We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Cocktails” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chapter & Verse bar and lounge

Chapter & Verse bar and lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Contemporary in design, sophisticated in ambience. Chapter & Verse bar and lounge is the nucleus of the Marriott social hub. Arrive early for a freshly ground cappuccino and oven baked croissant or stay around after dark and treat yourself to hand crafted drinks and locally influenced tasters. Opening daily from 7.00am till late, Chapter & Verse is where the action is - come and meet the locals and relax in surroundings you won't want to leave. Whether it is business or pleasure or catching up with the family, Chapter & Verse is the place to meet. We look forward to sharing some time with you at Chapter & Verse
Illawarra
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We sat here for a few drinks before dinner and were thrilled with the friendly and fast service, and the incredible cocktails! Loved the vibe - 5 stars!!!!!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Georgia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    24
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Schup Miami”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Very friendly attentive service by all lobby bar stuff, well run bar. The lave stone food selection and asorted cheese and cold meat platters a great idea. General service of high standard. I have recommended the lobby bar to my friends to check out the friendly atmosphere for a relaxing drink.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
“Surprised Local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great hidden GC bar. Some friends and I decided to go to Lobby Bar for few drinks before dinning in Benihana. Love the lighting on the entrance , its so inviting. We were greeted and helped by friendly staff who told us about funky hot rock dinning they provide. As we already had dinner plans we just wanted drinks. After looking through huge cocktail menu I couldn't decide what I wanted. So I went to the bar and was served by a cute flirty barman who made me a amazing cocktail from scratch. All us girls were enjoying our drinks so much we ended up being late for our dinner booking . With a few small changes to the ambience of the place it could be GC next bar to be seen in. Looking forward to coming back to try those hot rocks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amber j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Super impressed once again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My experience, once again, was impeccable. The only thing better than the atmosphere is the service! Unlike other places in Surfers, the service was prompt and incredibly friendly. The food has been great in the past, but this last time we were only in for drinks. I would not only recommend the bar to friends but I will return often.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another pleasant arfernoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stopped by the Lobby Bar for a quick drink the other day which turned into quite a few hours. It's nice to have someone in town that is just casual and relaxed to head for a social drink. The presence of sunlight and an open and airy feel makes a nice change in Surfers, especially when combined with great drinks and service. Staff here are always really present and attentive here and make sure you have everything you need.
Great to have some fun and friendly bar staff, without the attitude and pretentiousness that is becoming so common everywhere else. Gentlemen in the bar made up some cocktails from scratch for us which were just awesome.
Keep wishing we had time to get in and try some of the hot rock menu items as they always look and smell amazing, need to get back and try them!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djrappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chapter & Verse bar and lounge also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Gold Coast, Queensland
 

Been to Chapter & Verse bar and lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing