We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professional and fun instruction”

Go Ride A Wave Surfers Paradise
Book In Advance
More Info
US$53.02*
and up
Learn to Surf at Broadbeach on the Gold Coast
Ranked #3 of 41 Tours in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Go Ride A Wave Surfers Paradise has a shop at the beach end of Cavill Avenue and provide 2 hour surfing lessons every day from $55. Stand up paddle lessons are also run daily. We also provide surf boards, bodyboards, and other beach equipment for hire and sale. All our instructors are fully qualified surf life savers to make sure we provide a safe environment to learn in.
Tianjin, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Professional and fun instruction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My son (9 years) and I did the three day package of lessons with the guys at Go Ride a Wave, and we were extremely happy that we chose them. We both were starting to stand on our boards by the end of the first lesson, and by the end of the third, we were starting to catch the 'green' waves that hadn't broken yet.

The instructors did a great job helping the group, no matter which lesson we were on. Several of the instructors were multi-lingual, and so they could instruct in other languages that I saw.

Most importantly, they did start with safety items on the first day and some basic instruction (although dry, very helpful) as to what the dangers could be while surfing.

Most impressive to me, was that after the first lesson, the instructors remembered both my son's and my name when we returned a couple of days later, even during the busy holiday.

They made the experience highly enjoyable and we would gladly use them again (as they said at the end of the first lesson, we are in their system now and forever... ) After the lessons, the then rent the boards at a discount to their 'students...'

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Owner at Go Ride A Wave Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hey Guys,

Thanks for the review and we are stoked that you are happy. Next time you are around any of our Go Ride a Wave shops drop in and say hi.

Keep Surfing!!!

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    15
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Duff, Ivan, Danny are awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Professional lesson run by a friendly team. As first timers we only wanted to stand up and we did with their help. Usually quite uncoordinated on a skateboard, we think we have found our new hobby. Thanks guys.

Helpful?
Thank HeMan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beyond amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

I was so looking forward to a surfing lesson, these guys didn't disappoint.

Really helpful and patient teachers, it was just an exhilarating experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 123wanderlust123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheers bro!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I had a fantastic time learning how to surf with Wazza and Dan. They were both really easy to talk to, great communicators and made everyone feel safe throughout the entire lesson.

Definitely recommend!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kids had a ball”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked our two girls - 9&10 - in for a surf lesson as part of a group. There were 2 other similar aged kids but the rest of the group were adults. I cannot speak highly enough of the service, coaching, communication and results that we received. The two coaches were fantastic - easy to talk to, looked after the kids well and their safety session was easy to understand. The girls had a ball and we would highly recommend this business to others.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Go Ride A Wave Surfers Paradise also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Go Ride A Wave Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing