We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Point of View”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Matador Tapas Bar - CLOSED

Matador Tapas Bar
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Jakarta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My Point of View”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We were craving for Spanish food today and came across this restaurant.

We ordered the Seafood Paella, Chicken Garlic Balls, Nachos, Chorizo, and Tomatoes Garlic & Olive Oil over bread.

The tomato over the bread was really thin and dry; couldn't taste the olive oil. We asked for olive oil on the side and she asked for 50c (?????????). The chicken garlic balls tasted like frozen food. The nachos was ok, though the condiments was sad (so little!!). The seafood paella was far below average. The clams were not fresh, the dish was too gooey. We've had paellas all over the world and always had at least 3x the portion with the same price. We expect for a $25 portion that we would get more quantity and quality!!

Overall, we are really disappointed, we came a long way for good food but we didn't get one!



Helpful?
2 Thank Alvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto O, Owner at Matador Tapas Bar, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for coming a long way to try my food!

When the waitress brought you pan tomaca, without tasting it first you straightaway asked for extra olive oil. Please understand it is not bread dip with oil and it is a dish make this way similar to bruschetta. I understand you travel around the world, but now you are in Australia. No matter where you go if you order something is not come with the dish you have to pay extra. The seafood paella is 25 and it is for one person not for six people to share. I believe it is very reasonable price in Australia. Maybe in your country you can have Aud25 feed your whole family but unfortunately it is not going to happen here except you dine in fast food place.

I understand your mood are turn down because of the 50c olive oil and the price. I would appreciate customers can write the review base on the fact not make false statements about my food. About your taste, I don't want to make any comments as the waitress collected a dozen chili sauces sachets from your table. I don't understand you put chili sauces to all dishes make them spicy. The spicy is so strong will cover the taste of olive oil and other flavors.
Advice from me, please don't add other things to the dishes as it changes the original flavor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very satisfied tummies :)”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Ordered Grilled Calamari and Seafood Paella. It was SUPERB!!! What are you waiting for?

Great food & great service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cleona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne - Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Recommend Highly”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We were recommended by Trip Advisor and was not disappointed by the quality of the food.

We ordered the twin share paella and 3 sides, all presented lovingly and with much flavour!!

We could not recommend this place highly enough!!

Helpful?
2 Thank dastickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“did I go to the same restaurant????”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Wanted to find a restaurant with in walking distance of our hotel, how this place got its spot near the top of the list in Surfers Paradise is a surprise . The menu looked OK, we ordered the the set menu for 2-3 people then added garlic bread( straight from package taste) and feta, sundried tomatoes and olive, not much flavour in any. The meals , garlic prawns, chorizo, potato, nothing special at all. Only good thing ,it was cheap

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank handbagtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto O, Owner at Matador Tapas Bar, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for coming to my place. FYI, I make my own garlic bread. I believe you had too much garlic bread from the package so can't tell the real homemade one.

Also I would like to answer your question why my place is the top of lists. We already opened for more than 2 years and served over 20,000 customers. I always keep the same standard and same flavours, Everything is fresh cooking here. many repeated customers both local and interstate visit us every year. How I cook in Spain, I do the same here. My place is small family restaurant likes others you can find at any street in Spain. This is why so many customers have been to Spain and miss Spanish food find the same flavours at my place. Unfortunately my food was not special for you.

Attention for further "special" customer: We serve original homemade Spanish food and my place is not fancy. Don't come to my place with a illusion or imagination. For those like to eat decoration, Do me and yourself a favor, go to marina mirage or broadbeach. There are plenty big restaurants. The decoration is fancy and ............

No vayas por la apariencia, ésta te puede engañar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent.........Buenisimo”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I when with my family and we had the special set and also we order tortilla and meat balls for my Kids.....wow I really enjoyed with each dishes in special the seafood paella, it was superb...
my kids loved the meat balls and the tortilla.
The service was great and very helpful.

We glad to find this littler place, I really recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XabelDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matador Tapas Bar also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing