We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Karana Palms Resort
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
US$127
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$335
US$153
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
US$87
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra on View Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Sun City(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$298
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wyndham Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
53
31
13
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
31
13
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschevron islandthe gold coastshort walkfully self containedsurfer's paradiseone bedroom apartmentunderground parkingwould stay againsurfersaccommodationbalcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is not a 3.5 star place! It is old, there is no air conditioning, no elevator, no dishwasher,
Poor lighting in hallways and outside in evenings!
Door to from bedroom to kitchen living room unable to close...bed frame in way .....no face cloths, no hand towels!
Hanger for clothes twisted to stay on rod... Difficult to hang up clothes, dresser in bed room!

Room Tip: Probably rooms facing toward main entrance could be preferable
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

me and my fiance stayed here for four nights on a nice getaway from melbourne . After looking at the room, facilities etc on the internet i was a little bit let down on our arrival at the room , the kitchen benchtops still had bits of food stuck on it , and the plates , mugs etc had not been washed since last occupants , so i spent the first few hours re cleaning the apartment as it was quiet un clean . The bathroom was nicely cleaned but the bathroom windown looked out onto a strange looking apartment block which had some " peeping " residents .
the bed didnt even fit in the room properly, the bedroom door couldn't open the whole way as the bed was in the way .
we did however like the location ( only a 2-3 minute walk into the middle of surfers ) the balcony light always blew out and was never repaired which was very annoying at night when wanting to sit outside . however if u are on a budget , this place would suit you , nonetheless we wont be staying there again .

we did find the lady who worked in the office lovely and really really helpful with all
our tourist quetions.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beautifulfiance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The resort was just a short trip over the bridge into surfers paradise.
The resort staff went to great detail to make our holiday simple by getting us to bus stops and even scales to weigh our suitcases we couldnt have been more pleased.
the price was great and I could have easily have paid more to stay there.

Room Tip: I would suggest room 313 it is up a couple of flights of stairs but it did have the best balcony and view
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Look, previous reviews on this site have been mixed but do relate to previous Karana Palms management teams.

This was our first time staying at this resort and we were nervous. Needn't have worried.

Happy to report that the new management team of Evelyn and Robert are doing a great job. They are a knowledgeable and very helpful couple. Any minor maintenance problems like blown bulbs or damaged cutlery were dealt with quickly and appropriately.
There are no lifts, so as a middle-aged couple we deliberately chose ground-floor room. It was a good decision.

In terms of noise and sleep quality we made sure to pay the extra nominal fee for aircon, so that we could keep the doors closed and screen out any noise. It worked great.

We stayed in room #104. The floor plan worked well.
The apartment was well equipped and the management team are friendly and readily accessible for any problems or concerns. Foxtel was a welcome free inclusion for when we wanted to stay in and rest. The in-apartment laundry alcove is discreet and well equipped.

The location on the eastern side of Chevron Island is central to Surfers activities and the major bus routes to the theme parks and rest of the Gold Coast. Every morning you can enjoy a short walk across the Nerang River bridge with stunning views and within a few minutes you are on the Surfers Paradise beach. All shops, supermarkets & facilities are within easy walk. We didn't need to hire a car at all but used Freedom Pass instead (which included our airport transfers) and it worked well. Buses every 10 mins including weekends.

The resort office doubles as an excellent tourist office with brochures for everything you can think of. On our last day, after checkout, the office kindly offered to mind our luggage so that we could continue sightseeing unencumbered.

So, we are planning a return trip within the next few months and will stay there again. Will be interesting to see what it's like in winter.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jstosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

The people there are helpful, but I found that it was like having parents around. The place has a great location,it it is cheap and that is what you pay for. Cheap. I had four lights that weren't working.
All four were areas i would have been where i mainly lived in. lounge, bedroom, balcony. The bedroom ones were never fixed. The kitchen was dirty. The shower had hair in it. They said that the room had two doubles but ours had a queen size bed and a pull out couch bed, which my friend used, That was also disgusting, we found a stain and a skirt in it. We also got in trouble for my friend using the trundle bed and that we should have paid extra? You have to pay extra to use the aircon. A positive is there is security parking.We also got charged for a breakfast that we never got. Don't know if it was because there was a festival on but it was not safe, alot of noise and guys smashing the cars with their fists (maybe break and enters) outside resort.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triploverBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews