We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostile in Australia”
Review of Budds in Surfers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Budds in Surfers
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My favorite hostile in Australia, I wish every place was like this. They are doing everything right. Here goes: comfortable beds/pillows, free lockers in the room (keyed, don't need your own lock), free breakfast (cereal, milk, and toast everyday --- pancakes on Sunday), free pool & lounge chairs, free ping pong, new bar about to open, pub crawls (cheap and great way to meet people), surfboards/body boards/bikes for hire, free transport to/from bus stop (schedule ahead of time by calling reception), the most amazing showers and toilet facilities (always clean, brand new, and very private with fully closed doors), full kitchen (basically always open) and full cutlery sets. And last but not least, the couple that owns the place has put their heart into it and it shows. You will see them around maintaining the place, say hi if you get a chance. The staff is also super cool and helpful, be friendly and cool and they will be like family to you. Only thing I would say is that the free Internet is kind of slow (but it's free, so...) also the place can be hard to find (until they install the new sign out front) so look at the address on the mailbox out front.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRotenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, Manager at Budds in Surfers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Hi, and thank you for the great review. Great to read you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the our new hostel. We do work very hard to make every stay as special as yours.

Warm Regards,

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

From the moment I walked in the staff were amazing & very helpful. All the fellow back packers were friendly and we found a life timeate. The resort was CLEAN and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Would stay here over and over again. High 5 budds ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, Manager at Budds in Surfers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Hi Vanessa, and thank you for the great review. Great to read that we could exceed your expectations and a big high 5 straight back at you!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Budds in the future.

Warm Regards

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed for two nights as a young couple in a private room with on suite.

Positives : GREAT location, a five minute walk to the main beach and restaurants and shops. We loved the location. It was clean and the staff was very pleasant.

Negatives : the 'private' bathroom in our room was actually a toilet with a half wall... so zero privacy. The walls were just so thin and we were right by the kitchen so there was a lot of noise most of the night. We stayed there during the winter and it was quite cold and humid... so bring warm clothes to sleep in!

Room Tip: Ask for a room further from the kitchen area as the guests gather there, often late at night and aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFMartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, Manager at Budds in Surfers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Hi Marie

It was disappointing to read that you and your partner did not enjoy our ensuite on this occasion. We do take pride in being able to deliver on all experiences for our guests, and it seems our ensuite did not meet your standards. By law we are required to have this ensuite to be wheel chair accessible. However we must have missed a few of those nice touches in the newly renovated bathroom during your stay. We have taken your feedback very well, we have replaced our thin blankets with nice new thick duvet's.

I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed how close we were to the heart of Surfers; also I'm very happy to hear you appreciated how clean the hostel is. We clean the bathrooms 6 times a day, and I'm so happy you noticed it. We would like to have you back so you could truly enjoy the full buds experience. Please email me at adam@buudsinsurfers.com.au so we can talk further about any issues that you might have.

Warm Regards

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Great friendly staff, clean organised hostel. Fast $2 hour internet kiosk! Wish we could have stayed longer, Would differently recommend. Free breakfast, Free WiFi, social hostel quiet at night kitchen open late 10:00pm.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blinka26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, Manager at Budds in Surfers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Hi Blinka, and thank you for the great review. Sounds like you had a great time at the hostel, and you were able to relax and enjoy the service.

Thanks again for letting us know about your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back to Budds.

Warm Regards

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Short stay, just 3 nights with family.
1 family room & 1 private double room.

We arrived late around 11pm, haven't taken our dinner, dead tired and can't wait to check in to our room for a rest.
They mixes up my bookings. Can't find my private room bookings until I show them the email. I Almost got paid for a private room but stay in a dorm. phewwww~
It was pretty tedious, the person in charge only have 1 key to the private double room, which he can't give it to me, I need to get the key the next morning at 8am-8:30am. I can't close my doors unless my hubby stays in the room because the door will lock itself.

When we finally sorted out the rooms issue, he show us to our family room and was shock to find that there are 3 staffs in our family room, hanging out "watching tv". I was very unhappy because I read good reviews and persuade my family to stay with budds. I requested them to change the sheets (they didn't offer at first, but luckily didn't refuse my request)
They did apologies, but it I was already pretty upset.

We later found that all toilets are outside, non ensuite. I think budds should had highlight this. Didn't remember reading this important information anywhere. Was another letdown because it's pretty cold in the winter to wander in the middle of the night to look for the toilet. Another letdown.

Very thin blanket, but you can ask for extra if too cold. But the blanket is poor quality.

Wanted to loan a towel, but the reception was not open til next morning ;( Luckily, everyone else brought their own towels. I had to shared with my hubby. If you know you were to check in late, be prepared.

Nothing special about this hostel. Hence, I didn't take any photo.

Ya free breakfast. Free internet, but limit you to 250KB per sec...slow as a snail. Better buy an Optus sim with $2 per day, unlimited data & calls.

This is by far the worst hostel that I had been to. Too many disappointments. Was glad it was only a short stay.

Go for top floor room,,,,downstairs is very noisy especially near the breakfast area.

Room Tip: Go for top floor room,,,,downstairs is very noisy especially near the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirniong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, Manager at Budds in Surfers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hello Shirniong,
Thank you for your feedback.
I would very much like to discuss the points you have raised in further detail.
My email address is adam@buddsinsurfers.com.au
We take these comments very seriously and would like to work together to improve on our hostel.
Please note that we do offer a higher speed internet service at reception, extra blankets when requested and private rooms with ensuites are available for booking.
We would love for you to stay with us again and hope that we can discuss this is further detail.
Hope to speak to you soon
Regards
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

FANTASTIC! Place to stay. We stayed here for 2 days. Awesome staff and management super helpful, very friendly and very approachable. Comfy rooms and clean and tidy bathrooms overall a great experience! Will definitely be back! Thanks guys :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and liked the hostel. The twin rooms are clean, spacious and you get a big TV. The kitchen is small but that was never a problem. There is a lot of sitting space outside and inside. Location is ok. They organise things every night! We had some noise problems one night but apperently this was from people who weren't guests... To solve this matter the owner told us that he will put an entrance gate in place... Swimming pool also ok !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thibaut T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
1.5 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#35 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#28 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#63 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#17 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
512 reviews
13.9 mi away
Komune Resort
Komune Resort
#18 of 27 in Coolangatta
292 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers
Aquarius Backpackers
#37 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budds in Surfers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budds in Surfers

Address: 6 Pine Ave | Budds Beach, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £35 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budds in Surfers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE HI SPEED WIFI, FREE BREAKFAST. Budds in Surfers, backpackers resort is a new approach to backpacker accommodation for Gold Coast and Surfers Paradise. Located in Budds Beach, nestled between the river and the beaches of Surfers Paradise, Budds in Surfers is for the independent backpacking tourist who has a more discerning approach to their accommodation. We promise boutique accommodation at affordable rates in our clean and newly refurbished rooms, with a focus on great service aimed at helping you get the most from your stay in Australia and the Gold Coast. This month only we are offering FREE SURFBOARD HIRE FREE BODYBOARD HIRE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Budds in Surfers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budds In Surfers Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing