We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Beachpoint
Reviewed 20 May 2011

On arrival we were shown to a room with no sea view even though we were told we could have one. Found pizza sauce on the ceiling and a mysterious brown stain on one of the sheets. Staff were far from sympathetic and gave the impression of I don't care. Room was tired don't believe the web pictures.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2011

Walked into the apartment got hit by the terrible smell and the filthyness of the carpet. Went a bit further in to find the bathroom full of mildew and another bad odour. Went to management to discuss the problem. When she finished rolling her eyes, we were told there was nothing she could do about it now, house keeping would take care of it the next day. The next surprise came when we went to bed that night. The kingsize bed in the master bedroom, was not actually a king at all. It was 2 singles pushed together. We were out when house keeping came in, they had managed to to scrub a little of the mildew away, but it really was a token effort. The grout on the shower floor was still left black. I have many years of cleaning experience and know for a fact, a bit of elbow grease and bleach, would have gotten it off! If it is the last available hotel on the goldcoast and you have to stay there. DON'T FORGET YOUR THONGS AND AIRFRESHNER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUE9378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfree412, General Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2011

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I regret the the shortcomings in service you have reported from management and housekeeping. This is not up to our usual standard and I apologise for any disappointement you experienced during your stay. These matters have been or are being addressed at this time.

Regards

Linda Stroud
Resort Manager
BreakFree Beachpoint

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I booked and paid for this holiday before I had read the other reviews on this website. This gave me a great deal of worry given the comments about the hotel being old and dirty etc. The great news was my fears were totally unfounded! My room was very clean and well presented . Fresh linens and towels, nice furnishings, very well set out kitchen. The view was SPECTACULAR!! My only mild complaint was the glass of the windows and bathroom could have been a bit cleaner. The location is excellent - 2 minutes to the beach and 5 minutes walk to Cavill Road. It is very close to bus services also. Might I add that the staff were very friendly and professional and always willing to help.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeasaKSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfree412, Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2011

Thank yuu for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Linda Stroud
General Manager
BreakFree Beachpoint

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We stayed on level 6 of this hotel and had no problems. It was nicely furnished, everything worked and was quite clean. The rooms were neat and tidy and we had no problems at all. Within walking distance to the main shopping area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mylittlechinadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfree412, Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Linda Stroud
General Manager
BreakFree Beachpoint

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Very pleasantly surprised with the apartment and facilities after reading some of the poor reviews posted. Well located for beach and town centre, the rooms we had on the 6th floor were clean and spacious and staff were helpful. Surfers Paradise is well named as I would not consider it a swimming beach but hey, the apartment pools were just perfect for our teenage girls and I enjoyed free use of the bbq area. Apart from a few sticky drawer units in kitchen and bedrooms, the rest of the furniture and fittings were of good quality. No problems with recommending the Beachpoint and would be very happy to go back again. The McKay/Stewarts, NZ

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckay-stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfree412, General Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recenty stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Linda Stroud
General Manager
BreakFree Beachpoint

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Very disappointed that management have tried to get payment for damage done that was already there. We inadvertently shot video of the apartment which clearly shows all of the reported damage. Not only have they kept the bond, they are asking for more. A $50 plastic chair on the balcony that was already broken has become 2 chairs valued at $318.

Make sure you call management immediately if there is any damage and get them to file a damage report dated and signe by them, or you may be next...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

The pictures posted on there site are very deceptive. The room was dirty with obiovious build up of filth you get over time when all that is done to clean a room is a basic wipe down. There was long term mould build up in the bathrooms, the kitichen sink (all sinks) had grim build up. The air conditioner filters look as though they have never been cleaned and they provided an odour when switched on. The Furnishing and fittings are of low standard (you felt the need to have a shower after sitting on the couch). I would not recommend Breakfree Beachpoint to families with small children indoor and outdoor pool start at 1.5m so no good for toddlers and I would not have put an animal in what they called there toddler pool/box. The indoor pool and spa both dirty and where not cleaned daily or even every other day from what we could tell (a used bandaid was left in the main sitting area and was still there four days later) if not for the insistance of our son for an evening swim we would not have used there pool facilities at all. The only benifit of staying here was it's central location. I only wish I took photo's which I could post to prove haw bad the room was. We would not stay at Breakfree Beachpoint nor would we recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nalmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfree412, General Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on you stay in January. I regret the shortcomings regarding Housekeeping and general cleanliness of the Resort, our Executive Housekeeper and the Body Corporate Maintenance Manager will certainly address this with their staff. This is not up to our usual standard and I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards
Linda Stroud
General Manager
BreakFree Beachpoint

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
#21 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
634 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra Wings
Mantra Wings
#3 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
1,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spectrum Holiday Apartments
Spectrum Holiday Apartments
#4 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capricorn One
Capricorn One
#38 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Beachpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Beachpoint

Address: Corner Staghorn Ave. & The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £81 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Beachpoint 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 50 metres from Surfers Paradise Beach and an easy five minute walk to Cavill Avenue, BreakFree Beachpoint offers affordable holiday accommodation on the Gold Coast. Leisure amenities include an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, children's wading pool, spa, sauna, tennis courts and entertainment areas. **PLEASE NOTE** For your convenience we cannot accept booking for the same day arrivals outside of reception hours. Please phone during normal business hours prior to arrival to arrange after hours check in. Once a booking has been made we accept NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS to that booking. Maintenance Notice: Breakfree Beachpoint is pleased to advise there is a current upgrade of guests lifts underway, with an approximate completion date of the 30th of September 2017. During this period work will be carried out between 9am - 5pm Monday to Friday however there will still be 2 guest lifts in operation to minimise disruption. We thank you in advance for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Beachpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BreakFree Beachpoint Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing