We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spacious, reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BreakFree Beachpoint
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    82
    39
    30
    19
See reviews for
150
37
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My partner and I arrived at our anniversary "resort" at 6pm on a Friday night to the place being completely closed (it was shut at 5pm - in Surfers Paradise on weekend? Ridiculous). After speaking to someone through an intercom, we were directed to our keys and a map of the car park to the room. After spending a while looking for the parking space (each place is placed in an equally awkward spot, so much so that even our little hatchback had trouble getting in there!).

We then pressed the elevator to the "hotel" rooms and were met with the most revolting smell, which remained through the reception and hallways of the level we were staying on. Upon finding our apartment, we opened the door to that same stench protruding into the unit. Sadly the view was the only thing that didn't stink in that joint! The kitchen looked new and cleaned, but when we went to use the oven there was dried, old food and grease everywhere. Each bit of cutlery had to be washed before use, which isn't normal for a 'resort'. The dishwasher hadn't been cleaned in a long time, either.

The carpet looked the worse, as if it hadn't been visted by a professional carpet cleaner in a long while, maybe even never (perhaps since they put the outdated and unclean lounge suite in there in the 80s, eh?). There was a crack in the glass put over the coffee table and the tiles needed a proper clean (we would walk without shoes on for five minutes and our feet would be black with dirt!). The walls were the same. No professional cleaning schedule is in place here, the other reviews share the same troubles.

The beds were hard, old and uncomfortable - my neck and my partner's back are still sore! We moved the bed and there was a used bandaid, wrapper and dirt/rubbish under the bed. The wheels on the bed were broken. The bath was so dirty I had to scrub it before using it. The ensuite shower was broken, the drawers in the vanity had holes in them and the mirrors were messy.

There was no airconditioning (not advertised but you would assume since we live in 2012, they might have even the slightest little aircon unit, eh?), the fans were so dirty and dusty that I couldn't use them (kept sneezing and coughing when they were on). So we had to keep all windows open throughout our stay to keep cool - which was okay until the sun came up! Could barely sleep on the warn, horrid mattress then the sun would peak through the filthy, small curtains. Couldn't sleep past 6am sunrise.

No cleaning products supplied, just an old mouldy mop and a broken vacuum. What were we to do?!

As I said, the view saved it all.

To top it all off, when we checked out Monday morning, we waited for over 5 minutes for the receptionist to get off the phone (from what was being said it was clearly a personal call). She sent us on our way, but as we walked out her and the manager ran out and said they have to check the room. Fair enough. We walk back in, another 5 mins later the manager, Linda, comes to tell us about the chip in the glass. Pulling the old "that wasn't there before" trick.

The sad irony of the world when we walked out, totally ripped off and defeated - what kind of work ute pulls up but a glass repair person. Haha.

After speaking to the manager, she told me that housekeeping and maintenance both claim the chip wasn't there before we went in. Simply cannot believe it since virtually everything was broken and filthy!

Would recommend it if you can only afford stingy motels - just make sure you check in before 5 so they can't tell you that YOU did something when they need some money for the maintenace or cleaning they avoid until everything is damaged beyond repair. Oh and make sure ya get the view eh ;)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stackhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

booked the accommodation through a booking agent. this was a little different as you cant access the front desk for towels and maintenance. the booking agent acts for private owners who dont wish to use breakfree to manage there apartment. Anyway, property and the apartment is dated. We had a two bedroom apartment on fourth floor for four nights....oh the price through the booking agent was $150 cheaper than direct through breakfree
apartment was on the front of the building with living, balcony and kitchen facing the magnificent surfers beach. bedrooms to the rear away from the morning sun.
Apartment was prestinely clean with all the neccessities. i have stayed in more modern apartments in surfers but you cant beat this location.
directly opposite a patrolled surf beach. pedestrian zebra crossing to the beach
5 mins "safe" walk to caville avenue, entertainment, shopping and eateries. well lit walk home
nite market on the promenade near caville ave was worth a visit
visit the RSL, just off caville avenue for a menu that will satisfy the whole family and a price that will not break the budget, big portions. While in the RSL check out the ferris wheel this is best ridden at night, worth the money jumo in cart 21 or 22 as this gets a stop at the top.
if the Suns are playing at metricon stadium then buses are free for ticket holders. we where able to get a bus 1 min walk from the apartment to metricon and return....awesome
sorry back to beachpoint......in door and outside pool are both heated. the outdoor pool area is a really inviting area with loung chairs and barbq. I can see this being well used in summer time
Security in the apartments complex is excellent
rooms on the back overlook the adrenalin park which can be entertaining on nightfall
give it a go

Room Tip: get a room on the front of the building. Any floor as view to the ocean is not impeded
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oppy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south west rocks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

excellent position just on the northern fringe of surfers but only 2-3 minute walk to all the action.very spacious 1 bedroom apt with all facilities and virtually 270 degree views.friendly frnt counter staff.pool spa sauna all good.rooms a bit dated but clean & well presented with quality furnishings

would definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodSouthWestRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfree412, General Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Linda Stroud
General Manager
BreakFree Beachpoint Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Recently spent 3 nights at the Beachpoint in Surfers Paradise. We had a room on the sixth floor and it was everything it should have been. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, laundry, kitchen, living/dining area and great views to the ocean. The room was clean and kitted out with everything we needed, the decor was a bit dated, but the furniture was comfortable. The boys loved being able to watch Foxtel when the weather wasn't so great and I really enjoyed sitting on the balcony and people/car watching. It was about 800mtrs from Cavil Avenue, there is a small general store/supermarket about 5 minutes around the corner, as well as a liquor store, if you need it. The swimming pools were good and the tennis court was great, we just didn't have the weather to play, oh well, next time. Absolutely loved the friendly Rosella's that visited our balcony every day - they were so tame the ate out of our hands, at one stage I had about 5 sitting on my arm - gorgeous. I would definately stay here again, the position is perfect, right across the road from the beach, not far from Cavil Ave, but far enough not to be too noisy - and we had a great time walking to Tedder Avenue in Main Beach (about 2kms) to try some of their great restaurants. La Roma was brilliant and the Toasted Turkish Raisen bread at Hard Coffee for breakfast was yummy.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room and try to get 6th floor or higher for uninterrupted views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meteroite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfree412, General Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Linda Stroud
General Manager
BreakFree Beachpoint Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yealmpton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 months on our trip to oz. Fantastic views a minute from the beach. Some rooms a bit dated but still comfortable with lots of space. Close to shops and amusements. Thankyou for the lovely and memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfree412, General Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your long stay with us. we are glad you enjoyed your time here and hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Linda Stroud
General manager
BreakFree Beachpoint Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I booked this hotel last minute and was very surprised at how great our room was after reading previous reviews. We were in 1 of the private rooms, but found staff very helpful and nice :)
I will definitely recommend this place to friends and family, Thanks for a great holiday, I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: 4D is an amazing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfree412, General Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Linda Stroud
General Manager
BreakFree Beachpoint Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#11 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Focus Apartments
Focus Apartments
#30 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breakfree Moroccan Resort
Breakfree Moroccan Resort
#27 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Shore Holiday Apartments
The Shore Holiday Apartments
#46 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#5 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartm...
#1 of 11 in Surfers Paradise
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Beachpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Beachpoint

Property: BreakFree Beachpoint
Address: Corner Staghorn Ave. & The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Beachpoint 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 50 metres from Surfers Paradise Beach and an easy five minute walk to Cavill Avenue, BreakFree Beachpoint offers affordable holiday accommodation on the Gold Coast. With a prime waterfront location, the resort offers spacious one and two bedroom apartments set amongst lush tropical gardens overlooking the beach. All apartments feature a fully-equipped kitchen, tea and coffee making facilities, laundry, separate shower and bath, Foxtel and balcony. With the Hinterland providing a green backdrop of beauty, the rooms provide the perfect home away from home. Leisure amenities include an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, children's wading pool, spa, sauna, tennis courts and entertainment areas with BBQ cooking facilities. In-room massage treatments are also available. If you're looking for something outside of the resort, a surf lifesaver patrolled beach is only a walk across the road and Surfers Paradise's seaside shops, restaurants and bars are all within easy reach. Just 50 metres from the beach and an easy five minute walk to all the action of Cavill Avenue, BreakFree Beachpoint is the ideal accommodation option for families and couples alike. Maintenance Notice: Breakfree Beachpoint is pleased to advise there is a current upgrade of guests lifts underway, with an approximate completion date of the 30th of September 2017. During this period work will be carried out between 9am - 5pm Monday to Friday however there will still be 2 guest lifts in operation to minimise disruption. We thank you in advance for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree Beachpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BreakFree Beachpoint Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing