We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
International Beach Resort
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Yes it needs some work done. New curtains, oven and furniture, etc but it is cheap and the views are fantastic. The location is also great just a 10min walk to Cavill. There is also a lifesaver tower directly across the road so you don't have to walk far to swim between the flags. I do wish they would spend some money on the place. It could be so much better. Only 1 lift was working and the spa and sauna were closed due to maintenance. Pity. So if you are not fussy then yeah it's ok.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Inga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

First experience in this Hotel, and would not return, I would say the description pictures were edited and nothing like the actual place, rooms old, dirty and possible safety hazards in areas. The lift took forever and i considered it not to be safe and god knows how many years old it is.The sauna & spa were both out of order, a sign saying broken tiles near the pool HIGHLY dangerous for safety, I would find it hard to believe if the electricals in the apartment have been safety checked, we had no tv remote to a tv very outdated, the roll out bed sunk to the middle,minimal amenities, air conditioning system(highly outdated) outside was leaking water over balcony another hazard for safety, this place needs OH&S officer to go through this hotel guarantee it would not pass, it was so disappointing I booked The Meriton after the 2 nights I had here just to feel like I was on holidays.

Room Tip: Rooms towards north front, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We booked this hotel because of price and position. After reading the reviews we were worried but decided to go with a outlook that as long as it was clean we were okay. Well first impression the staff were friendly and helpful and even though we were early they booked us in straight away. There was 3 of us sisters and we were celebrating a 60th birthday we had asked for 3 singles if possible if not we expected a single and double and 2 would share. We got a single,double and a rollaway actually we had 2 rollaways and asked them to take second one back. Everything was spotless yes the curtains were well worn there was a hole in a blanket but we were in the heart of the gold coast in school holidays for $457 for 3 nights for 3 people. We had lovely white towels and little soaps etc. Our balcony did only have one chair and a table but there was 4 cane chairs in dining area so no problems. Our view was great we were on the 16th flr and could see the ocean as well as other great views, we could open the doors at night and hear the ocean. Our kettle didn't work on first morning and within an hour we had a working one. We asked staff for directions and information a few times and was always met with a smile. When you book you know the apts aren't serviced daily so we didn't expect clean towels and sheets every day. Conclusion yes its a bit rundown and could use a lick of paint and new curtains BUT when you book 3* you can't expect 5*. The spa nad pool were clean and working and as for position its close to everything shops,resturants,transport. Would I return if it was this year or I had read where they did some upgrading yes I would. If you wantprice,position and are willing to overlook some wear and tear then your okay. This was my first time to the gold coast and this hotel did not spoil it for me.

Room Tip: We had room165 seperate bedroom lounge and kitchen great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BERYL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

where do we start , the hotel is nothing like the description , rooms are old rundown ,dirty and borderline dangerous,the power sockets were partly broken, the bed was broken in the middle so everyone rolled to the centre, the curtains were dirty and full of holes and matched the carpet perfectly, the spa was out of order, the sauna was out of order, most of the laundry was out of order , we stayed for 4 nights and never had any towel changes ,sheet changes, we had to go to reception to ask for a toilet roll towards the end of the stay as we had run out of paper , staff are not interested in anything the guests have to say , the staff are probably too busy writing out of order signs for the hotel equipment , the pool tiles and ladders were all broken and only 4 sun lounges for the whole hotel, the other broken lounges were all thrown into a pile beside the out of order sauna, the pool water was also very suspect and i dont think it is being checked very often , the lifts in the building sounded damgerous and smelt of urine , we got the hotel through wotif and we were so dissappointed by the condition of the property which is a basically a rundown backpackers hostel, it is certainly not a international resort as the name sugests , the one and only one positive is the location , very handy to centre of surfers , but please do yourself a favour and go elsewhere , this place is totally depressing

Room Tip: if you want a decent clean room stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brinoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel on schoolies and had the best week of my life. After reading all the horrible reviews i was so fearful to stay here but had no troubles. The sheets were clean which was my main worry and found staff extremely helpful. Yes the hotel is run down but if you do not expect a luury hotel you will not be disappointed. View was amazing and close walk to the clubs and main street. I recommend to any future schoolies or people on a budget not willing to pay ridiculous amounts of money.

Room Tip: A room with a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nak94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This hotel was a Wotif bargain. Good: right on the beach, and a 10 min walk to the heart of Surfers, helpful if not very up to date staff. Bad: torn curtains, broken chair on balcony, uncomfortable beds, bathrooms with uncleanable vinyl, no hairdryer, minimal amenities, airconditioner that is not worth the noise, bad stains on the wall by the aircon, worn, damaged and dirty paintwork, dead insects in the light fittings, reception stopping at 5pm in weekends, a fire alarm that went off but guests left to fend for themselves and decide whether to evacuate, and a closed cafe. Not a place to spend time in if you have other options, but if price and location are your only criteria, then this might work for you. Overall a very unloved property - the view from the balcony straight down was onto the roof of reception with all the rubbish that had been dropped onto the fake grass.

Room Tip: Actually I do not think there is a good room unfortunately
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Oh what an experience we had yesterday. First of all, when we arrived we were greeted by the rudest receptionist I've ever come across. We booked through roamfree on Friday (BIG mistake, do not use them) who failed to tell us about the $200 deposit everyone has to pay on arrival. I am STILL waiting to hear from roamfree about my refund as nobody answers their after hours service - we were hoping for an immediate refund so we could find alternative accommodation but alas, it didn't happen and our weekend was ruined. We drove back home, happy anniversary to us.

Anyway, apart from that, the first thing we noticed is that front reception area was FILTHY. There was rubbish out the front and all over the lounge - in fact the OLD cane lounges in reception looked very un-sturdy. Speaking of un-sturdy, what happened next is something I'll never forget. A woman behind us was crying her eyes out into what I think was her husband/boyfriends shoulder due to having just experienced the most TERRIFYING elevator ride of her life - from what I overheard, the lifts in this place sound potentially deadly! The place also had a bad odor upon arrival and the whole building (from the outside and inside) looks like it's about to fall down.

My advice? DO NOT stay here and whatever you do, DON'T book through roamfree.

Room Tip: Don't bother. I tried calling on Friday afternoon after we made our booking to request something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olympus Apartments
Olympus Apartments
#60 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rhapsody Resort
Rhapsody Resort
#3 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
400 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Beach Resort

Address: International Beach Resort 84 - 86 the Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £2,730 - £2,864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — International Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
International Beach Resort, Surfers Paradise is the ideal location for the perfect Gold Coast holiday. Right at our doorstep is the magnificent Pacific Ocean beach shoreline with our world renowned surf. We are conveniently located just a minute's walk from "Cypress Avenue Tram Station," with just a 10 minute walk to the city center in Cavill Ave, dining outlets, and the famous Surfers Paradise nightlife that the city is known for. Seaworld or Conrad Jupiter Casino is only a short drive away. The resort comprises of 120 affordable and comfortable guest rooms which includes 80 one-bedroom apartments with self contained kitchen/cooking facilities and 40 standard hotel-style rooms. There is also a variety of bedding configurations to suit every individual. All guest rooms feature a private balcony which overlooks the ocean and/or the Gold Coast Hinterland. To suit all budgets, you will be perfectly set up to enjoy everything Surfers Paradise has to offer. The resort also provides excellent facilities for our guests including pool, spa, sauna, and tennis court.> ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your International Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Beach Hotel Surfers Paradise
International Beach Resort Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing