We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of BreakFree Acapulco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BreakFree Acapulco
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The staff are very friendly and helpful. My daughter lost her car key down the life well and they where happy to send the key back once the life maintenance found it. Tells you a lot about the people you rely on to help you have a good stay.

The room I had was the 14th floor great views, kitchen, bedrooms etc all well appointed. The stays are well loved and needless to say not everything will be in pristine condition. The beds where comfortable and the room we have very nicely furnished with paintings and other artistic additions.

Location is a real winner, opposite the beach & one of the best Surf Club eateries in the Gold Coast, Tram and Bus stops easy 3 -5 minute walk away and close to each other. Surfers is 10 minute way and there are plenty of places to shop for food without need for the car to drive you anywhere. Nirvana.

Happily stay there again and if there are any issues with the unit advise Reception straight away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VANS_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    85
    31
    15
    11
See reviews for
125
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Spectacular views from our room. The unit is quite old which is fine but needs a fair bit of TLC. The sink disposal smelt terrible, DVD player was broken, very old and worn down bathroom (shower door had to remain open) and furniture quite out dated, fan in lounge room didn't work and the floor hasn't been mopped in a long time. The facilities are neat and tidy but at the end of the day you do get what you pay for (which is a bit disappointing when things don't work). Was quite a let down when this was reported to reception and no solution to move rooms or anything as such was offered, they kind of couldn't care less really which is sad. It's a good location right across from the beach and surf club. We may consider coming here again but would want a far better unit.

Room Tip: Definitely want a higher level to block out street noise and if coming in summer you would definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJR0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here with family, the view was absolutely amazing from the 24th floor. Saw dolphins and whales from our balcony. Only got 4/5 due to a few minor fixes that the apartment needs. If it's windy the windows whistle quite a bit, and locks on the bathroom didn't work. Apart from that, really enjoyed the apartment. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank N_jag_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We would like to commend the staff at Break Free Acapulco, our 10 day break was fantastic, my husband and two twenty year old "kids" had a fantastic time your facilities are great, the apartment was awesome with breath-taking views. We found the apartment to be perfectly located, clean and a home away from home, the staff, all of them were more than accommodating and full of helpful knowledge of the amenities and the local areas. So once again thank you for our wonderful break we will definitely be back. A final word for other reviewer's we have found in our travels that if you smile and are nice to people that they reciprocate. Happy travels Raylene, Mike, Mat and Gemma.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marmwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our group booked 4 rooms, two of us were on level 6 and the other were on level 12. All of us got beautiful sea views which were breathtaking. The rooms on level 12 seemed more modern than those on the 6th floor, as ours looked like it lacked a lot of love. All 4 rooms were desperate for a good clean. They were absolutely filthy in terms of dust and obviously hadn't had a good clean in a long time. Our room had old carpet which was worn, and the general upkeep of the place was terrible. Our sliding door fell off the first night when we opened it. Luckily we held on to it and it didn't break. The lady who checked us in obviously hated her job as she was quite bored and not very helpful in the slightest. However when we checked out the lady was lovely. Depending on what you pay for, some of the rooms are locked. We only had an ensuite bathroom which was tiny and poky. It is quite eerie knowing there are 2 other rooms that you can't get into. The final irritant for us is the fact you have to give an AUD$200 credit hard , which is fine, but we checked in over 2 weeks ago and our bank has informed us that the apartments haven't cleared the hold so we have to wait for the automatic expiry date the bank sets which isn't until the 26th, despite breakfree telling us it would be 7-10 days. Highly annoyed. Next time we would possibly look for something a bit cleaner and a bit nicer but as i said, it was quite cheap and the apartment was huge and well placed.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room that has been renovated. These are time shares so some owners will have updat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cam86nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were a group of 26, mostly senior citizens from NZ and stayed 5 nights. Our rooms were spread over level 18 to level 23 and we were accommodated in 2 room apartments. They were spacious, well furnished with million dollar views from the windows! No one had any complaints. Whenever we had queries, (there were many), regarding sightseeing, transport, local bus passes etc. the 2 receptionists could not have been more helpful. It is well placed, just south of the CBD but close enough to walk there. Just 1 minute from the beach, some of us went for early morning walks. Even in May, the weather was warm enough to dress in T shirts and shorts and go swimming

Room Tip: Rooms on the southwest and southeast had extensive views of both the beach and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotus1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Apartment unfortunately was old and drab. paint peeling, only had one remote for both bedrooms lights and fans, balcony slider was hard to open and close, long waits for lifts, insufficient parking available. Definitely not on our list of must stays :(

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussietraveller016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
Breakfree Longbeach Resort
#11 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berkeley on the Beach
Berkeley on the Beach
#16 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baronnet Apartments
Baronnet Apartments
#13 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Regent Apartments
Regent Apartments
#28 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorchester on the Beach
Dorchester on the Beach
#23 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Acapulco

Property: BreakFree Acapulco
Address: Acapulco Apartments 2 Thornton St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Acapulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just twenty-five metres from Surfers Paradise Beach and the Northcliffe Surf Life Saving Club, BreakFree Acapulco offers a great Gold Coast location at an affordable price. Perfectly suited to families and couples alike, the resort offers spacious, fully self-contained 1 or 2 Bedroom Ocean Suites, available in either standard or deluxe with kitchen and laundry facilities. Each apartment has a large balcony where you can sit and enjoy the incredible views. Recreational facilities include a tennis court, 2 heated swimming pools, spa, sauna, BBQ facilities and a gym. Famed as Australia's family entertainment capital, the Gold Coast offers something for everyone with fantastic beaches, shopping, dining, nightlife, adventure tours and famous theme parks including Movie World, Sea World, Wet n Wild and Dreamworld. BreakFree Acapulco is the perfect Gold Coast accommodation choice to kick back and indulge in a relaxed family holiday. Maintenance Notice As part of ongoing improvements, BreakFree Acapulco will be undertaking the replacement of the windows from 22 May until 18 August 2017. During this time there will be some noise associated with the work, with work to be carried out Monday to Friday from 8am until 4pm (emergency weekend works may be required). BreakFree Acapulco management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BreakFree Acapulco Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing