We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I've ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
International Beach Resort
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worst place I've ever stayed”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hotel was filthy, the rooms were filthy and they smelt. My only regret iwa not leaving and checking in to one of the much nicer looking places around. Using the lift is quite an experience (if you like that "hmm think I'm going to die in this lift" experience). If you want to iron clothes you have to go to the basement and if you're in luck one of the crappy things might actually be working. The only advice I can give you is do not under any circumstances book this place (if $ is a trouble I'd recommend backpackers over this), if you have booked there do yourself a favour and cancel. If you're going to stay anyway bring:
- Cleaning equipment
- Air freshner
- Clean sheets & pillow cases
- Something to temporarily blind yourself

Room Tip: A good room can be found at many places in surfers this is not one of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EchoWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    42
    48
    52
    98
See reviews for
44
88
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

This had to be the most disgusting place my friend and I have ever stayed at! Rudest customer service. We had arrived early, around 11am, check-in time was 2pm. They told us no rooms were ready as it needed to be cleaned which would've been fine if he didn't use attitude. I asked him if we could hang out by the pool and to call my phone when the room was ready. Pool beds felt like they were going to fall apart any second. 3pm came and no call. When I went to get off the pool bed, I stepped on shattered glass that was every where and there was little kids running around. I let the guy at reception know and he didn't seem to be that bothered. When we finally made it to the room, with no help with our luggage on a rattling elevator, the room was horrible, dirty and stunk. Also had a old school air-con. You just didn't want to touch anything. Had to put down deposit to borrow the hair-dryer which my friend said there was a cockroach running around in the lobby, she mentioned it to the reception guy and he laughed and that yeah he saw it before but he's scared of them so he couldn't kill it. Lucky we only stayed night. Seriously the place needs to be demolished as there's no hope of a full renovation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmpressFuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We arrived at 2 o'clock which is check in time after travelling 10 hours from sydney and were treated horribly by the staff. The two receptionists simply ignored us for about 5 minutes while they talked to eachother and typed a few things into their computers. We the woman finally acknowledged us she looked up giving us a dirty look and rudely said 'hello?'. She then told us that our room wasnt ready. We were also told we were not able to park our car in the hotel underground parking until our room was ready so we had to drive around for half an hour looking for a park on the street! We came back at 3 and were told our room still wasnt ready so we then waited around for another hour. When we were able to finally park our cars in the hotel parking, we found that all of the parks were taken as there are no designated parking spots for each room. So we then spent another 20 minutes looking for a street park. The rooms were filthy, they came with no cutlery, plates or cups; only one roll of cheap toilet paper; a small tv with only three channels and a dirty bathroom with hair trapped in the sink. The whole room looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. One of the elevators wasnt working and the other took 10 minutes to get to your floor. The cleaners were extremely rude and had a full blown argument infront of us while we were waiting for the elevator. On our second night the power shut off so we were left in the dark with no air conditioner, fan, tv or anywhere to charge our phones. I would never stay there again, the place was filthy and the staff were extremely rude!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymous255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This hotel is disgusting. Upon arrival we were told our room was not ready and we simply just had to wait, 3 hours later we were able to check it and were given no apology. We were also under the impression that bond was $100 as stated on our payment receipt but when we checked it it was $400. The room was very basic, couch had no cushion cover and was stained, there was no oven, only 3 plates provided and shower barely worked. Aswell as being an extremely outdated hotel in need of renovation, one elevator was out of order and the other stopped at every floor regardless of whether the button had been pushed.
Customer service was the worst we had ever received at any hotel in Australia or overseas. Hotel failed to provide enough car parks or check which units had bought multiple cars when they shouldn't have. When a complaint was made about the lack of secure parking we were told to park on the street and pay like everyone else. Upon check out we were told we would not get out bond back as one key was 10 minutes late due to waiting for the elevator. When this was disputed the girl at the counter argued back and was incredibly rude. We left the hotel and the manager called to apologise for her behavior which was the only genuine customer service we received all weekend.

It is easy to say that we will not be returning and this hotel should not be allowed to call itself a resort in the state it is in. It should stick to the only time it would be acceptable to stay here which is schoolies week.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first 3 floors because the elevator will most likely break again
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steffles6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The second day we get there the 2nd elevator becomes out of order and it would literally take you 30 minutes to wait for it. We were lucky to be on a lower floor and were able to use the stairs. Third day the spa goes out of order. No washing machine. You have to pay to clean your cloths. Electronic games room? No...Just no. Ocean view? Yea...it's right next to the ocean but we had to go and buy Windex and clean our windows so we could see the ocean. The smell was disgusting in the hallway and the rooms when we entered. So yes - we bought airwick and sprayed the whole place. We had to duck to be able to have a shower. Chairs and beds were broken. Stains everywhere. Doors not locking and look as if they are a hundred years old. There are thousands of other things to mention. Just....don't stay here. Pay a bit more and stay somewhere better because this is clearly the worst place out there. You can easily find some other place better than this.

Room Tip: No tip. Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay123z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Yes it needs some work done. New curtains, oven and furniture, etc but it is cheap and the views are fantastic. The location is also great just a 10min walk to Cavill. There is also a lifesaver tower directly across the road so you don't have to walk far to swim between the flags. I do wish they would spend some money on the place. It could be so much better. Only 1 lift was working and the spa and sauna were closed due to maintenance. Pity. So if you are not fussy then yeah it's ok.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Inga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

First experience in this Hotel, and would not return, I would say the description pictures were edited and nothing like the actual place, rooms old, dirty and possible safety hazards in areas. The lift took forever and i considered it not to be safe and god knows how many years old it is.The sauna & spa were both out of order, a sign saying broken tiles near the pool HIGHLY dangerous for safety, I would find it hard to believe if the electricals in the apartment have been safety checked, we had no tv remote to a tv very outdated, the roll out bed sunk to the middle,minimal amenities, air conditioning system(highly outdated) outside was leaking water over balcony another hazard for safety, this place needs OH&S officer to go through this hotel guarantee it would not pass, it was so disappointing I booked The Meriton after the 2 nights I had here just to feel like I was on holidays.

Room Tip: Rooms towards north front, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#13 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
1,674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suntower Holiday Units
Suntower Holiday Units
#51 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Focus Apartments
Focus Apartments
#31 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rhapsody Resort
Rhapsody Resort
#3 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olympus Apartments
Olympus Apartments
#60 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
#65 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Beach Resort

Property: International Beach Resort
Address: International Beach Resort 84 - 86 the Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Hotel Class:3 star — International Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
International Beach Resort, Surfers Paradise is the ideal location for the perfect Gold Coast holiday. Right at our doorstep is the magnificent Pacific Ocean beach shoreline with our world renowned surf. We are conveniently located just a minute's walk from "Cypress Avenue Tram Station," with just a 10 minute walk to the city center in Cavill Ave, dining outlets, and the famous Surfers Paradise nightlife that the city is known for. Seaworld or Conrad Jupiter Casino is only a short drive away. The resort comprises of 120 affordable and comfortable guest rooms which includes 80 one-bedroom apartments with self contained kitchen/cooking facilities and 40 standard hotel-style rooms. There is also a variety of bedding configurations to suit every individual. All guest rooms feature a private balcony which overlooks the ocean and/or the Gold Coast Hinterland. To suit all budgets, you will be perfectly set up to enjoy everything Surfers Paradise has to offer. The resort also provides excellent facilities for our guests including pool, spa, sauna, and tennis court.> ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your International Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Beach Hotel Surfers Paradise
International Beach Resort Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing