We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree Acapulco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BreakFree Acapulco
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at the Breakfree Acapulco Resort in October, 2013, in a two bedroom apartment (mid-level) and absolutely loved it.  My husband and I have stayed in many resorts, in many places, and this apartment rated right up there.  It was extremely spacious and clean, with a large living room with a balcony just off it, a dining room, and a full kitchen.  The master bedroom, too, was quite spacious with its own balcony and attached bathroom with shower.  There was a second bedroom with twin beds (all of which were very comfortable).  Another nice feature to the apartment was that it had a laundry room.  I have to say that the views off both balconies (ocean views) were spectacular and stunning.  We were fortunate enough on our very last day to spot a whale while relaxing on the balcony.  (And I say fortunate because most whales had left the area when we were there.)  There are also two pools and spas, one inside and the other outside, as well as tennis courts and a fitness room.  Across the street is Northcliff Surf Club with excellent service and meals for when you don’t feel like cooking yourself (or you can order to take out).  The beach directly across the street has a lifeguard and is safe.  A short walk away, either by beach or street, is Surfers Paradise's centre with tons of restaurants, shops, and great nightlife.  Also, there is a Woolies in Surfer’s, which is a supermarket, so you can purchase food to take back to the apartment.  We took a trip up to the top of Q1 (a new highrise in Surfers just a short walk from the resort), where you can see for miles from up above.  They also have a lounge up top of Q1, where you can purchase food and drink.  Overall, this is a GREAT resort, in a GREAT location, and I will definitely be going back!  And to the owner of the apartment we stayed in, thank you.  You have done a great job with the place, keeping it modern and clean, and beautiful.  I would totally recommend it to anyone looking for accommodations on the Gold Coast.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SheriST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    76
    28
    15
    11
See reviews for
114
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I phoned through directly when I realised I had a couple of days off before Xmas.
I spoke with Tahlia and she couldn't have been more helpful.
She gave me a great deal and a fab. room on the 11th floor. The view was awesome and as this is not right in the middle of Surfers, not very noisy at night-bonus! I love the location, especially with the surf club directly across the road.This apartment block is a little older but the room was very clean and spacious.
The facilities are all clean and in good working order. All the gym equipment looked new too. We used the BBQ every night and the pool/gardens area is lovely.
Thanks Tahlia- we'll be back !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allisonbailey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in November. The location is fantastic, north life surf club straight across the road for fantastic food and patrolled beach.
Close enough to Cavill without being in the middle of the madness.
The common areas at Acapulco are a little dated, but the rooms more than make up for it.
We stayed in two bedroom apartment on the 14th floor and it was fabulous. Plenty of room and great views.
We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level so you're above any street noise. Our unit was one of the B f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at the Acapulco for my first family holiday a while ago and the visit is still a bright memory. We had a good chance to explore the hotel and its services available as unfortunately the weather wasn't co-operating with us for the week. However, I was very impressed with the appearance of the hotel and the facilities that were available. Rooms were very clean and tidy and provided a great environment to relax in with vast ocean views. There was an excellent front desk service for booking and organising all activities for the week and staff were very friendly and always willing to help when asked. I would love to go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skye, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have stayed at Breakfree Acapulco for the last 2 years, it is just a short stroll from the heart of Surfers Paradise which means less noise. Our kids absolutely loves the indoor and outdoor heater pools and its opposite the beach. We stay in the higher levels 2 bedroom deluxe room which have magnificent views of the whole Gold Coast from the ocean to the hinterland. We would highly recommend this place and we will be back next year

Room Tip: Deluxe Corner suits are larger and have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013 and I have to say the view was amazing. We were on the 22 floor in a 2 bedroom apartment which was re-furbished with new kitchen and bathroom and lovely furniture.
Yes, the motel is older but really for the price, you can't get a better location and we spent most of our time just looking out at the amazing views. Absolute beachfront with flags out the front and 10 min walk to Cavill Ave.
The pools were nice enough and heated to 27 degrees. The foyer outside our apartment was a little musty smelling and the room can get quite warm first in the morning from the sun shining on the windows but thats what the air con is for.

Have already booked to go back - this time manage to get a great deal when Breakfree were having a sale - $124 a night for a 2 bedroom apartment - can't complain about that.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed here once in 2008 and it was an amazing experience. so when we decided to take a family vacation this year to the gold coast I didn't hesitate to book here. What a mistake!!!
Firstly we arrived about an hour outside of checking in hours due to our flights. We had pre notified them of this - weeks before we arrived. When we got there another couple had done the same thing and had been waiting more than 20 minutes outside the hotel as they were unable to get in. After many attempts of ringing the buzzer and waiting a man finally turned up. He introduced himself as the manager and couldn't be bothered checking us in properly, telling us we would need to return the next day. He told me to park my car "anywhere underneath that's free". Which I did. Once we got in our room I could not have been more disappointed. I was in contact with the reception desk prior to confirming our booking and was told that the top floor was vacant and that they could accommodate my request for this location. once told this I booked the room. I wanted something special for my family as we were celebrating a birthday. however we were placed on the 18th floor and told that top apartments had been booked out months in advance. we stepped out of the lift on the 18th floor and it smelt like something had died. we opened the door to our room and upon inspection of the apartment found:
- rusted / dirty fans
- brown hairs in the middle of folded "clean" bath towels
- faeces in the toilet
- used ladies hygiene product in the bin in the bathroom
- hairs in the bath tub
- the tile floor was sticky
- the main door to the balcony did not close
- all surfaces (bench, cupboards and door handles) in the kitchen were sticky
- glasses, cutlery and plates needed washing in the kitchen
- there was left over food in the fridge and no spare garbage bag in the bin.
- 2 broken chairs in the apartment
The apartment looked like it was in desperate need of renovations and a good clean.
The following morning my sister asked the cleaning lady for another spare garbage bag and she was so rude she would not give her one. We had hired the apartment for one week. One garbage bag is not enough.
When we went downstairs to the reception we checked in properly with a very rude and offhanded woman. When we went to get in the car in the car park to go out we discovered a large sign placed on the car saying we had parked illegally, it had been noted and we would be fined and then towed. We confronted reception about this, telling them what the manager had told us. The rude woman shrugged her shoulders and told us its policy.
The following day we returned from a day out and it was pouring rain. the floor around a window was wet. because a pot plant had strangely been put there we thought it must have been the pot plant leaking. Later on we saw the window sill was wet so trying to do the right thing we wiped it up the water and most of the paint lifted. we then noticed the window sill was rusty and didn't close properly. we reported this to management and were told that we expected too much, it had been heavy rain and we should just stay away from it. Hard to do when it is right next to the dinning table and we have a two year old with us. management said they would look at it while we were out. on returning to the apartment at the end of the next day we found they had looked at the window sill, moved another pot plant in front of the window and used our bath matt towel and one of the clean spare towels to throw on the floor and window sill.
We didn't bother with management again and we could not wait to check out. The room was unsafe, unhygienic and really spoilt what was supposed to be a nice relaxing holiday away. This hotel and their staff are slack, rude, lazy and hopeless. I would not stay here ever again and I would strongly advice against believing that if you booked a "refurbished" room it would be any better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rochelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
#12 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baronnet Apartments
Baronnet Apartments
#15 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Berkeley on the Beach
Berkeley on the Beach
#14 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surf Regency Apartments
Surf Regency Apartments
#40 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Apartments
Regent Apartments
#32 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Acapulco

Property: BreakFree Acapulco
Address: Acapulco Apartments 2 Thornton St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Acapulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just twenty-five metres from Surfers Paradise Beach and the Northcliffe Surf Life Saving Club, BreakFree Acapulco offers a great Gold Coast location at an affordable price. Perfectly suited to families and couples alike, the resort offers spacious, fully self-contained 1 or 2 Bedroom Ocean Suites, available in either standard or deluxe with kitchen and laundry facilities. Each apartment has a large balcony where you can sit and enjoy the incredible views. Recreational facilities include a tennis court, 2 heated swimming pools, spa, sauna, BBQ facilities and a gym. Famed as Australia's family entertainment capital, the Gold Coast offers something for everyone with fantastic beaches, shopping, dining, nightlife, adventure tours and famous theme parks including Movie World, Sea World, Wet n Wild and Dreamworld. BreakFree Acapulco is the perfect Gold Coast accommodation choice to kick back and indulge in a relaxed family holiday. Maintenance Notice As part of ongoing improvements, BreakFree Acapulco will be undertaking the replacement of the windows from 4 October until 21 December 2016. During this time there will be some noise associated with the work, with work to be carried out Monday to Friday from 8am until 4pm (emergency weekend works may be required). BreakFree Acapulco management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BreakFree Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BreakFree Acapulco Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing