We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
US$356
US$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
US$89
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra on View Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
QT Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Paradise Resort Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
US$191
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Legends Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wyndham Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$463
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
36
36
13
8
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
36
13
8
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was spacious and cleangirls weekendwalking distancesurfersbedroomunits
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 8 days over the new year period. We found the location pretty good although, in the heat the walk back and forth from town and the beach does get a bit tiring. Our one bedroom apartment was a good size and it was great having the pool on site.
What we didn't like far out weighs what we did like.

Firstly, my towel had hair in it. We would have asked for a clean one but the owners were off site when we checked in.
We were promised washing powder and dishwasher powder, we had neither - when we asked for some we were looked at as if we were lying! We were told that there was probably some in the apartment! After that experience, we didn't dare ask for a clean towel!
The staff weren't overally friendly and were rarely around.
We then ran out of toilet paper - we were told we had to pay for it as well as clean towels! Not once in 8 days was our apartment cleaned.
Our balcony was gross - we had the people above us spilling drinks and cigarettes onto it. Again due to no staff being around we felt we couldn't ask for cleaners (we probably would have been charged).
Given the over the top rates and how long we stayed it would have been nice for a greeting at some point from a staff member, and for some basic products that usually come with any kind of accommodation.
The final thing we didn't like, was that on our last evening we were slipped a note under the door telling us we would have to clean all dishes, and take out our rubbish and that we wouldn't have to clean the sheets. The note was pretty rude.
Given how much we paid for the new year period (yes we are aware we were paying more) we would expect that basic products such as toilet paper, soap and towels would be clean, and replenished WITHOUT charge. I would also expect the cleaners to actually do their job and come in and clean especially for people staying longer than 1 night.
We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This resort was fantastic and great price for our 3 night stay over the Gold Coast 600 weekend. we had a two bedroom apartment for 4 people (which also had fold out couch so could have slept more) and it had two bathrooms and two balconys so it was perfect for a two couples scenario! Nice apartment and very clean!It is a 10 minute walk to the main shops, which didn't both us but if you do it 3-4 times a day with the heat some may find it tiring! This is in the backpackers area but we didnt see any noise and it was in a good quiet spot right near the river. The only tiny downside was the Staff werent as friendly as the reviews made them out to be, and the spa/pool closed at 9:00 which was a bit early.I dont think they have a laundry service and provide any extras for long stays but for a short stay i would highly recommend and definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: Room above the pool was very nice to look at and be above the pool but there was no privacy as we could hear those by the pool and they could hear and see us!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

You will not be disappointed with the rooms if they are all like our's was, nor the facilities and friendly staff. Very good price for quality here. Air conditioned 1 bedroom fully self contained apartment, views, quality kitchen including dishwasher, all Fisher and Paykel appliances except microwave. Didn't need to use the washing machine and dryer but we are sure they wouldn't have disappointed either. Spa, pool, barbie & outdoor dining facilities in beautiful well kept grounds AND.. all within a very comfortable walk (for the 2 of us unfit, over weight nearly 50 year old's) to Cavill Ave and all Surfer's Paradise has to offer and Main Beach. There is a very friendly convenience store a stones throw away on the same street. Although there were people about, it was lovely and quiet and everyone friendly. Although the photo's fairly accurately depicted our room and the facilities, we did want to download our own photo's but unfortunately couldn't figure out how to do it on our new computer. Thank you for helping us have a very enjoyable long weekend, we didn't want to leave d8-)

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask any complex's management if it has what you do or don't want eg. if there is an elevator/lift, views, in room Spa etc.. It's the only way you'll be able to chose somewhere that truelly suits both your needs & wants. Having only stayed at this resort this one time, we can tell you, as long as it doesn't bother you to walk up stairs to the third floor, you will not be disappointed with the room we had, number 327. Views, beautiful breezes, a little bit of sunshine into the living and bedroom, covered balcony with outdoor setting, quiet, roomy corner apartment with quiet air conditioner. The only other thing we'll say is the bed was harder than our super soft mattress but we wouldn't expect to find a mattress like our's anywhere and in fact never have.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was our first family holiday with teenagers so you know how picky they are. The Sunset Island Resort was beautiful. The management was very helpful and good to yak to. The pool was cleaned every day and our room was clean and perfect after driving from NSW for 16 hours! I couln't have asked for a better place to stay. This resort should have 5 stars!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jingies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My mother and I had a one-bedroom apartment here for two nights. She had the bedroom, I had a sofabed which was just fine. It was very reasonably priced, clean and comfortable. Excellent value. It is a bit of a hike up to the high life of Surfers' and to the beach, (elderly and children would find it difficult) but it was very nice and quiet, in leafy surrounds. Sue at the desk was pleasant and helpful. We hadn't specified a ground floor room, but my 90 yr old mother couldn't climb stairs and a room was found. Be sure to mention it when booking as there are no lifts. We wanted to stay an extra 45 minutes after checkout time and that wasn't a problem. I took a star off because the heating in the spa wasn't working, but they were fixing that. Some paper towel and/or tissues would have been welcome.

Room Tip: Stairs might make it difficult for some. There are quite steep stairs going up to reception. AC units are on each corner so if noise is an issue, ask about it.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathlynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews