We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“do not stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunset Island Resort
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2008

before my holiday even started i was over charged to my credit card 3 times. insted of once full payment i was charged three times. ii did not even get a appoligy just a ok i will fix it up. which was done 2 days later.
the carpets are filthy ants crawling through out the apartment, cockaroches, fly screens with holes, you are givin one roll of toilet paper then after that are expected to pay 2 dollars a roll..
the owners are rude.
do not even bother staying in this terrible hotel even if it was free.

  • Liked — nothing everything was not worth a dollar
  • Disliked — everything i will never go back
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mzsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    35
    12
    7
    20
See reviews for
41
35
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

Sunset Island holiday apartments were great value for money. One bedroom apartment - good size, great kitchen facilities. Clean and well presented place. Handy to entertainment and shopping centre so no need for a car. Short walk to surfers was a bonus - overall a nice place to stay and would recommend it for families or groups of friends. Hosts were helpful - which was great.
Marty

  • Liked — Friendly hosts
  • Disliked — Had no real complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

This resort was the big let down to our first family holiday. We had a great time but this resort hugely affected our enjoyment because at the end of a long day out, you simply dont want to come back and climb eight flights of stairs, avoid painters and listen to noisy renovators and the sewerage which seems to run on the inside of the apartments rather than the outside!. Cant go for a swim as the pool is not heated, cant relax in the spa as it was salty and too salty at that. There was also dirty carpets and left over bottles full of cigarette butts on the balcony which was not at all inviting. Photos of this resort are deceptive and misleading. There is also no access to public transport. For the money you would spend here, you would get much better service staying at your local caravan park. Save your pennies, stay somewhere else, and make sure you ask if you decide to stay at a high rise you actually have an elevator! Believe it or not, they dont all have one as we discovered with this one.

  • Liked — Not Alot
  • Disliked — Almost Everything
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank partygirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2008
All renovations have now been completed - with new carpet and painting - and the spa is now perfect. The resort is identified as a "low-rise" rather than a high-rise, with the apartments on three levels only.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Aotearoa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2008

First the positives:
1. Good sized room, we had a two bedroom apartment
2. Excellent Location, could walk to Carvill Ave, RSL etc
3. Secure Really good security felt very safe
4. Good facilities, onsite BBQ, Pool, Spa
5. Good value for money

Now the Negatives
1. Pool not heated, also spa not warm enough
2. A little tatty, due for renovation in the carpets etc
3. Pillows very thin, only one set of towels so had to wash constantly
4. Only just enough plates, cutlery etc, some cooking utensils missing

All in all we would stay again..

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cold Pool
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Aotearoa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2008
All apartments are being continually upgraded and issues raised have been dealt with. All feedback to managers is extremely useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2006

I felt that the hotel was overpriced for a start. I was staying with my daughter and I felt very unsafe. The fencing was very low and the security was very poor. I was actually very scared that someone could break-in so easily. I did not enjoy my stay at all and considered driving two hours back to my home as a better alternative.

The after hours procedures are very poor and the customer service left a lot to be desired. If you can find somewhere else to stay - do it!!

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — The security, I felt very unsafe
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't bother with this one
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank petalcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsetis, Manager at Sunset Island Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2008
All security of the resort has been evaluated and security cameras are now installed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
#11 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wharf Boutique Apartments
Wharf Boutique Apartments
#46 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Shore Holiday Apartments
The Shore Holiday Apartments
#48 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Isles
Paradise Isles
#28 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfers Del Rey Apartments
Surfers Del Rey Apartments
#97 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfers Riverside Apartments
Surfers Riverside Apartments
#78 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Island Resort

Property: Sunset Island Resort
Address: 3 Sunset Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully appointed apartments nestled at the end of Peninsular Drive providing boutique accommodation. The perfect spot to relax by the saltwater pool, or soak in the spa. With the river so close you can take the kids fishing. You will love every minute of your stay with us here at Sunset Island Resort-ideal home away from home, tucked away from the noisy, bustling streets but yet so close to the action...the ideal holiday getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Island Hotel Surfers Paradise
Sunset Island Resort Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing