We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Island Resort
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I recently returned from a wonderful weeks stay at the Sunset Island Resort in Surfers Paradise with two friends. I have nothing but positive things to say about our stay there.

Firstly, the staff members working on the front desk were so friendly and kind, they greeted us every time we arrived and left the Resort. We were also lucky enough to be allowed to check in early as the room was free. We also were able to have a late check out at a small cost, and the staff watched our luggage while we went for lunch before our late flight home.

We stayed in room 325 which was a 3 storey 2 bedroom penthouse apartment. The second we walked in the door we were in awe of everything, 2 sitting room areas, a washing maching and a drier, 3.5 balconies, 3 t.vs, a modern kitchen and 2 bathrooms. All the beds were super soft and comfortable and we were given plenty of blankets. Even the fold out sofa's were comfortable to sleep on. The dining room and sitting rooms had plenty of space to sit down, and there was an air conditioner on every floor. 2 of the balconies had out door settings including banana lounges, we spent plenty of time out there.

The swimming pool was clean and a decent size, plus a very comfrotable warm spa which was great to relax in. There was also a communial BBQ area which we didn't use, but it looked great.

The only negative thing I have to say is that the floors are very thin, you can hear people walking with in your own apartment very loudly. Apart from that the hotel room was very clean and spacious, perfect for a group of friends or a small family to stay in. It was about a 15min walk to the main shops and strip, or a $10 taxi fare, we did both frequently.
If there was any problems with out stay (which there wasn't) I wouldn't of hesitated to contact reception as they were very approcahable.

I was so shocked to read the reviews on here, I'm not too sure where all the negativity has come from, our stay was amazing and I wouldn't hesitate to tell my friends about staying here and I will be staying here again, Sunset Island Resort is worth a visit, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Room 325 was where we stayed and it was amazing! However if you aren't able bodied, request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

Upon our recent stay here in a 2 bedroom apartment I was not impressed with the standard of service in this place. Upon arrival room looked clean but on closer inspection floors were greasy and grotty, bedroom carpet was best described as "pub carpet" sticky and disgusting, I doubt if it had ever been steam cleaned at all. Kitchen cupboards doors were falling off of hinges. The rest of the apartment clean I would say is done by the prior guests. They cut corners on cost everywhere in the place, the apartments were old and run down, curtains have holes in them, hairdryer was not even switched on and it was burning out which left a bad stink in the apartment.

Previous guests had caused damage to the plaster & carpet and we got the blame for this, the beds are old and creaky which make for an uncomfortable nights sleep. Price per night was around $175 with the offer of one free night, upon departure they charged us an extra $120 for damages to the room which we were only informed of by email, on their assumption we had flown back home and caused this damage. We did not cause this damage, we informed them of this and they still maintain we caused it and reading previous reviews from other guests I would say they make sure they charge everyone who stays there extra to recoup the so called "free night" they offer you. DON'T STAY HERE EVER this apartment was definitely not 4star quality, I have stayed at classier motor inns. If you complain to management about these extra charges they simply don't care or listen to you, they talk over you and I would say they have some bad damaged rooms which they allocate to guests with young families, they know that the damage is there and they simply place you in that room and charge you "repair costs" when you leave, they then don't carry out the repair and charge the next guests the same charges. DIrty business practices- THIS IS A SCAM
The list of negatives for this place could go on from
- hygiene issues
pubic hair and mould found in showers
brown smear marks on bathroom walls (look like faeces)
mouldy smell throughout (i've stayed in many 4/5 star resorts in the tropics and never experienced a stench this bad, it was nauseating)
-to broken appliances
Dishwasher doors that doesn't closer properly
Fridges that don't close properly (leads to food spoilage)
cracked drinking glasses, dirty crockery & cutlery. LIKE I SAID I COULD STILL TELL YOU MORE NEGATIVES now for the positives common areas such as pool are nice, thats about it.

Room Tip: All rooms on the road side have noisy corridors doors are slamming all hours of day and night unsafe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank QueensTraveller285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Sunset Island Resort has again been awarded 4 stars by AAA in March 2013.
Management has a simple request of guests: respect the other holiday-makers in the resort, and respect the facilities provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed at the Sunset Island resort for 2 nights in late march, upon arrival we were impressed at the cleanliness of the apartments. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, with a large doubler room and small twin room (twin room so small that with 2 beds in the room, the door wouldn't close). However the lounge/kitchen area was very spacious with a balcony overlooking the pool.

The apartments themselves appear to be deigned to cater for long staying customers, as the rooms are serviced once a week, for this to be increased its $35 per time, fortunately we were only staying for 2 nights.

The location of the apartments is excellent, being only 5/10 minutes walk to the restaurants, bars and beach, it couldn't be better.

The downside to the apartments is that as mentioned in other reviews, without being careful you could find yourself being charged a lot of 'extra fees'. Should you forget your apartment key outside of office hours, and require buzzing in by the management, you will be charged $50. Should you be late to check out after 10am, you're charged $20 per hour.

On the whole, the apartments are very clean, with a decent size pool and are in a great location, definitely worth staying here, just be careful not to expose yourself to the charges and you'll really enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto_Bambino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 8 days over the new year period. We found the location pretty good although, in the heat the walk back and forth from town and the beach does get a bit tiring. Our one bedroom apartment was a good size and it was great having the pool on site.
What we didn't like far out weighs what we did like.

Firstly, my towel had hair in it. We would have asked for a clean one but the owners were off site when we checked in.
We were promised washing powder and dishwasher powder, we had neither - when we asked for some we were looked at as if we were lying! We were told that there was probably some in the apartment! After that experience, we didn't dare ask for a clean towel!
The staff weren't overally friendly and were rarely around.
We then ran out of toilet paper - we were told we had to pay for it as well as clean towels! Not once in 8 days was our apartment cleaned.
Our balcony was gross - we had the people above us spilling drinks and cigarettes onto it. Again due to no staff being around we felt we couldn't ask for cleaners (we probably would have been charged).
Given the over the top rates and how long we stayed it would have been nice for a greeting at some point from a staff member, and for some basic products that usually come with any kind of accommodation.
The final thing we didn't like, was that on our last evening we were slipped a note under the door telling us we would have to clean all dishes, and take out our rubbish and that we wouldn't have to clean the sheets. The note was pretty rude.
Given how much we paid for the new year period (yes we are aware we were paying more) we would expect that basic products such as toilet paper, soap and towels would be clean, and replenished WITHOUT charge. I would also expect the cleaners to actually do their job and come in and clean especially for people staying longer than 1 night.
We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This resort was fantastic and great price for our 3 night stay over the Gold Coast 600 weekend. we had a two bedroom apartment for 4 people (which also had fold out couch so could have slept more) and it had two bathrooms and two balconys so it was perfect for a two couples scenario! Nice apartment and very clean!It is a 10 minute walk to the main shops, which didn't both us but if you do it 3-4 times a day with the heat some may find it tiring! This is in the backpackers area but we didnt see any noise and it was in a good quiet spot right near the river. The only tiny downside was the Staff werent as friendly as the reviews made them out to be, and the spa/pool closed at 9:00 which was a bit early.I dont think they have a laundry service and provide any extras for long stays but for a short stay i would highly recommend and definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: Room above the pool was very nice to look at and be above the pool but there was no privacy as we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

You will not be disappointed with the rooms if they are all like our's was, nor the facilities and friendly staff. Very good price for quality here. Air conditioned 1 bedroom fully self contained apartment, views, quality kitchen including dishwasher, all Fisher and Paykel appliances except microwave. Didn't need to use the washing machine and dryer but we are sure they wouldn't have disappointed either. Spa, pool, barbie & outdoor dining facilities in beautiful well kept grounds AND.. all within a very comfortable walk (for the 2 of us unfit, over weight nearly 50 year old's) to Cavill Ave and all Surfer's Paradise has to offer and Main Beach. There is a very friendly convenience store a stones throw away on the same street. Although there were people about, it was lovely and quiet and everyone friendly. Although the photo's fairly accurately depicted our room and the facilities, we did want to download our own photo's but unfortunately couldn't figure out how to do it on our new computer. Thank you for helping us have a very enjoyable long weekend, we didn't want to leave d8-)

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask any complex's management if it has what you do or don't want eg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was our first family holiday with teenagers so you know how picky they are. The Sunset Island Resort was beautiful. The management was very helpful and good to yak to. The pool was cleaned every day and our room was clean and perfect after driving from NSW for 16 hours! I couln't have asked for a better place to stay. This resort should have 5 stars!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jingies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karana Palms Resort
Karana Palms Resort
#59 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#12 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Paradise Isles
Paradise Isles
#33 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Holiday Resort Apartments
Anacapri Holiday Resort Apartmen...
#121 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surf Parade Resort
Surf Parade Resort
#26 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Island Resort

Address: 3 Sunset Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £64 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully appointed apartments nestled at the end of Peninsular Drive providing boutique accommodation. The perfect spot to relax by the saltwater pool, or soak in the spa. With the river so close you can take the kids fishing. You will love every minute of your stay with us here at Sunset Island Resort-ideal home away from home, tucked away from the noisy, bustling streets but yet so close to the action...the ideal holiday getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Island Hotel Surfers Paradise
Sunset Island Resort Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing