks.ALSO the bonus of having YOUR OWN PRIVATE ENSUITES AND BALCONY in every room with a max per room of only 4 people. Very female friendly!Accommodation InformationIf you are looking to meet great people and create great memories then this is the place to be! At the Gold Coast International Backpackers we will make your stay one to remember!Amenities:Free Wi-Fi no limitsTowels for Hire / SaleFree Pool TableBBQFully Equipped kitchenLinen IncludedCommon RoomFree ParkingTours/Travel deskLicensed BarOutdoor TerraceEvent NightsReception Open from 7:00am to 10:30pm*ALL GUESTS MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER**At time of check-in all guests must present an International Passport and a valid credit card.***Please note we do not accept schoolies, any schoolies bookings made will not be honoured and may not be subject to a refund.**We will be closed on Christmas day and New Years Day therefore will not be able to accept any check-ins / outs on these days. Please do not book these days as we will not be able to honour them.WE HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON!LIKE US ON FACEBOOK! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast International Backpacker Hotel Surfers Paradise
Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing