We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Island Resort
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was very happy with my room, except the fridge froze all my veges......thermostat must be broken as it wouldnt turn down.
Leah was very friendly and helpful in reception.
Unfortunately the spa was far too hot to use and only ran for 3 mins at a time, had to hop out in the cold wind to press button again. It is a lovely spa it was a shame I couldnt use it more, I told the manageress and she said that most people find it too Cold......My room was close enough to hear comments from other guests and most complained about the temp when entering. The pool was freezing even though advertised as heated.
It is close to Surfers strip.....and the Helm bar has a courtesy bus so it was fabulous to go and sit on the water for a meal. I agree with Country chick. review.......I am a countrygirl too....lol

Room Tip: Ist floor is high enough if you dont like steps. The side facing the pool has a nicer outlook.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

And the good news is: a new fridge has arrived!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at sunset Island resort for our honeymoon back in April. Rooms and property are tidy and the area is very quite it is about a 7 minute walk to Cavill ave. If you are looking for peace and quite and handy to town this is the place to stay but unfortunately this is where the good ends for us. When staying at this property be aware for extra charges ( don't loss your room key) cost start from $50.00. Reception closes at 5.00 pm most days they had shut up reception by 3.00 pm so if you needed help no one was there. Customers services was not good we were not greeted in a friendly manner so brownie points off for that. We stayed for 8 days and in that time our sheets were not changed this comes at the extra cost to you, if you need this service. They do not supply face cloths which I thought was we weird, on arrival you get one sachet of washing liquid, dish washing powder and laundry powder and one roll of loo paper and tea and coffee for four cups and one small bottle of expired milk. After you have used up these items then you have to buy all of them your self so be aware of these expense. We never had any towels replaced in the 8 days this include sheets as well. If you want clean towels and sheets you have to wash them yourself. We got told by staff/manager that this property is a 3 star if we want that kind of service to stay at a 4 star so we would not recommend this property and we would never ever stay there again. Lucky for us we did not let this property ruin our awesome honeymoon in Aussie.

Room Tip: if you have heavy bags don't stay on the third floor because you have to take your own bags to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Sunset Island Resort is rated as 4-star – and this rating is issued by an independent authority.
Office hours are 9.00 am to 5.00 pm week days and 9.00 am to 12.00 noon Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays.
The resort consists of self-managed apartments, and thus a limited number of supplements are provided to start your stay (tea, coffee, sugar, milk, and washing liquids and powders) – sorry, it is not a hotel.
A lost key requires a lock replacement for the apartment for security reasons, and a linen change is offered if guests stay eight days or more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The only thing I found issues with was the photos of the kitchen/lounge were deceiving as to the size and the fact that you can't swim/spa after 9pm or before 8am. Other than that the beds were very comfortable and I would be happy to stay there again :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Sunset Island Resort apartments are self-managed – sorry, not a hotel. With stays more than a week, fresh linen is provided – at no extra charge. Star ratings are awarded by an outside independent agency. Unfortunately, lost keys mean the full replacement of the door lock. Office hours are 9.00am to 5.00pm weekdays and 9.00am to 12.00noon weekends and public holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 7 nights in May. I was concerned that being from the country I would find staying in Surfers too noisy at night. I could not have been happier with the location of Sunset Island Resort as it was not in the heart of Surfers but still within walking distance. I was actually able to sleep at night as there was not constant traffic. My 1 bedroom apartment was very comfortable and roomy. The staff were friendly always greeting you with a warm hello and a smile. Thank you for making my business trip a pleasant experience, I will definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Countrychick70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you Countrychick70 for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you were happy with your stay. Although we are only 750m from Cavill Ave (the heart of Surfers Paradaise), being in a quiet side street near the Nerang River has the advantage of being a peaceful location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at the reort for 12 days there were bedbugs in main bedroom! We are not going to stay there again ever.
First time wa great bit this time would have been better only if management was more understanding,after big hasle ofered 2 days free stay next visit but we did not want to come back and demanded medical receipt for doctors bill to refund the cost, they asked us to seek medical atention i still wanted proof. There is more to it but i had enough .
Never again. Billie Racic and Zoran Jovanovic

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Zoran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Billie and Zoran, we are sorry that that you had an unpleasant experience and that you are unhappy with the way your situation was handled. We take bed bugs VERY seriously which is why we wanted to move you to a different apartment IMMEDIATELY so that you and your family could be comfortable and so that we could get professionals in to deal with bugs ASAP ... but you turned down the request to move to another apartment! We are more than happy to reimburse you for all medical expenses incurred due to the bed bugs but do require receipts as would any business, but to date have not seen any receipts. We always strive to give the best possible service at Sunset Island Resort, therefore we are disappointed that in your opinion we have not done so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed for 7 nights during Easter. The room was large, clean and well-equiped. Only short walk to Surfer's main area and very convenient for transportation. Staff very friendly and helpful. Thank you again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you Theresa F for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed for 5 nights during the Easter. Room was clean, large and has all facilities we wanted. The location was convenient for travellers which was closed to all bus stops (to all the theme parks, Harbour town, airport, train stations), and also closed to the CBD and beach (about 5 mins walking). The staffs were quite friendly and helpful. The only regret was the pool was not heated during that time. But overall this resort is a gem you will never miss out. We have a very happy and enjoyable staying and will definitely come back again. Thank you for your good management.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 947rayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our location is perfect as it is close to transport and Cavill Ave but far enough away from the noise of the heart of Surfers Paradise to allow for a peaceful stay at the resort. It is unfortunate that the pool heater was out for maintenance during your stay this time. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,950 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#20 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,789 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surf Parade Resort
Surf Parade Resort
#27 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Island Resort

Address: 3 Sunset Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £67 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully appointed apartments nestled at the end of Peninsular Drive providing boutique accommodation. The perfect spot to relax by the saltwater pool, or soak in the spa. With the river so close you can take the kids fishing. You will love every minute of your stay with us here at Sunset Island Resort-ideal home away from home, tucked away from the noisy, bustling streets but yet so close to the action...the ideal holiday getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Island Hotel Surfers Paradise
Sunset Island Resort Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing