We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing considering the premium rate charged.”
Review of BreakFree Acapulco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BreakFree Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Apartment unfortunately was old and drab. paint peeling, only had one remote for both bedrooms lights and fans, balcony slider was hard to open and close, long waits for lifts, insufficient parking available. Definitely not on our list of must stays :(

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussietraveller016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at the Breakfree Acapulco Resort in October, 2013, in a two bedroom apartment (mid-level) and absolutely loved it.  My husband and I have stayed in many resorts, in many places, and this apartment rated right up there.  It was extremely spacious and clean, with a large living room with a balcony just off it, a dining room, and a full kitchen.  The master bedroom, too, was quite spacious with its own balcony and attached bathroom with shower.  There was a second bedroom with twin beds (all of which were very comfortable).  Another nice feature to the apartment was that it had a laundry room.  I have to say that the views off both balconies (ocean views) were spectacular and stunning.  We were fortunate enough on our very last day to spot a whale while relaxing on the balcony.  (And I say fortunate because most whales had left the area when we were there.)  There are also two pools and spas, one inside and the other outside, as well as tennis courts and a fitness room.  Across the street is Northcliff Surf Club with excellent service and meals for when you don’t feel like cooking yourself (or you can order to take out).  The beach directly across the street has a lifeguard and is safe.  A short walk away, either by beach or street, is Surfers Paradise's centre with tons of restaurants, shops, and great nightlife.  Also, there is a Woolies in Surfer’s, which is a supermarket, so you can purchase food to take back to the apartment.  We took a trip up to the top of Q1 (a new highrise in Surfers just a short walk from the resort), where you can see for miles from up above.  They also have a lounge up top of Q1, where you can purchase food and drink.  Overall, this is a GREAT resort, in a GREAT location, and I will definitely be going back!  And to the owner of the apartment we stayed in, thank you.  You have done a great job with the place, keeping it modern and clean, and beautiful.  I would totally recommend it to anyone looking for accommodations on the Gold Coast.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank SheriST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I phoned through directly when I realised I had a couple of days off before Xmas.
I spoke with Tahlia and she couldn't have been more helpful.
She gave me a great deal and a fab. room on the 11th floor. The view was awesome and as this is not right in the middle of Surfers, not very noisy at night-bonus! I love the location, especially with the surf club directly across the road.This apartment block is a little older but the room was very clean and spacious.
The facilities are all clean and in good working order. All the gym equipment looked new too. We used the BBQ every night and the pool/gardens area is lovely.
Thanks Tahlia- we'll be back !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allisonbailey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in November. The location is fantastic, north life surf club straight across the road for fantastic food and patrolled beach.
Close enough to Cavill without being in the middle of the madness.
The common areas at Acapulco are a little dated, but the rooms more than make up for it.
We stayed in two bedroom apartment on the 14th floor and it was fabulous. Plenty of room and great views.
We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level so you're above any street noise. Our unit was one of the B f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at the Acapulco for my first family holiday a while ago and the visit is still a bright memory. We had a good chance to explore the hotel and its services available as unfortunately the weather wasn't co-operating with us for the week. However, I was very impressed with the appearance of the hotel and the facilities that were available. Rooms were very clean and tidy and provided a great environment to relax in with vast ocean views. There was an excellent front desk service for booking and organising all activities for the week and staff were very friendly and always willing to help when asked. I would love to go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyssa-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have stayed at Breakfree Acapulco for the last 2 years, it is just a short stroll from the heart of Surfers Paradise which means less noise. Our kids absolutely loves the indoor and outdoor heater pools and its opposite the beach. We stay in the higher levels 2 bedroom deluxe room which have magnificent views of the whole Gold Coast from the ocean to the hinterland. We would highly recommend this place and we will be back next year

Room Tip: Deluxe Corner suits are larger and have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013 and I have to say the view was amazing. We were on the 22 floor in a 2 bedroom apartment which was re-furbished with new kitchen and bathroom and lovely furniture.
Yes, the motel is older but really for the price, you can't get a better location and we spent most of our time just looking out at the amazing views. Absolute beachfront with flags out the front and 10 min walk to Cavill Ave.
The pools were nice enough and heated to 27 degrees. The foyer outside our apartment was a little musty smelling and the room can get quite warm first in the morning from the sun shining on the windows but thats what the air con is for.

Have already booked to go back - this time manage to get a great deal when Breakfree were having a sale - $124 a night for a 2 bedroom apartment - can't complain about that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
#21 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,667 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#9 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Acapulco

Address: Acapulco Apartments 2 Thornton St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £66 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Acapulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just twenty-five metres from Surfers Paradise Beach and the Northcliffe Surf Life Saving Club, BreakFree Acapulco offers a great Gold Coast location at an affordable price. Perfectly suited to families and couples alike, the resort offers spacious, fully self-contained 1 or 2 Bedroom Ocean Suites, available in either standard or deluxe with kitchen and laundry facilities. Recreational facilities include a tennis court, 2 heated swimming pools, spa, sauna, BBQ facilities and a gym. Maintenance Notice As part of ongoing improvements, BreakFree Acapulco will be undertaking the replacement of the windows from 30 October until 30 November 2017. During this time there will be some noise associated with the work, with work to be carried out Monday to Friday from 8am until 4pm (emergency weekend works may be required). BreakFree Acapulco management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your BreakFree Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BreakFree Acapulco Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing