We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I had a lovely time there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Island Resort
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“I had a lovely time there”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The only thing I found issues with was the photos of the kitchen/lounge were deceiving as to the size and the fact that you can't swim/spa after 9pm or before 8am. Other than that the beds were very comfortable and I would be happy to stay there again :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Sunset Island Resort apartments are self-managed – sorry, not a hotel. With stays more than a week, fresh linen is provided – at no extra charge. Star ratings are awarded by an outside independent agency. Unfortunately, lost keys mean the full replacement of the door lock. Office hours are 9.00am to 5.00pm weekdays and 9.00am to 12.00noon weekends and public holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    35
    12
    7
    20
See reviews for
41
35
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 7 nights in May. I was concerned that being from the country I would find staying in Surfers too noisy at night. I could not have been happier with the location of Sunset Island Resort as it was not in the heart of Surfers but still within walking distance. I was actually able to sleep at night as there was not constant traffic. My 1 bedroom apartment was very comfortable and roomy. The staff were friendly always greeting you with a warm hello and a smile. Thank you for making my business trip a pleasant experience, I will definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Countrychick70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you Countrychick70 for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you were happy with your stay. Although we are only 750m from Cavill Ave (the heart of Surfers Paradaise), being in a quiet side street near the Nerang River has the advantage of being a peaceful location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the reort for 12 days there were bedbugs in main bedroom! We are not going to stay there again ever.
First time wa great bit this time would have been better only if management was more understanding,after big hasle ofered 2 days free stay next visit but we did not want to come back and demanded medical receipt for doctors bill to refund the cost, they asked us to seek medical atention i still wanted proof. There is more to it but i had enough .
Never again. Billie Racic and Zoran Jovanovic

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Zoran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Billie and Zoran, we are sorry that that you had an unpleasant experience and that you are unhappy with the way your situation was handled. We take bed bugs VERY seriously which is why we wanted to move you to a different apartment IMMEDIATELY so that you and your family could be comfortable and so that we could get professionals in to deal with bugs ASAP ... but you turned down the request to move to another apartment! We are more than happy to reimburse you for all medical expenses incurred due to the bed bugs but do require receipts as would any business, but to date have not seen any receipts. We always strive to give the best possible service at Sunset Island Resort, therefore we are disappointed that in your opinion we have not done so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed for 7 nights during Easter. The room was large, clean and well-equiped. Only short walk to Surfer's main area and very convenient for transportation. Staff very friendly and helpful. Thank you again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you Theresa F for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed for 5 nights during the Easter. Room was clean, large and has all facilities we wanted. The location was convenient for travellers which was closed to all bus stops (to all the theme parks, Harbour town, airport, train stations), and also closed to the CBD and beach (about 5 mins walking). The staffs were quite friendly and helpful. The only regret was the pool was not heated during that time. But overall this resort is a gem you will never miss out. We have a very happy and enjoyable staying and will definitely come back again. Thank you for your good management.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 947rayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our location is perfect as it is close to transport and Cavill Ave but far enough away from the noise of the heart of Surfers Paradise to allow for a peaceful stay at the resort. It is unfortunate that the pool heater was out for maintenance during your stay this time. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

don't buy the wifi if you are ios user, very hard to set up and every time u need to login.
android is fine tho.
and .... very slow! also customer service is very poor.

room condition is more than enough and and you can go to the beach by walk(10 mins apporox).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bbungbbungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you bbungbbungi for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you experienced difficulties with your wifi access we take all feedback seriously and will investigate this issue with the internet service provider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed for 8 nights. The place was clean and well equipped. The staff very friendly. Above all really close to the main area in the surfers. Will be definitely happy to stay there again. Thank you again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Magda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you Magda K for taking the time to write a review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
#10 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfers Riverside Apartments
Surfers Riverside Apartments
#79 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wharf Boutique Apartments
Wharf Boutique Apartments
#46 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chevron Palms Holiday Apartments
Chevron Palms Holiday Apartments
#70 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Isles
Paradise Isles
#28 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surf Parade Resort
Surf Parade Resort
#16 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Island Resort

Property: Sunset Island Resort
Address: 3 Sunset Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully appointed apartments nestled at the end of Peninsular Drive providing boutique accommodation. The perfect spot to relax by the saltwater pool, or soak in the spa. With the river so close you can take the kids fishing. You will love every minute of your stay with us here at Sunset Island Resort-ideal home away from home, tucked away from the noisy, bustling streets but yet so close to the action...the ideal holiday getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Island Hotel Surfers Paradise
Sunset Island Resort Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing