We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfree” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree Beachpoint

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BreakFree Beachpoint
Tasmania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breakfree”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Loved staying at this Hotel the staff were so helpful, we had a wonderful view of the sea, and our rooms were great we were 2 females but we were given a 2 bedroom apartment with seperate bathroom each, the kitchen was large with stove microwave and dishwasher there was a fully equiped laundry as well , luxury away from home. Would go back again, everything was great even the heated indoor pool .

Room Tip: Choose one facing the sea the view is magnificent especially at night with the moon and lights ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dallasTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole B, General Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to place your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad to hear that the staff were very friendly. We do like to ensure that all guests get great customer service. Please next time you are travelling ensure that you give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    80
    34
    28
    17
See reviews for
138
35
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We just loved our 4 day stay. Nothing to fault from any point, so close to everything, freindly staff, would definately stay here again. Room had everything we needed. Walking distance to main shopping area ar surfers. Great places to eat out near by and once that tram is running perfect as there will be a stop just outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole B, Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to place your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We also do think that we have a great place and are glad that you could also enjoy it. We do hope that you can come back to see us again, please give us a call next time you are travelling to the Gold Coast as we would love to accommodate you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have been staying here nearly every year for the past decade and I must say that the quality and cleanliness has been on the decline. The beds are awful and the pillows are as thin as postage stamps I'm not sure if you can find out how old they are or how often a hotel should change them but these are way overdue! The carpets where dirty and not vaccumed and the kitchen was not equipped as it should be. Great location and service but I guess you get what you pay for. The general hygiene and comfort really need some attention!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alit4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole B, Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to place your comments. I am sorry to hear of your concerns. I can assure you had this been brought to our attention whilst you were in house we would have had them rectified. If you wish to contact me to discuss this further please don’t hesitate to call me. Thanks again for placing your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is more a review of the individual apartment rather than the complex. So to start I will say that the complex was generally well maintained. The gardens were very nice around the outdoor pool area, the indoor pool & spa were also very clean. Staff friendly, location very well placed & close to all amenities & shops, but there is no internet access available in the building.
Now - Apartment 2G. Large & spacious 1 brm apartment with a very large fully enclosed balcony. Unfortunately the balcony was heavily planted down one side & this blocked about 60% of the natural light coming into the apartment, it was very gloomy & depressing to be inside & the inside lighting was also not bright enough. Two of the three ceiling fans in the apartment did not work. The vertical blinds in the lounge had several panels missing & one side would not open/shut. The main bathroom shower was was in need of cleaning in the corners & the soap holder over the bath was broken with dangerous jagged edges which had been "temporarily" covered with green masking tape. The toilet roll holder was also broken & dirty. In the bedroom one of the storage cupboards was hanging on by a single hinge when opened & needed repairing & there was no clock radio/alarm. The bed was very firm & the pillows thin & hard also. In the kitchen the oven was a bit rusty & unpleasant.
I do not expect these types of self catering apartments to be like a 5 star hotel but they should at least be well maintained & functional & it is a bonus if the owners have refurbished.
I would not recommend for any one to stay in apartment 2G & we have certainly been put off returning here again even if offered a better unit.

Room Tip: If booking directly always ask for a refurbished apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trevor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole B, General Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to place your comments on trip advisor . We do take negative and positive feedback on board. We are sorry to hear of your concerns. I can assure you had this been brought to our attention the issues you had, we would have had them rectified. If you wish to discuss this further please don’t hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Labrador, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here in a two bedroom ocean view apartment and loved it! It had a very spacious lounge with modern furnishings and modern kitchen and bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable and enjoyed ocean views all around as we were located on a corner apartment. Free undercover parking was convenient and cavill ave was a short walk away. The reception staff were lovely and helpfull and Sam the security guard was really friendly! Overall we really enjoyed our weekend away and will definately stay here again soon. Absolutely recommend this to everyone higher floor the better!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jarule123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole B, General Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to place your comments on trip adviser. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for 5 nights 15-20 May 2014. We paid extra for oceanview room and had 10A which was amazing. The apartment was roomy for 4 adults and 1 infant. Paid extra for cot and highchair. The apartment had everything you need for a holiday with under cover parking.

My only complaint is that I think the ladies on reception could be more helpful. Certainly not offering any assistance when having booked Seaworld tickets on line at 2 for the price of 1 were not interested in printing them out for you as obviously they wanted you to purchase the tickets from them at the full price and they get commission. Sent us across the street to another property to download from the internet. I am thinking with the amount of properties on the Gold Coast and none of them full that they would be looking to offer excellent service as a point of difference.

We did not get a towel for the baby and when asked was told we could hire one! Had to request additional toilet paper and soap as we had no replacement roll and only one very small round guest soap for 2 adults.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the oceanview provides hours of entertainment at no additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole B, General Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to email.
We are pleased to hear that you loved the apartment 10A. I will pass your feedback onto the owner.
In regards to the printing of the tickets, I have spoken to reception and they did think that a USB was to be used, as per our Mantra procedure we are not able to place these into our computer. Not sure if this was explained to you. We do hire extra linen at a small cost, I am sure if the ladies were advised that this was not provided with the cot they would of provided this free of charge. As our apartments are fully self-contained we do only supply the first lot of toilet paper etc for when you arrive, but we can also provide extra toilet paper free of charge if requested.

Thanks again for taking the time to email us as we do take negative and positive feedback on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

preface: I deduct half a star for every bad point about my stay, if it is a more weighted issue I may deduct more.

I'll start with the average to good points.
There was a good amount of space in the rooms and the location was quite favourable. 8 minute walk from Coles and 15 minute maximum from Centro. Functional Spa,Pools,Sauna and BBQ area.
Good thing we weren't there in the busy months of the year, I reckon it would be quite crowded.

Now the bad:
Beachtowels were not provided as a courtesy but charged at $4 each for the length of your stay.
The dishwasher was very smelly. Inspecting the dishes themselves revealed noticeable grime if you know what you're looking at and for. It put me off using the provided dishes. I had to scrub the pots I used to cook for 5 minutes to eliminate all traces of grime. Maybe it's a dishwasher problem,I don't know, but to be safe I'd not recommend using their dishwashers. The refrigerator seemed like it was just turned on when we arrived as it did not feel cold until I turned the thermostat inside way down and left it for about a day or so.
We were greeted by a person who worked there on one day to be asked to use the carpark entrance if returning from the Beach. No obvious signage was posted anywhere for us to know about this rule. Upon looking for signage, I found it written on a glass door that nobody uses and it locked.
The beds froar m my experience seemed on their last legs. I had to switch ends for more comfort. But I think either these beds aren't made for people over 100kg or they are just worn and need replacing. Pillows did not feel comfortable to me and were rock hard within a day.
*not neccessarily bad points: The chlorine smell of the indoor pools were drawn out by exhausts and fans. Outside near the fans the true smell could be known(Chlorine is not smelly until it reacts with human excretions, bacteria etc) from the outside not the worst "chlorine smell" I've nosed. Spa was a bit slippery(maybe due to grime?) I don't know if it's normal for Spas to be very slippery as I've only tried one... *
Room Service for outside restaurants seemed incredibly pricey which on top of the normally inflated price of takeaway food on the GC seemed like highway robbery.
I found a shard of glass on the carpet under the lounge, this indicates to me these apartments are not vaccumed prior to guests arriving.
The sign on the door claimed the bedding had been cleaned within an inch of its life by some cleaning company, but rather oddly the dates for its last clean and future clean schedule were absent.
I find it odd they expect guests to use the dishwasher yet it obviously is not adequate to make dishes clean and grime-free.
Television seemed a bit small for the large room.
The windows and slide doors did not seem to have that "fluff" between them that stops drafts and seals better against noise. It was just metal frame on metal frame.
You are charged to make local calls.
No Wifi and internet consisted of a single computer in an enclosed corner of the lobby you paid to use.

Even though offered a 10% discount on our next visit(I don't know if they offer all guests this anyway) it would still not be worth revisiting. I could of complained as the issues arose instead of at the end of my stay, but these are issues that should be non-existent in the first place.

Reception being closed before 3:15pm on any day of the week seems strange to me.
(it was a Sunday in my case).
Hot water proved a problem when both showers were running simultaneously.
Two showers should not be there if only one is capable of running at optimal performance at a time.

A good location seems close to all this place has going for it. And decent view, but I'd assume almost all hotels in the area would have this going for them.

1 1/2 - 2 stars.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Byron L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole B, General Manager at BreakFree Beachpoint, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are sorry to hear of your concerns, I can assure you had these been brought to our attention whilst you were here, we would have had rectified what was at the control at a resort level.
If you wish to contact me to discuss these issues, please don’t hesitate to contact me.
Once again thanks for taking the time.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#10 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Focus Apartments
Focus Apartments
#38 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breakfree Moroccan Resort
Breakfree Moroccan Resort
#27 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Shore Holiday Apartments
The Shore Holiday Apartments
#48 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartm...
#1 of 11 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#4 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Beachpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Beachpoint

Property: BreakFree Beachpoint
Address: Corner Staghorn Ave. & The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Beachpoint 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 50 metres from Surfers Paradise Beach and an easy five minute walk to Cavill Avenue, BreakFree Beachpoint offers affordable holiday accommodation on the Gold Coast. With a prime waterfront location, the resort offers spacious one and two bedroom apartments set amongst lush tropical gardens overlooking the beach. All apartments feature a fully-equipped kitchen, tea and coffee making facilities, laundry, separate shower and bath, Foxtel and balcony. With the Hinterland providing a green backdrop of beauty, the rooms provide the perfect home away from home. Leisure amenities include an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, children's wading pool, spa, sauna, tennis courts and entertainment areas with BBQ cooking facilities. In-room massage treatments are also available. If you're looking for something outside of the resort, a surf lifesaver patrolled beach is only a walk across the road and Surfers Paradise's seaside shops, restaurants and bars are all within easy reach. Just 50 metres from the beach and an easy five minute walk to all the action of Cavill Avenue, BreakFree Beachpoint is the ideal accommodation option for families and couples alike. Maintenance Notice: Breakfree Beachpoint is pleased to advise there is a current upgrade of guests lifts underway, with an approximate completion date of the 30th of June 2017. During this period work will be carried out between 9am - 5pm Monday to Friday however there will still be 2 guest lifts in operation to minimise disruption. We thank you in advance for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BreakFree Beachpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BreakFree Beachpoint Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing